1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Ethernet Controller X540 Brings 10GbE to the Masses

Discussion in 'News' started by DanTheBanjoman, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Today, Intel announced the Intel Ethernet Controller X540, the industry’s first fully integrated 10GBASE-T controller. This space-saving single-chip solution delivers outstanding performance for low-cost, low-power LAN on motherboard (LOM) and Converged Network Adapter (CNA) designs. The Intel Ethernet Controller X540 will help drive broader 10 Gigabit Ethernet (10GbE) adoption by providing connections that are backward-compatible with existing Gigabit Ethernet networks. Like other Intel Ethernet 10 Gigabit products, the Intel Ethernet Controller X540 features advanced I/O virtualization, supports Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI) and Fibre Channel over Ethernet (FCoE), and takes advantage of platform I/O enhancements in the Intel Xeon processor E5 family.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Intel.com
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2012
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Can't find the exact source, but apparently they will go for $124.
    hellrazor, theJesus and Frick say thanks.
  3. rjkoneill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    UK Stock in the channel suggests £544.34 (ex Vat)
  4. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Sweet! Now we need switches to move on to this standard.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,448 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
  6. MeanBruce

    MeanBruce New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    151 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    she scares me...
  7. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,448 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Well - Here in the UK we usually get ripped off for everything anyway. Blame the goverment for putting a 20% tax on everything we buy.

    no doubt the prices will come down once it becomes more widely available and no longer seen as a more specialist peice of kit like the £5 ethernet cards out there.
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Glad I spent the extra money and wired my house with CAT 6A, now we just need switches and routers to move up to this standard and become sub $200.
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,399 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    On the other hand you don't have to pay your medical bills. I mean they don't put those taxes on stuff just to screw with you.
    theJesus says thanks.
  11. treehouse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    thank you for reminding me of that fact, you have made my day :toast:

    location = lancashire
  12. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    695 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
  13. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    theJesus and Frick say thanks.
  14. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,307 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Cool - my SAN needs an upgrade ..... HBA´s and fibrechannel are pretty expensive....

    Btw - FreedomEclipse .... vat alone in DK is 25%...and then comes the taxes :ohwell:

    But as Frick pointet out - no medical bills and other social stuff.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,448 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    whats wrong with Kikatech???

    Ive bought tonnes of shit from them. Never had a problem

    The retailer with the next highest rating is Misco but they are charging £629.99 - that reputable enough for you??
  16. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    AAAAHHH Finally I could boost the online gaming experience of my Pentium 3 ! ;-)
  17. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Note the size of the slot connector on that card - it's PCI Express x8.
  18. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    It was sarcasm ;)
  19. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    And hopefully one day, wireless routers with built-in 10 gigabit ethernet ports. ;)
  20. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    That seems pointless as even now actual throughput on wirelss even in the best of circumstances barely break 50 mbs.
  21. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    366 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    I'll be in the market for a 802.11ac router with 10Gbe ports :)

    I'm guessing 10Gbe protocol does away with the frame size issue?
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  22. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah, but that 10Gbe switch for your media server will let you stream to everything in the house at the same time!

    Really, though, I can saturate my 1Gbe pretty easily when my system is backing up to the server. I've got a couple decent RAID sets going and that's not even accounting for SSDs which are getting pretty prominent.


    PREDICTION (i know, dangerous ground here): We'll see 10Gbe in the consumer space in <3 years from today.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page