1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i5 & i7 Sandy Bridge Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mudkip, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I can't see any numbers :/
  2. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    grr darn resize, I''ll fix the screens

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  3. Ozpa

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    327 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ok I've just started OCing my 2500K. I've only been running 4,5Ghz for over 2 hours in OCCT + playing League of Legends while I'm at it :cool:
    My motherboad BIOS has quite different OC options than Extreme3/4 I've seen people post screenshots of. I can only change vcore in 0.05 increments :/
    AIDA64 reporting vcore 1.312-1.328, CPU temp is 41-42c (surprisingly low I feel, but I love my Antec 1200 and it's winter outside).
    What's the most popular CPU benchmark I could use to compare scores with other oced 2500K CPUs? I want to make sure my CPU isn't being throttled or anything.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok fella's I need some help. I am ocing to 4.5ghz but when I set the voltage from auto to a specific number, the voltage does not down volt at idle with the clocks? Is there something special I have to do to make the voltage go down?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i belive you have to use the off set setting for it to drop when speedstep down clocks it
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I will test this out but how do I know what offset if the specific voltage I am looking for?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    I could never get that offset thing to work right. It was always either too high under load or too low at idle. I just said eff it and I'm doing it the old-fashioned way.
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,918 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,119
    I have had trouble overclocking my i5-2500k in the past. The best I could do was 4.4ghz. I am trying again. My goal is 4.7ghz. My motherboard is the msi-p67-gd53.

    My current settings are:
    [​IMG]

    There is a typo on the ram voltages. Just add .1v to the ram voltages and that is what they are. As I show in the picture, current vs actual, my motherboard rounds down some settings. I am pretty sure some of those voltages are a bit high. I was getting these two bsod codes and I kept adding more vcore.

    0x124
    0x9C

    I went 15 hours with occt linpack test with the above settings. The did the occt lin with avx and it failed in 5 minutes and had the error 0x101.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    My 2500k only does 4.5. You may just have a dud one like me.

    4.5 is something like +0.15 vcore, etc etc, on p67. Should be doable for 99%.
  10. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    mines needs +30 :eek: and even then sometimes it will lock up rarely :(, motherboards just a piece of shit
  11. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    once my 2 new agilty 3 drives are in im going to be pushing for my 4.8ghz goal, im almost there actually but managed to have a drive failure in the middle of my adventure so i sent both of my Vertex 2's back to OCZ to have them replaced with faster drives :D

    I'll post my bios settings soon of were im at currently
  12. blackriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    GAUTENG
    hello
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    hello?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,918 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,119
    [​IMG]?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
  16. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Does that info is on your keyboard?
    Which keyboard do you have?
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,918 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,119
    ...what? uh... do you mean link. I see the picture on mine just fine. It is a big picture of hello kitty :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    maybe it is because i have a very slow internet so it is not loading :rolleyes:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page