1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i7-3970X Extreme Edition 6-core Processor Starts Selling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    overpriced extreme cpus like always:D
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2012
  2. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Does it come with a free butler ? If they didn't include Alfred, then I'm not buing it. =P
     
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,442 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    644
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    They should included a free Xeon Phi to make up for lack of cores...
     
  4. nickbaldwin86

    nickbaldwin86

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Go smash your face into a wall... 3MB more L3 Cache isn't worth the extra coin... sorry.

    I looked that the specs... I even know what L3 cache does and I am positive you wouldn't notice the difference of 3MB :nutkick:
     
  5. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    This will never occur. They'll be discontinued before prices drop.
     
  6. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    967 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Europa
    They should release that IvyBridge-E 8core (16threads) already, instead of milking SB-e to death..


    lol Intel u disappoint :D
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2012
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I see the specs and i'm like "Oh! Interesting" then i see the price and i'm like "wTf is wrong with Intel?" then i remember there is no competition for them in this bracket :( And so the monopoly/set pricing continues...

    I have been looking at these EE CPUs for the last 8 years or so and i can honestly say that i don't think the pricing "scheme" has changed at all in that time. They still want ~ $1200 for a single CPU :shadedshu
     
  8. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Seems to me LGA2011 is heading the way of LGA1366.
    I have a feeling Intel might just axe IB-E altogether and launch a new HEDT platform based on Haswell in mid-late and leave LGA2011 out dying much like they did with LGA1366, only worse as this time as users hoping to upgrade to IB-E would have just aging SB-E to poke at.
     
  9. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    772 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Actually, from my perspective the LGA2011 platform ranges in price from about ~$229.99 for the Core i7 3820 on up (at least for me at Microcenter). There are also Xeon E5 processors for way less then the EE line.

    I think people look at EE chips, often like what they see then freak when they see the price. I’m not saying it isn’t a justified sticker shock but clearly the product isn’t priced for you if its going to cause conniption fits.

    It’s a classic case of I want the best money can buy (or high-end) but don’t want to pay for it. EE pricing has always been consistently high from what I can recall so this is nothing new.

    Having said that, Intel has done there job with the lower-end LGA1155 platform very well indeed. Therefore there is a lower cost but highly powerful option and this will likely continue on the upcoming LGA1150 platform as well.
     
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    and you wouldn't be able to reduce your render times with a good gaming system.
     
  11. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    overpriced...
     
  12. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    389 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Not gonna argue with that, but the price is including Singapore's GST. If you visit Singapore and buy the chip to use overseas, you can get a refund on the 7% tax.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,501 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    Not bad but This is to be replaced next year by IVB-E already
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    150w?? :eek: and people are complaining about 8 core PD at 125w, seriously?
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :rolleyes:


    Most people OC far above that. THAT is why it's an issue. Far different to start at 77W than to start @ 150 W...


    I'm tempted to try to get a sample, but at 150W, I dunno.

    4.0 GHz turbo clocks though...yeah, I'mma gonna ask for one.


    Because my current 3960X @ 5.0 GHz is too damn slow.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    I can understand that for OC, but most people dont and honestly its a 6core CPU thats at 150w? in my eyes that pretty dam high considering AMD's 8 core dont ya think?
     
  18. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I think they tend to overestimate the TDP in some cases - like the FX-4170 with a tdp of 125W.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    First TDP has nothing to do with power drawn..it has to do with the cooling needed. very different figures, and se yes, it's going to be overstated, because when it's understated ,the chip will overheat.


    Yet...;)...


    I had 3960X pull 155 W @ STOCK. Through 8-pin only.


    FX-4100 STOCK 122 W.


    150W is NOT that high, really a 7950 or GTX670 is like 225W, cooled with a dinky little cage fan and a cooler that is barely an inch thick.:shadedshu


    150 W is NOTHING.


    Now, my 3770K, at stock, pulls 50 W.


    But then, I don't see many others pulling 4.6 GHz or more @ less than 1.2 V, like my chip does, although there are definitely others out there... I've seen a handful better, for sure.

    Silicon quality is actually in far greater variation than most think, it seems.
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,749 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,677
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ivy Bridge-E is a reality so far. LGA1366 lived through two micro-architectures: 45 nm Nehalem and 32 nm Westmere. I'd imagine the same for LGA2011: 32 nm SnB-E and 22 nm IvB-E.
     
  21. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    read this post and actually laughed my ass off for a sec.

    can't wait for the TPU reviews to show that its not worth the extra money over the i7-3930k :shadedshu


    I haven't bought a AMD Chip for my personal rig in a long time (FX53 personal, JUSt purchased a A8-5600k for the HTPC); But I gotta say AMD does the packaging better. Look at thos FX-8XXX boxes. So nice.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012
  22. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    If IB-E actually launches I wonder how Ivy Bridge arch chippery can remain relevant against LGA1150 Haswell and it's Xeon counterparts that will launch before it. But ofcourse, it's another story if Haswell offers no CPU-side performance bump vs. Ivy...
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012
  23. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    508 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    meh..
     
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,501 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Well, I got a 3820 knowing (or at least thinking that I knew,) that IVB-E was going to be coming down the road for skt2011. Intel did a good job with their 22nm chips, but I bet you they can do better. Look at SB-E over SB for example, SB-E added support for native DDR3-1600 where SB was native at 1333 and SB-E "supports" PCI-E 3.0 and plenty of it just to name a couple big ones. I suspect that IVB-E might have some Haswell-like features if SB-E was any indication.
     
  25. Vego Actina

    Vego Actina New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    question is: does it clock better

    i have at e5 1660 from 2012 and it needs lower v for everything below 5ghz than my last 3960x

    hope to see some improvement with thisone
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page