1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Booth: P55 Motherboard Spy Pics

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,948
    We didn't have much time but we got you a couple of shots of the latest and greatest desktop motherboards featured at Intel's booth. The linked pictures are about 2.5 MB each and not resized, straight from the camera for all your zooming pleasure. Please use the comments section of this news post to tell us about the highlights you spotted.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    I also managed to get a closeup of a naked P55 on another manufacturer's booth.
     
    CyberDruid, freaksavior and h3llb3nd4 say thanks.
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    :eek:
    soooooo much!!
     
  3. shiny_red_cobra

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Wow that's a lot of motherboards. Intel's just teasing us now, they're like "Here they are, they're ready, but YOU CAN'T HAVE THEM!"
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,972 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    "Asus" looks like "Anon" when not zoomed in. :laugh:
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    those pics are freakin huge! what camera did you use?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    His 24mp I think:D
     
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,274 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Wow. What a lot of mATX boards!

    And this one is cool. Funky "angled" CPU socket. You gotta admit, i5 is a great platform for smaller devices ;)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Oh, this will be a winner for SFF
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2009
  8. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hmmm some space for some large DFI cooling. Sweet I5.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,948
    eos 5d mark ii. it's 21 mp. sorry about the 24 mp in the other thread
     
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    nice.

    Canon ftw
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hmm.. the picture isn't good in my opinion to much disortion
     
  12. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I spy with my little eye a motherboard with 3 pci express lanes and 5 ram slots (or what i can tell is 5.)

    5 ram slots? That can't be right...
     
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    True...
    [​IMG]
     
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    unless it's triple channel?
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Maybe a little birdy has a secret that they don't want to tell us. 3 dimm (or maybe 5 who knows) triple channel for future cpu's?
     
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,184 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    What's up with the Gigabyte EP55-UD5 board? Its got too many slots for dual channel. Plus there seem to be 4 blue and 2 white.

    Also, how are the P55 boards doing 3 16x pci-e slots? Are they 8/8/4 or something else?
     
  17. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    well 5 just isn't practical. Unless it can run two in dual - the white slots, OR three in triple - the blue ones
     
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    beautiful pics, beautiful camera (and one I really want but jeez the cost of it). That is a lot of mother boards. I think I counted like over 40?
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Tripple Dual Channel?
     
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    My P45 based P5Q Deluxe has 3 PCI-E x16 length slots

    8/8/4
     
  21. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    That board's a little special. It has dual channel still, not triple but it has 6 slots. The white slots are not for RAM as such, but will take DDR3 sticks and turn them into a superfast ram-hard-drive. They're volatile AFAIK so when you shut your pc down the data needs to be in a hard drive but are very useful for caching applications and such (which i believe you can set - so you can set it to load you current game/fav. application on system startup) whilst keeping your system memory free (especially as we're down to dual channel memory sizes of 2/4/8gb atm).
     
  22. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,184 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    True, but the way a lot of the P55 boards are setup would initially make me think that your could run 3x crossfire/sli as if that is what everyone had in mind. Reminds me of the way crossfire was done on the P965 and P35 series except with 3 slots now instead of 2.

    I do like the new color combo that Asus is going with. A lot better than their past efforts.
     
  23. mk_ln New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    289 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    thats odd; they also have a few x58 boards there...
     
  24. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,274 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    http://my.ocworkbench.com/2009/computex-taipei-2009-coverage/gigabyte/p1.htm

    The Gigabyte P55-UD5 supports the Intel Core i5 processor (LGA1156) with a dual channel memory architeture. It has a 24 phase design so you should have more stability with higher clocks. it comes with 3 full length slots supporting CrossFireX. It it unsure if it will run SLI.

    As with Intel P55, it supports SATA 3 (SATA III) 6.0Gb/s. The chipset is is a Marvell hybrid chip which supports 4 SATA-3 ports and 6 SATA-2 ports with RAID 0/1 support.

    The board also features a Open NAND Flash Interface (ONFI) slot which allows you to speed up system access. It works similarly to the ReadyBoost in Vista.
     
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  25. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    190 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Some pics from GBT booth:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page