1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i5 & i7 Sandy Bridge Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mudkip, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've run my Ven-X passively on 4.2. It works just fine for daily computer nonsense, but not for gaming or crunching.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,835
    This!

    I did the same with cadaveca on Teamspeak, so i had advice on demand if you will. After about an hour I was done pushing my ES, it brick walls at 4.7ghz, so no real love for ZOMG speeds anyways. Back to stock I went. Then I pushed the ram to 2260mhz in about 30 minutes. After that the fun was pretty much over. I agree the raw grunt of this system is a new bar raising that makes me really look for what's next, already!
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I just set the fans to silent at 600 rpms and even under prime it won't go past 55c.
     
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    lol I've done a few vantage runs with my cards set at 900/1350mhz which is a decent 24/7 OC for heavy gaming imo and benched it with my CPU at 4ghz and 5ghz and the results for GPU score showed little to no difference at all. Although different scenario when they were set to 1ghz/1400mhz, but not like my cards are stable at that speed anyway and I don't wanna fry off my chips too early hehe.
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    If you have a 465 gtx or say a 5770 etc.... you will see a improvement in FPS over oced AMD CPU but with higher end card you won't. At least that's what I'm seeing. Don't get me wrong the 1090T still performs well but not like this.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    what do you boys think of this statement Intel's Datasheet says VCC_MAX is 1.52000 Volts.
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,532 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    I think it says voltage, but not what current amount accompanies that voltage? Or what load characteristics.

    ;)
     
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    this seems decent

    Was messing around a bit. This is in a close case no side fan seems decent on air for a 24/7 clock.

    [​IMG]
     
    Ross211, Paulieg and cadaveca say thanks.
  9. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    hey trt740,

    could you post your "simple" cpu bios settings for 4.9ghz - I'll give it a g on my 2500k and Asus P8P67...=)

    EDIT: stopped after 18 min at 1.37v set in bios when temps hit 84c. Might have to pick up a Silver Arrow or NH-D14. Do you use offset?
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Location:
    Illinois
    "Processor [X] was throttled by an entity other than the kernel power manager."

    Anyone seen this error? CPU meter will show one core at 100% and the system runs very slowly. Taskmanager (if I can even get it to come up) shows all cores idle.

    I was attempting 4.5ghz@1.4v. The system will post and boot at 4.8ghz@1.3v with the same issues. In other words, lowering the clock and raising the voltage isn't helping stability. Should I try nudging up SA, IO or PLL voltages? My bios doesn't show me what those defaults are so can someone tell me ALL the stock voltages for the i7 2600k?
     
  11. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    474 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    You may need to bump VCCIO if you have not tried already.

    The 4.5 Ghz range can need a small bump between 1.15v and 1.2v

    I've read elsewhere and also in this thread bumping VCCIO (VTT) can help stabilize your OC even if you are only running your RAM at 1333 Mhz 1.5v

    My 2500K appears to have a stock VCCIO of 1.05v, does this sound right ?
     
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    nice work Tom. Looks like we have very similar chips on the top end. :toast:

    Yeah, I just can't see these chips handling that kind of voltage 24/7. Probably fine for the occassional bench run.
     
  13. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    881 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I think I've found a new chip to drop into the daily driver/gamer, I hope it clocks about the same under water as it does with SS.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Ross211 and cadaveca say thanks.
  14. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Insane...very nice chip
     
  15. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Lmao! thought my OC was instable for the last well i dont know how long, would do ITB and Prime 95 no problem, play BC2 and after a few rd crash computer. Found out it was the damn smart 6 tool for gigabyte that was causing the problems uninstalled it and now i sit at 4.7 with 1.35v. LOVE IT! lol Might try to go lower on Vs but im not going over 55c so ill wait and see!

    Dont know if it seems odd the way i did the Vcore in bios or not lol but it seems to work for me, dont want to fix what isnt broken lol

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2011
  16. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Giving it a go at 4.9 now!
     
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Great man I cannot believe thess chips the performance they give is crazy.
     
  18. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Just played 2 hrs of bc2 at 4.9 1.39v and ran great! Going to try 5 now and see how it goes lol


    Edit~it didnt like 5 and i didnt want to put more volts into it so for now, 4.9 and try lowering vcore.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2011
  19. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    hehe.. bf2 ..


    i found that my sweet peak for voltage / temperature / speed is at 4400mhz ish....
    using p8z68-v-pro on water loop
    LLC: ultra High
    VRM: auto
    Phase: Extreme
    Duty: T.Probe
    CPU Voltage 1.280

    with all power saving activated hyper treading e.t.c

    like this i can leave my pc open for F@H and when i comme back CPU is at 70C max ... no 90C like some fellow tpu'ers :p
     
  20. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    No..BC2! lol wouldnt play bf2 again if u paid me!
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,308 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,679
    I am new to overclocking cpu's. So after reading instructions for a few hours... my best stable attempt came out to 4.5 with 1.4 core voltage on the i5 2500k. Temps never pass 65c ever. After reading 15 or so pages on this thread that just doesn't seem right. I didn't expect much more out of my cooler but still. Any tips on what I could do would be helpful.

    Cpu base frequency: 100
    Multiplier: 45
    Internal Pll Overvoltage: Auto
    Speed spectrum: enabled
    Vdroop control: Auto
    Core voltage: 1.4 V
    Cup I/o voltage: 1.07 V
    Dram voltage: 1.645 V
    System agent voltage: 1.105 V
    Cpu pll: 1.9 V
    Limit cpu ID maximum: Disabled
    Execute disable bit: Enabled
    Intel virtualization: Enabled
    Power technology: Disabled
    C1E support: Disabled
    Overspeed protection: Disabled
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Unless you have a poor chip, you shouldn't need that kind of vcore for 4.5ghz. Same with your CPU pll. You shouldn't need more than 1.8v here. Were you failing at lower voltages? When you say your temps never exceed 65c, what programs are you using to test?
     
    james888 says thanks.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,532 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    System agent is pretty high too? And I/O seems low?:laugh: Weird...but hey, maybe, maybe.

    could be due to droop?


    I'm going go out on a limb and say you've got an MSI board?
     
    james888 says thanks.
  24. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    896 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    @james888

    What bios are you using? Upgrade to the latest from the MSI site. I think its 1.E

    Then,

    Cpu base frequency: 100
    Multiplier: 45 you can leave it at stock also, and only overclock via turbo multipliers
    Internal Pll Overvoltage: Auto
    Speed spectrum: disabled
    Vdroop control: low-vdroop
    Core voltage: 1.35 V
    Cpu I/o voltage: 1.09 V or higher, depends on the ram speed and timings
    Dram voltage: 1.5V - 1.65V depends on ram again
    System agent voltage: 0.93 V
    Cpu pll: 1.8 V

    You can also leave all the power savings features enabled on the sanybridge platform, so you get low power consumption @idle and high power/speed @load.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  25. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Played with some clocks yesterday its been stable thus far, here is a shot with ibt (I cbf running the whole thing) to show temps.. Why can't I have a nice rounded number without having to change blck :(


    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page