1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

intel E4400 what video card fits?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by r3drum, Apr 13, 2012.

1. r3drum New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi there ppl,

Im a newb with computers and now my pc has a burnt video card ( makes lots of little horizontal lines). I know its the card cuz if I take it out the pc works fine ( real shitty color lol but fine). So I was thinking since the card blew, I might as well upgrade it but I don't know what I can fit in there ( physical space and power supply limitations!). Ok I have a HP Pavilion z6157c. The side of the box says it has a E4400 intel core 2 duo processor, vista home, 2048 MB system memory, 320GB hard drive and a dvd burner. I think I changed the power supply some time ago but I don't know how to check it ( in the back the little red clip says 115 and if you push it then it goes to 230).

Basically my question is what video card can I replace it with ?

regards

Chris

p.s I can take pictures of parts if asked, thanks

2. Aquinus

Aquinus Resident Wat-man

Thanks Received:
    Keep the switch on the back to whatever you mains voltage is or you're not going to have a computer for long. I take it that the card was using a PCI-E 2.0 slot, but it is in a micro-atx chassis. Maybe a card that doesn't require external power?

Maybe a gimped 6750, but really no more than what would draw from just the bus, unless you can tell us what wattage and manufacturer for the power supply.
    PowerColor AX6750 1GBK3-H Radeon HD 6750 1GB 128-b...

Also check the dimensions first, you want to make sure what ever you get fits in your case so get a ruler handy.

3. Mussels

Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    it would help a lot if you could get photos of your PSU, motherboard inside your PC case, and your old graphics card.

4. Law-II

Law-II

Thanks Received:
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012