1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Desktop Board DX79SI Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,702 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,422
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Here are the first pictures of Intel Desktop Board Extreme Series DX79SI. This is the first socket LGA2011 we've seen that has eight DDR3 DIMM slots (four on either side of the socket, two DIMMs per channel), every other board has barely enough room for four. LGA2011 supports quad-channel DDR3 memory, yielding 33% bandwidth gain over triple-channel DDR3 and 100% gain over dual-channel DDR3. Despite its large memory area, the DX79SI sticks to standard ATX board dimensions. This is thanks to some smart engineering.

    While on other LGA2011 boards, the CPU VRM is concentrated to the north of the socket, on this board, it is split between the north and south of the socket. Both areas have heatsinks, and the VRM area to the south is located where older generations of motherboards would typically have the northbridge chip. X79 is a single-chip chipset, located where the PCH/southbridge typically is.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Expansion slots on the board include three PCI-Express 3.0 x16. The topmost slot is electrical x16, the second one is electrical x16 (which switches down to x8 if the third slot is populated), and the third one of course is electrical x8, that takes 8 lanes from the second slot. Other slots include two PCIe 3.0 x1 (bandwidth comparable to PCI 1.1 x4), and one legacy PCI.

    The board seems to be using Patsburg-A variant of the X79 chipset, which lacks SAS ports and the supplementary 8 GB/s link to the processor, it relies on the DMI link (4 GB/s), and gives out only SATA ports. There are two SATA 6 Gb/s ports, and two SATA 3 Gb/s ports internally, with no additional ports as eSATA on the rear panel.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Sandy Bridge-E lacks integrated graphics, and so there are no display outputs. There's 8-channel HD audio with TOSLINK digital output, two gigabit Ethernet connections (one driven by an Intel controller, and another by a Realtek-made one), two USB 3.0 ports, FireWire, and a number of USB 2.0 ports.

    Source: LegitReviews
    Jack Doph and BrooksyX say thanks.
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,080 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Wow... it looks very nice
  3. N.E.A

    N.E.A New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    EGYPT,cairo
    The layout is big, and i expect it get even bigger with ASUS And EVGA flagship units.
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,942 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I like. Now the challenge is to not sell of my socket 1155 for 2011 :p
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    8 memory slots. WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO:D
  6. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Add $200 for 32gb of memory :)

    I can remember when $340 bought me 4mb of memory :(
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,355 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Hell
    sexey. lol I always liked that skull on Intel boards
  8. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    735 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I still think that quad channel mem loiks stupid and that cpu socket is huge damn, still i want it, only i need to do is sell my s1155 rig
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Can you use Dual Channel RAM kits on these boards? I know you lose performance, but do they work?
  10. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    So, CPU sockets keep getting bigger but motherboards are staying ATX size?

    I don't see that lasting for very long.
  11. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    Sure they will work.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  12. moonlord

    moonlord New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lovrin Romania
    X79 will be an expensive platform, maybe this MB "There are two SATA 6 Gb/s ports, and two SATA 3 Gb/s" it's just a sample.
  13. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    544 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    2 GbE NICs but only 4 internal SATA?
  14. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,084 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland and Rowsol say thanks.
  15. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    I can tell that some people on here are getting excited about having 32GB on this platform opposed to the predecessor's platform (socket 1366) having only a maximum of 24GB, however, RAM has evolved and become even more dense than 4GB per module so what you are expecting to be running soon is not a maximum of 32GB, but a maximum of 64GB as there is now 8GB modules (they've been out for sometime, but only available for Xeon servers from what I know).

    Clearly there are no 8GB modules out for normal systems from what I know, but I'm sure they will be out soon for Sandybridge-E (it's likely).
  16. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Just when I thought I out grew windowed.cases.:rolleyes: this thing just begs to be shown off:rockout:
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,275 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I hope so. Even the Patsburg-A has 4 additional 6Gb/s ports. They simply don't support SAS nor have the uplink. In the first pic it looks like there is a spot for them. So maybe 4 3Gb, 4 6Gb internally and two 6Gb/s eSATA in the final?
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,041 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA USA
    They are out for "normal" systems. They are just hella expensive and slow. Most e-tailers just chose to not waste the storage space on them as they do not sell well at all.

    Example: ADATA XPG Gaming Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR...
  19. derwin75

    derwin75

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Re: X79

    This is awesome. I just can't wait to see what EVGA comes up with the X79 motherboards platform...
  20. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    647 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    my next board is almost here..
    it is folly to buy the first iteration of intel boards i will wait for x79si2
    I miss the badaxe the bonetrail is sitting in the spare room unused the smackover is my main right now and holy crap i cannot wait for my shiny siler.
  21. actionjksn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    There is no such thing as dual, triple or quad channel memory. All those multi channel kits are is regular memory all packaged together. You could buy memory one stick at a time and as long as it is matching, it is exactly the same stuff as a same brand and spec quad channel set. This is a gimmick to get people to think they do something special to a set of memory that is in one package. Because they tend to charge more for memory that says dual, triple or quad channel memory kit. Don't fall for it, just buy the memory that has the quality and specs that you're looking for, at the best price. There would be nothing wrong with buying quad channel memory. Just don't pay extra for it, because once you install it and throw the package away. It's the same as any other memory. So no there is no loss of performance from using two dual channel kits. As long as they have the same performance specs.
    claylomax says thanks.
  22. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    Alright so if you put four of these kits together on the Sandybridge-E you can get 64GB, but that would cost you $1720 or £1092 which is coincidentally the same price that a 24GB triple channel (socket 1366) kit was not too long ago. I was aware that the modules were around, but the only person you could buy them from would be either the manufacturer or someone unfortunate like NewEgg who would stock up on them. With a bit of development I think we will see some 1600Mhz come out soon (if they are not available already).
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Wow this looks nothing like an intel board . . . I wonder if it has UEFI, or standard BIOS, and if it's a BIOS is a regular BIOS or the standard intel BIOS that is designed for a bloody engineer.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,616 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    they are pushing UEFI, my Bros AsRock 970 Extreme4 utilizes it
  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Um .. . AsRock is a different brand this board is made by intel . . ..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page