1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel EOL's Pentium 4/Pentium D Series

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    The Pentium 4 and Pentium D series had a great run, but in the end, Conroe completely overtook it. And so, Intel put a date on when we will not see any more Pentium 4s or Pentium Ds on the market. On October 7th, anyone who orders a Pentium 4 or Pentium D processor will not be allowed to cancel their order. On December 7th, Intel will not be taking any orders at all for them. This will allow Intel to make room for cheaper Core 2 Duo processors.

    Source: Reg Hardware
     
  2. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Thanks for killing a POS :p
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    It is about time. This should have happened months ago.

    Meh, they had their moments. I think calling them a POS is a little harsh.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Woot no more Netburst!:toast:
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ah, netburst blew. The new arcitecture is so much more efficent anyway.

    Although this may upset my uncle. He gets these chips all the time to put in other people's computers.

    I wonder if we will still be able to order netburst Celerons?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    With the Conroe-L Celeron 420 priced at $49 there really isn't a place for netburst Celerons.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they incoded video damn fine and a LOT of corps had ther software developed around nutburst this will cause many headaches at companies like Xerox whose software crashes on AMDs and the new conroes
     
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya my overclocked 915 2.8 is about the same speed as my 3060 at stock... in some cases still slower, and I was clocked at 4.4x...
     
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,668 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thank GOD. Tho still have a 630 CPU now in the hands of a teenager - mostly to play the Sims II - LOL.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Ahh, Pentiums... Making our computers hot and slow since 1993!
     
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Just Netburst ;). 1ghz p3 could out run a p4 clocked at...umm I think it was anything below 1.7 ghz, or something like that. Also, you have to remember, core 2 traces its lineage to pentium 3 through pentium m's. So, it was only p4 and pentium d that were bad.
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Speaking of P3 1ghz... I just got one last night cheap 256k cache version but.... Got it with a mainboard, ram, hard drive, dvd/cdrw
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    oc it for HWBOT
     
  14. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,863 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Aww poo at my proc :) time to get c2d lol, If I was not in a tight pinch I wouldn't have bought this proc :(
     
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Probably can't, it all came out of a cheap gateway....
    But when I plug it in actually I'll see what it does, and what I can do with it...

    Figure I'll use it as like a linux internet gateway/router/firewall
    Work great for that with some massive passive cooling to keep it silent.
     
  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Don't matter, all you need is a mobo that can overclock, the processor will do it if the mobo can :D.

    Router? For a P3....that's like a celeron's job. For a P3......file server is perfect.
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    P3 doesn't draw any power thats the nice part. I have built a lot of routers on like AMD k6 166's and such... Even thats plenty enough, i just figure i have it sitting and I wont use it for anything else...

    The mainboard probably wont allow the overclock was the point...

    And for the file/print sever, I my old Intel 915D doing that now.
     
  18. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ohh ok, I see. Well run bench marks on it and submit to HWbot :rockout:
     
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    It was still a popular proc that has lasted way beyond its prime. RIP NUTBURST.
     
  20. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Good riddance.. I hate this pos.
     
  21. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    Awww, at least keep it around until winter. I need a space-heater :(
     
  22. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    my p4 660 is fast enough 4 any game but i cant wait till the 17th i get my e6850 then it been at 800 to 1000mhz far over to years now
     
  23. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Need a space heater... You have an AMD chip anyways... Overclock and turn up the fans.;)
     
    breakfromyou says thanks.
  24. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    You know when I turn my PC off at night, in the morning my room is really cold..

    When I leave my PC on all night it's boiling :wtf:
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Meh, you should feel the closet I keep my file server in after a few days(PD805@3.2GHz).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page