1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core "Haswell" Processors Begin Shipping to OEMs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,562 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel reportedly began shipping its 4th generation Core processors, codenamed "Haswell," to its OEM partners (companies that sell pre-built PCs). These shipments could go into building the first batches of PCs running the chips, which will be launched alongside retail trims of the chips, in June 2013. In June, on the sidelines of Computex 2013, one of the biggest annual PC technology tradeshows, Intel is expected to launch its Core "Haswell" processors, various motherboard vendors are expected to launch compatible socket LGA1150 motherboards.

    Among the Core "Haswell" chips Intel is expected to launch for the desktop platform, are the Core i7-4770K flagship quad-core part, and the Core i5-4670K, both of which feature unlocked base-clock multipliers, appealing to overclockers and PC enthusiasts. There are twelve other models on offer, with locked base-clock multipliers, a majority of which come in energy-efficient brand extensions such as -T and -S.

    Source: C|Net
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Been a long time coming :)
     
  3. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Good, first batches of PC running a defective chipset too...
    or oems will use only third party usb3 controller?
     
  4. Ronnyv1

    Ronnyv1

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    80 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Guyana
    @T3RM1N4L D0GM4 didnt they resolve that?
     
  5. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    They fixed it, but since the defective stuff has already been made or that production of the defective C1 chipset can't be stopped the defective chipset will still be released sometime in June and you should wait till mid-August/September if you want to avoid the defective chipset and get a C2 chipset motherboard.
     
    radusorin and hckngrtfakt say thanks.
  6. Dave65

    Dave65

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    130 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan
    Really isn't much of a gain from Ivy Bridge to Haswell is there?
     
  7. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    The only gain here is if you always want to have the next generation technology from Intel, but even though I have a Sandybridge system set-up I still intend to stick with it as what it can do (as it still is now) is more than good enough for what I want to do in terms of gaming and general use.
     
    Dave65 says thanks.
  8. Dave65

    Dave65

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    130 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan
    I did upgrade from Sandy Bridge to Ivy Bridge but my Sandy was great for what I do..Just had that itch:)
    I do see some improvements in benching but in gaming you don't see it..
     
  9. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    737 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Yeah I'll bet customers who don't know about the defect will be thrilled when they discover Intel selling known defective goods. In fact the SEC might not be too keen on this business model?
     
  10. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    385 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Every processor manufacturer is effectively selling defective goods, Intel probably less than most.

    AMD never fixed the original Phenom TLB bug, and then there's the Bulldozer TLB bug, another division bug for Llano and Athlon II (errata 665), and then the stack pointer corruption bug discovered last year (errata 721). There are hundreds of bugs in any modern CPU. These are often never fixed, and it's left to the OS, the motherboard vendors and programmers to implement workarounds.

    The standard response to any of these? Something like this:
    The errata above affects Bulldozer and current FX processors. Yes, that's a sleep resume bug, just like Intel's and possible more troublesome because it will crash the entire system.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  11. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    I really hope board makers will tag them accordingly... I hate confusion...
     
  12. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Australia
    The difference is this isnt a bug thats is so rare that you will never see it in your life time, with this new line up from intel its called a fault that HAS to be fixed and is but still releases the faulty parts anyway, there is a big difference between the to.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,298 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The flexible bclk is for all Haswell chips, right? Might make it worth it to get an i3 when they come out. If the base clock is as flexible as it is on my 3820, you won't need a K edition to get a decent overclock. I do enjoy my 129.5x34 = 4.4Ghz. :cool: Who needs turbo? :p
     
  14. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,100 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Im in a hurry for upgrade but the stepping process need to be more mature i think...

    November for me is the month to buy haswell.
     
  15. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    My sentiments exactly. I'm kinda in the mood to upgrade too, but not until they fix the bug that messed up the USB 3.0 and to improve the CPU a bit in the next stepping.
     
  16. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It surprises me that almost no news get published about the arguably most revolutionary piece of tech in Haswell, namely the integrated VRM.

    Found an article about it after I also kinda forgot about it : http://www.extremetech.com/computin...with-analysts-denies-haswell-has-power-issues.

    I can see the integrated VRM's being a blessing for overclocking, but also another way for intel to lock away any potential in non-K models.
    And of course, if the iVRM's perform near their intended goal, system poweruse should be quite a bit lower for mobile devices.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
    cadaveca says thanks.
  17. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    If I'll see a deal with the i7-4770K before Z87s with fixed USB3.0 errata, I might jump the gun... seeing as it will be good to go in a few weeks after that with an awesome C2 board... if shipping and labelling is done properly for once in my country that is.

    Otherwise, might as well wait for a FX Steamroller or a A12 Kaveri APU (6-core, w/ L3, and all the new heterogeneous voodoo that will come with it).

    But for something even more on-topic... those puppies better clock to 5GHz easy / have no massive heat-spike issues like IB and so on...


    Speaking of which, relating to both my subjects... I hope the Broadwell upgrade path is straightforward... I don't care much about DDR4... it's useless outside of APU/workstation/server markets at the moment, but I DO hope there'll be a mainstream move to 6-core with Broadwell... (for Intel)... and 10 to 12 core (for AMD).
     
  18. DarthCyclonis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, think I will skip Haswell and see what Broadwell brings or wait for Skylake. I never like to buy the first generation because of the wonderful issues discussed already. Besides, My i7-970 is more than enough right now.
     
  19. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Yeah... And if I'm not mistaken that 970 is a 6-core... so in older multi-threaded software it'd still be faster for sure.


    I'd like to see Intel move to 8-core on X79/X99... so as there being a place for 6-core CPUs on 1150. I had more arguments for the move to mainstreamise (Intel) 6-core CPUs... but I forgot them at the moment LOL. Either way, if Kaveri/FX Steamroller delivers, Intel will finally start to feel a real burn, and maybe x86 tech will move already...
     
    DarthCyclonis says thanks.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Having an integrated VRM would explain the higher TDP of these chips, since VRMs on the chip would need cooling too.
     
  21. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    667 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I'm confused[ when ain't I lol} I thought from the release thread the VRM was just some kind of controller, and the TDP was due to the HD4600 iGPU ?
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    This is what was given out some time last year(SAUCE):

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    You may be right, it could be just the iGPU, but to me, with a smaller process, the CPU and System Agent should draw less power, allowing the iGPU to be faster and larger, while remaining within the same power envelope. Mind you, it's only another 10 watts...

    So I dunno whether it's the VRMs or the iGPU, but I was personally expecting higher tDP due to the iVRM.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Exactly my thoughts, system poweruse will probably be lower, but the package poweruse wil be up, just not up as much as the system power will be down because of no VRM's on the mobo.
    I suppose this will also allow mobo makers to lower the cost of the motherboard, and furthermore, it will probably mean that the problem of blown up VRM's on cheap motherboards will be history because there will be nothing left to blow up!

    Edit: another pic i found of Haswell with supposedly external ram on chip, found here, Enjoy!
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I wonder where the iVRM is on this chip btw lol
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,976 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,227
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    All I know is ill be getting Haswell. I want that new socket. It might be an OCD thing with me or something, but I like being on current sockets. LGA1155 is done, it still has the power to do everything, but it wont have anymore chips being released for it, no upgrade path for it now while the socket got LGA1150(Haswell) will be new and have about 2-3 generations on it.

    Ill wait for the C2 boards to come out, don't like the idea of buying something that I know is faulty. Just peace of mind I guess.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I dunno what's real about Haswell, and what isn't. I was expecting higher TDP due to this iVRM, and higher TDP it seems to be. But that huge eDRAM die...would explain it too.


    That's one large chip, IMHO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page