1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Confidential CPU Q9550

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by guitarfreaknation, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Ok, so apparently I have one of these and I have not realized this until I upgraded and looked at it. I bought it from a guy on craigslist years ago, when I had 0 knowledge on computer hardware. Can someone elaborate more on this topic? Does it have an unlocked multiplier?
     
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    No unlocked multiplier, just a pre-release version of the CPU. Could have been abused heavily, or have CPU clocks different from normal production Q9550s, but chances are if you haven't noticed anything strange or unique after years of using it- its not anything special.

    Used to get a lot of Engineering Samples in this area, probably had something to do with the large Intel Campus out @ Folsom. Haven't seen too many as of late though.
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Nothing extraordinary then. I've been using it for years and didn't even notice -_-
    Anywho, thanks for the info.
     
  4. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    135 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reality
    @OP
    How do you know its an Engineering Sample that you have?
     
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,218 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,907
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    They say on the top. I've had numerous ES Netburst CPUs :)

    Technically if you purchase one it's stolen property, but....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Yeah, its marked as Intel Confidential. They can try to rush my place and take it but I'm armed and ready.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Interestingly enough AMD will show up if your forum name shows up selling dozens of them...Black SUV and all.
     
    guitarfreaknation says thanks.
  8. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Good thing I am not selling them,. :roll:
    Never even owned an AMD cpu :cry:
     
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    I love americans. That was sarcasm.
     
  10. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    I love grumpy swedes.....frick-in hell, he was joking in his reply.
     
  11. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    For starters, I am Russian. Also, wasn't joking about the armed part.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page