1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel 3770k - VMWare

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freebie, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Hi all,

    I'm buying a 3770k, want to use it for all its glory in many different ways, but one of the things I use my pc for is virtualising various servers for testing purposes, normally using VMWare Workstation. I had a look on Intel's website and it says its missing a few of the virtualisation features, (Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d))

    Will this affect me at all?
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You are only missing these and it will not hurt your VMware experience.

    Intel® vPro Technology
    Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d)
    Intel® Trusted Execution Technology
    freebie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Sorry for being a NOOB, but what do they do lol
  4. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
  5. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    +1

    I'm using a 2500k at home and it runs as well (if not better) for VMs than the X5660 I have in my workstation at work. (2500k is missing the same features as the Ivy Bridge version).
    freebie says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page