1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel and AMD Postpone 100% DDR3 Transition

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Leading CPU makers Intel and AMD have adopted memory standards in fairly quick succession in the past. This however, doesn't seem to be the case with DDR3. AMD is yet to release a CPU that supports DDR3 memory, and is two years behind Intel with its DDR3 implementation plans. Intel on the other hand has managed 100% DDR3 dependency with only its premium Core i7 platform, with DDR3 not completely replacing DDR2 in any of its mainstream or value lineups.

    Market factors, namely the DRAM manufacturing industry, are increasingly posing difficulties to CPU makers to bring DDR3 memory at a consumer-friendly price point. With manufacturing costs refusing to come down and the Core i7 not able generate the expected demand that justifies selling triple channel kits at sub-$100 price-points, CPU makers are rethinking their large-scale DDR3 standard transition plans for their entire lineups. Intel on its part is contemplating on postponing its 5-series mainstream platform for the Intel Core i5 series processors. AMD on the other hand, is still struggling with technical difficulties in achieving stability and compatibility with DDR3 memory on its DDR3-supportive memory controllers the upcoming AM3-socket CPUs come with. So the company is also unlikely to transition to DDR3 until it is able to come out with a workable BIOS, sources add. It could be as long as 2010 by when a 100% industry-wide implementation of DDR3 can take place.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
    WarEagleAU, Kei, MKmods and 2 others say thanks.
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    interesting so it looks like DDR3 isn't taking off like planed
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mr.President New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    they should stuck with this platform for 2-4 years :)
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    DDR2 has the market by the balls at the moment due to unbelieveable deals. I got 8GB Geil Black Dragon DDR2 800 for around $90. It's not suprising that DDR3, with it's higer prices for lower capacity modules, and often times slower speed, isn't too popular right now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,099 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    Don't think it be much longer i have a feeling that DDR2 prices are going start to go up.. Just a hunch.
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Good thing for everyone.
     
  7. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Why? DDR2 prices have been dirt cheap since it released practically. I can look back 2 years and remember buying 2gb of G.Skill DDR2 800 for $44. Would make no sense for something to hike in price on the mainstream that sells so well, unless it started phasing out.
     
  8. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    no prob, take ur time Intel/AMD.. DDR2 for <$20 is fine by me
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not really. At the end of '06, when I made the transition to DDR2, I paid $130 for a 2x512MB kit of OCZ Platinums, OPEN BOX on Newegg. It was the cheapest CAS4 800Mhz kit I could find anywhere. 2x1GB kits started at $200 for 533MHz kits.
     
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it must be ddr3 , cuz not anyone want lose performance using ddr2 with the new cpu's like i7 and phenom 2
     
  13. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I think they are doing the right thing, as we don't really need DDR3 yet. This means that both companies are kind of speaking out for the consumer. Get the timings lower and maybe we'll talk...

    Lets hop they do it soonthough cause I am going to need DDR3 soon.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,948 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I wouldn't put money on Nehalem not needing it. Considering a 4000+ San Diego had to make due with 3200 MB/s memory and the 8 cores of Nehalem are having to make due with 14,000 MB/s (1750 MB/s each--number will drop to 875 MB/s when the 16 core models come out)...it can't be good.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    i dont see ddr2 prices jumping up, and my first ddr2 kit was suq, ocz goldz that maxed at 830!!!!

    that said, this is IMHO a GOOD MOVE ddr3 dosnt really offer anything major, specly not over some of the latist ddr2 kits, just think, this gives dram makers more time to put out even larger faster ddr2 kits that will be cheap enought anybody can afford them!!!!

    hell that gskill PI ddr2 800 4-4-4-12@1.8v kit is an insain deal, 45-50bucks shiped per 4gb.........so for 100bucks you can have some extreamly fast extreamly overclockable ddr2 that will run at good/great latancys.

    get the latancy down and clock up and ddr2 can rivel ddr3 for perf.

    this is what i was saying a while back to somebody, DDR3 cheapo kits are 2x the price of equivlant performing ddr2 kits normaly for 1/2 the capacity, and the "good stuff" is WAY overpriced, just NOT WORTH IT.

    phenom2 dosnt need ddr3, It needs low latancy decent clocked ddr2 as all other amd chips do, oh and more mature bios, in some boards phenom1 gained 10% or more from a simple bios update, optimize the bios code=better performance=happier customers and better benchie scores.
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,948 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    IA, USA
    DDR2 is 90nm, it takes a long time for them to shift production over to DDR3 (65nm). The prices on DDR2 remained relatively high until JEDEC got AMD to switch over. Once AMD gets DDR3 parts out and Core i5 is released (assuming it is also DDR3 only), DDR2 will fade into history relatively quick.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Ford, also the fact that amd waited till ddr2 was mature enought to compete in latancys/perf with ddr2 helped.

    afik ddr2 can be made on smaller prosesses, would be these hynix sticks i have are infact.
     
  18. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I'm abit confused there, I thought DDR3 being called DDR3 because it's 65nm?

    And DDR2 being called DDR2 because it's 90nm?

    But, seriously, this happened the same with DDR vs DDR2, it just the price of DDR2 was cheaper.

    DDR, DDR2, DDR3, latency, they keep going up, and I'm sure it will stay this way.

    People will adopt DDR3 the way it is, it's just not soon.
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it would be nice to see DDR3 run 6-6-6-18@2000 then it would be worth it if almost every stick could do that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That statement is a common misconception. AMDs do not always prefer lower speeds with tighter timings. My amd rig performs better at 1066MHz CAS5 than 800MHz CAS4 with the cpu set to 12*267. When you crank the ram speeds up, the latencies naturally go down when all else is equal. We then normally have to raise the latencies in the bios to make them stable again. Sometimes the speed increase offers more of a boost to latency than raising the timings takes away from it.

    As a general rule of thumb, divide the frequency by the CAS to get a rough idea how different speeds and latencies stack up per clock.

    For instance, 800/CAS4 = 200 while 1066/CAS5 = 213.2. That means 1066 CAS is slightly faster per clock.

    It isn't always that way, on a pre-i7 Intel, the chipset plays a major role, and sub-timings can play a role as well, on both AMD and Intel, but for the most part, the above equation is an excellent indicator.
     
  21. Swansen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The only reason any jump in DDR is needed is for lower voltages, there been marginal performance gains from DDR to DDR3. I'm confused though??? aren't there already platforms out that use DDR3???? namely i7?? so how is it not being implemented??? confused:confused:
     
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yes, but i7 is the only platform that is currently using DDR3 (ok and maybe a handful of x48 boards). Basically, Intel and AMD are just going to slow the push to move all platforms to DDR3. I'm happy to see this. My only experience w/DDR3 was an expensive and not all that thrilling one. I'll happily keep my 8GB of Gskill Pi 1100's for another year or so, thank you. :)
     
  23. Swansen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ??? yeah, so they are just going to start making DDR2 chipsets now or what??? i'm confused about how this is going to work?? Even then, and just like yourself, there are a crap ton of people out there that have DDR3 boards? i dunno, this is confusing to me. That said, from the beginning, i would have said to just stick to DDR2 until the jump to DDR5 or 6 could have been made.
     
  24. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    The Core i7 platform is for enthusiast, with premium pricing, what they're talking about here is for mainstream.
     
  25. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    That is so gay... I am really wanting to have DDR3 with my 940.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page