1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i7-3970X Extreme Edition 6-core Processor Starts Selling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,271 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Forgive me, I thought those people would buy XEONs processors not those extreme craps. Just saying...;)
     
  2. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    It's a big premium to pay over desktop CPU tho, it's the same reason why I bought my X6. Cheap 6 cores that do the job better than if I went with an X4.
    It is slower in games yes, but a lot faster when you load all 6 cores.

    The reason why Intel has these CPU's is: Because they can.
    The reason why people buy it: Because they can.
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Xeons cost more for the same performance level AND they aren't unlocked. Just saying.
     
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    This is exactly why I don't buy Xeons.

    Also Intel should leave the second QPI link intact on the EE and that alone would justify its price tag instead of leaving the job to only 3MB L3 Cache.

    I'd be jumpin all over a couple of unlocked 6 cores CPUs, the Asus dual socket board doesn't cost that much over the RIVE.
     
  5. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,271 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
  6. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    You are comparing 8 core Xeon to a 6 core i7 CPU...compare the performance of a 6 core Xeon to an i7 6 core CPU and then also compare the costs.

    And that's exactly what some want, an 8 core i7 CPU which would be somewhat cheaper than the Xeons and preferably be unlocked ;)
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,873 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  8. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I was under the impression that the skt2011 Xeons are locked and don't overclock well (or at all for that matter.)
     
  10. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  11. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Aquinus and dude12564 say thanks.
  12. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Makes sense.
     
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    That's what I want, an isevenified version of that SKU, of course unlocked.

    Man, can anyone imagine that thing unlocked at 4,8-5,0 GHz? :eek:
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not on air. :p
    Maybe under water, but that would require some crazy thermal dissipation to satisfy the TDP at those kinds of power draws.
     
    radrok says thanks.
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes, of course, I do have a lot of radiator space for all that TDP ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page