1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Overclocking Experiences !

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by zOaib, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    please use this thread to enlighten us with how you managed your overclocks and what kind of cooling and other adjustments thx .
  2. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    3dmark05 test

    [​IMG]


    the link below gives the cpu scores for amd 4800+ x2 cpu @ 2.4ghz , 3.1ghz and 3.4ghz , none of which were able to beat the cpu score of 8655 i got form the e6600 runnign at stock speed ............. very interesting indeed. (P.S my x1900xt was at stock speeds aswell).
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1845&page=9
  3. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    3.5GHz Posted, on watercooling. 1.425v(not even sure if thats the voltage that it needs). I'll stability test once I figure out how to install windows on these stupid drives..

    I realised I have some air in my loop.. ill get it out and then try to OC higher... temps are 34c
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2006
  4. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Prime testing 3.5GHz right now.

    What is the max safe voltage on a conroe with watercooling? I plan to keep this for about 3 years, so I need it to last.. is 1.45v my max?
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    probably about 1.55-1.6v on water i should imagine

    Also, download "Core Temp", to get the accurate reading from the cpu die ;)
  6. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    ok. I'll aim for 1.575v~

    My board overvolts, but doesnt undervolt, and doesnt droop. So when i say.. 1.45v, it will give me 1.52v, but will be rock solid @ 1.52v.. lol..

    What is FSB Termination voltage? It goes up to 1.5v for me..

    ***Im flashing the newest BIOS for my motherboard, ill see if its more stable now..
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Nice, i hope mine doesn't droop on the vcore when i have a core 2 duo in it. It seems to droop BADLY with my P4 in it.

    FSB termination voltage is the signal voltage across the board, to all the components. Most people leave this at stock to be safe, but you could raise it to 1.4v and see if it helps.

    Flashing the bios on this board is awsome! I've made a 10mb FAT partition on my slave hard drive, and i've filled that with all my bioses, then i just go into the bios, and use EZ Flash, brilliant idea! Asus really thought this board through :D
  8. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    My watercooling is now seeming to heat up.. stock temps of 45c.. help a guy out!

    and also, if anybody has an extra foot of 1/2" ID tubing, please send! Im broke now and i dont really wanna pay like.. $7 shipping for 1ft of tubing. :p I'll pay shipping on that.. USPS?
  9. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    913 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    [​IMG]

    Im up to 3.5Ghz, with my cheapo Artic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 :D 1.57 vcore
  10. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4

    if there stupid drives can i have them :D
  11. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
  12. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    Don't blow it up o.o
  13. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    nope its all good, i soaked the processor in 91% alcohol.. dried it and ran it, and its been up a LONG time now. :)
  14. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Im leaving it on all tonight to test stability. 3GHz, 50c max load = high IMO for watercooling..
  15. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    lol^^^
    big lool^^
    sry man but 3 gig is not an aim for a watercooling thats easy with air

    i can give my cpu 1.6 volts and it will reach 3,8gig so far (24hours prime stable)

    atm iam on 3 gig because no application will use my conroe really so its clocking itself down ;(

    at least oblivion will do sometimes
  16. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    ill eventually figure it out.. ill get there.. no need right now, like you said.
  17. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    jup 2,9/3 gig is all you need at least for surfing/gaming
    for encoding or something simular the extra drop of performance may be good
  18. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I encode ALOT of videos, and I could use the extra kick of performance. These temps are whats keeping me out of the OCing game here.. 1.6v gets me 3.2GHz @ 58c load, thats not even stable.. and watercooled!!!

    Check out my thread. I think my liquid thats in my system isnt doing its job properly.
  19. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    3,2 is stable on my pc@1,38 volt 1,6 is for 4gig and more
  20. mobo57 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Newbee here. My rig:
    E6600
    P5W DH Deluxe mobo w/ nb/sb covers removed, AS5 & 40cm fans
    4 gig OCZ PC2 6400 EL Plat Edition XTC
    X1900XT W/ Crossfire Card
    2x 200 gig WD SATA 150's RAID 0
    2x 300 WD SATA2's
    2 Thermaltake Bigwater SE's, one for CPU, one for gpu's
    Cooler Master Stacker 830 case w/ 5 120 cm fans
    Used to have a Zalman 9500 on the CPU. Oc'd to 3.4 @ 1.5 on core and mcih. Temps at idle 35 to 38 c. Load 44 to 48 c.
    After the SE, 3.6 @ 1.62v. Temps 42 to 45 idle and mid 50's under load.
    Today I lapped the core, good by any RMA.
    Temps now are 30 to 32c idle and 40 to 44c under full load. Mobo is at 40 c. Hot here today, 92f earlier, 82f now. 6 hours of SETI and still at 41c @ 3.6 on the cpu per PC Probe. Core Temp reads 61c & 62c.
  21. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    my conroe shows under 1,518 (or something^^)
    and 3,6 gig a 62 degree under 15 hours prime
  22. VOCCH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  23. Vinas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Looks like it's safe to say that the stability wall is 3.3GHz for most of us. I think memory timings will set these systems apart from one another, however.

    Here's my e6600 @ stock voltage (1.31v). This is 100% 24/7 stable.
    [​IMG]
  24. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    i can easily squeeze 3,6 out of my connie lol?
    iam not on stock voltage then but who cares?
  25. Vinas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can go up to 4.0 with higher vcore, but it's not very stable... If you are running over 3.3GHz and 24 hour dual prime stable please enlighten me.

    99% e6600 owners are not stable over 3.3GHz from what I've seen.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page