1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Finds a New Material to Make Transistors, Tries for Cooler Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    A quick and brief report on Innovation@Intel claims that the company's engineers have discovered a way to make transistors using new silicon substrate and thus reduce the heat and voltage output of future processors. The new transistors run far cooler - at about ½ the voltage, consuming only 1/10th the power of today's transistors.
    Source: Intel
     
    NeSeNVi and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    All I am concerned about is, how well will these let me OC? lol
     
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,421 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    CCCCooolll! It takes time to duplicate captured alien tech.:laugh:
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    lmao they seem to switch more than AMD does and when AMD catches up Intel Changes again, Reminds me of the SLot1/370 Fiasco
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Here here! :toast:
     
  6. FryingWeesel

    FryingWeesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    um, unless u buy the enthusist platform u probbly wont beable to overclock worth a damn on future intel platforms.

    hell if they can find a way to make chips burn themselves out when ppl try and overclock them that will be done I am sure.

    tho the heat/power sounds nice, would be nice for portable chips at least ;)
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Don't think that's a problem with me. lol. I'm still trying to gather the money needed for i7.
     
  8. FryingWeesel

    FryingWeesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    sell a kidnee that should do it......maby not enought to cover a high end i7 rig tho :p
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The thought already crossed my mind. I figure that if I also sell one of my children, I could probably get the unlocked chip to go with it. :roll:
     
  10. FryingWeesel

    FryingWeesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    then u just gotta beable to afford a good tri chan memory kit :p
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Those are down to $100-150 for a good 6GB kit. Prices aren't that bad right now.
     
  12. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Core2 was the OC king. Why would they make unstable chips on future platforms when they have the most research money?

    And yes I cannot afford i7 just yet either. A kidney sells for roughly $28,000 on the legal market I have heard. I don't know about the black market though.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    so they can make money on unsuspecting people and have the complete line locked/ defective.
     
  14. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    So you think Intel would destroy its reputation to make a few reviewers say, "Well gee golly this doesn't OC at all". And nobody buys it except a few unsuspecting people? News travels fast on the internet. I don't see the logic in your statement. Or are you just trolling?

    Intel is not the monster in AMD users' closets. AMD is not the benign God of the underdogs it is always made out to be. Both companies simply want to make their stockholders happy like all publicly traded companies do. Its just capitalism, its indifferent to our "moral standards".
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    theyve had these techniques for sometime. im pretty sure AMD would do the same like during the 2003-2006 Market Dominance.
     
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,642
    Let me see ~ I have two kidneys so that equals $56,000.00 :)

    Notice: two well loved kidneys for sale....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    yup and you didnt say they were your very own kidneys.
     
  18. FryingWeesel

    FryingWeesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    u really dont get it, 99.99999999999999999999999999999999999999999% of the market dont overclock, they just buy a dell/hp/gateway/acer/emachien/exct and use it, they dont care what cpu is in it, and most can barly tell u if they got intel or amd.

    as to why would they do it, because they could FORCE you to buy into a platform they support overclocking on, intel dosnt want people overclocking at all, they would rather people buy the higher end chips PERIOD, if you play with many intel branded boards u will find they dont have overclock features for the most part.

    intel really dosnt want people overclocking at all, BUT if your gonna overclock, they want u to buy something thats gonna give them a higher profit margin and thus ensure they dont "loose profit" from your pushing your cheap cpu to the same perf as their high end chips.

    I understand the logic, but I dont agree with the tactics intels wanting to use to prevent clocking, not that intel cares, they will do what they want and if the user dosnt like it, to bloody bad......

    AMD arent perfect, and amd would ofcorse prefer to have u buy the higher end chip, but they also understand that alot of users cant afford a higher end chip OR they enjoy the challange of clocking, hence the lower end black editions and leaving the multi unlocked downword even onhigher end locked chips.

    AMD could have and still could make their chips so u cant overclock them, it wouldnt be that hard, they could make it so a chip just wont post if you try and overclock it, Infact on some of their server platforms i have seen chips that if u tryed to overclock even 5mhz on HT ref the chip wouldnt post, this im sure is to ensure that the server will be stable AND that if u want more perf you will buy the better chips.

    really intel dosnt got anything to loose by blocking overclocks or severly limmiting clocking on sub i7 platforms, people will just spend more to get an i7 in their eyes.

    AMD at this point needs overclocking to pull more users in, also, amd never has been hard core about trying to kill clocking, where i have had a few intel chips that where multi locked both up and down :/
     
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,707
    Location:
    IA, USA
    How did this thread come to overclocking? This is about future processes which means less heat, less power consumed, and maybe even smaller electronics. The only way that translates to "faster" is if they don't change the number of transistors by much. If they do, then it will likely be more efficient (fewer clocks to perform the same task). Either scenario is good.

    The only way overclocking ability is drastically effected is if a process is flawed (e.g. AMD's 65nm SOI). Core i7 and Core 2 were made on excellent processes while AMD was stuck on a horrible one with late Athlon X2 and earlier Phenom processors. Phenoms did not overclock well because AMD was behind in the market and they were releasing processors at the highest stable clocks they could manufacturer. Intel, on the other hand, had no reason to squeeze every drop of performance out of their processors because they were more than enough to shame AMD. Now that AMD changed to a good, 45nm process, AMD has headroom with clockspeeds again; hence why the Phenom II processors overclock well.

    Conclusion: If you want a good overclocker, hope one of the companies fall way behind the competition. The company that is ahead has no reason to squeeze all the clocks they can out of the processor so end-users can.

    Personally, I just want a faster processor. I don't care how far it can overclock because the price tag doesn't change.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    that what wont to say too
     
  21. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Seems promising. Sort of like the High Gate K process they use now. Im hoping they will share this with other chipmakers (read AMD) Less heat and power means its cheaper to use and cool. Also, they should OC like mad.
     
  22. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Sounds expensive. Manufacturing, extraction and everything.
     
  23. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    currently everything is expensive:( but I cant wait:D
     
  24. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Great news.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page