1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,833 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,984
    Wasn't able to get my system installed yet:(
    Was able to get some pics though:)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    MetalRacer, 15th Warlock and cadaveca say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    242 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Batch# L310B492, ASUS Z87-Deluxe, Corsair H110, open air bench. CPU/Motherboard combo purchased from Micro Center (Westmont, IL).

    Edit: Added stock/default BIOS voltage screen shot.

    45x DDR3-2666 (Hynix CFR) ~13(+) hrs. Rosetta load (Ambient temp ~21C.):
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
    Delta6326, v12dock and cadaveca say thanks.
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    But wait folks...there's more!


    :roll:

    <85C for me with both chips OC'd. Seems perfectly fine to me.
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    stock vcore/ring in windows under load off read point on mb

    vcore 1.136v idle .760v

    ring load 1.103 idle .745v
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    I'm looking for BIOS reading on freshly cleared CMOS. UEFI places a certain load on the CPU that leads to certain VIDs given. I am very interested in tracking this specific metric, as what I've seen says it's quite important.


    But I need more samples before I can draw any real conclusions. I'm just working on finishing this memory review I'm working on, and then I'll finish the OC guide while testing the next board for review, tonight and tomorrow. Too any reports of people having issues with OC, doesn't make much sense to me.

    I know you are in the thread, so I just wanna tell you you suck. I so wish I had those VGAs.:roll:

    I tried to order some brackets to mount my H100 coolers to my GTX670's/7970s. Then I found a forum thread saying dude is like 2 months behind on orders, and isn't responding to emails and such. Dammit. In the meantime, I've been using the GTX650TI BOOST OC MSI cards in SLI, they work really well.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    bios reads vcore/ring 1.053v for both
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    hrmph...explains your clocks, maybe. that's on MpowerMAX? or did you pick up something else?

    quite interested in air/water clocks you get with that chip too.

    Notice many with high clocks get 0.9xx on vcore in BIOS(and that Shamino, JJ, Linus 4.8GHz+ are all below 1.0 V as well.) , but V-Ring, that's an interesting number, that one.
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yeah on the max

    and the oc ring 1.2v
     
  11. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    242 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I'm currently testing a 44x @2800C11 overclock with lower voltages trying to see how low I can go... Current BIOS settings: vcore @1.2187v, ringbus @1.225v, CPU input @1.75v, DRAM @1.635v, CPU VSSA @auto, CPU Digitital I/O @auto, Analog I/O @auto. Stressing now with AIDA64...

    Edit: Added screen shots...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
    cadaveca says thanks.
  12. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,564 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I guess all those people are just crazy over there.

    Sorry, I get a little snippy when someone is dismisive with me.

    I think 85C is kind high actually, but I guess this thread just for pumping up the new platform and not for questioning anything.

    Sorry for the interruption. Have fun with your toasty chips.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta


    To address the temperature thing, there are two key things that need to be mentioned that might be overlooked by many.

    #1. These CPUs are designed to run near their throttle point. That is the whole reason that Turbo exists. Intel knows that enthusiasts will overclock with better coolers, and use higher voltages, and they don't care...they actually built in all these controls in BIOS so that we can control both clocks and heat in "K" chips. You set higher turbo multis...multis that are built to adjust to lower settings automatically if CPUS get too hot. And in case it truly worries you, you can buy a warranty that covers that. Intel even says "for those that need piece of mind"...in other words... you don't really need it, but here it is for those that push too far.


    #2. Actually, my chips were given to me, but not by Intel. I don't care about anything other than presenting facts you guys can use, and that's all, and shilling for Intel isn't what this thread is about, thanks. In case you haven't noticed, I'm kind of bashing all other sites here, because they are presenting reviews with ES chips, that aren't like retail. Yes, there are differences, but I'm not that idiot that gave review sites ES chips for reviews in the first place. Pleas note all TPU reviews use retail chips, and we don't really present much concerns about temperature. If those with chips don't know how to present them to the end user properly so things like this aren't covered, that's not my fault. Perhaps Intel should stop giving those sites samples, since obviously it does them no good.


    I just like to overclock. Memory, specifically. I do reviews to fund that hobby, and nothing else. In the end, it still costs me money to do these reviews, too, but since it's a hobby, I don't mind much. I've actually spent several hundreds of dollars in the past two weeks ensuring that these reviews I do get done. Part of overclocking is getting the best you can, no matter what. Heat? Schmeat. Aftermarket cooling says hello.
     
  14. Womper

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Yo. I was looking for a good OC results thread, looks like this one's happening.

    I see you already extracted my results from Hardforums. All of these voltage numbers are confusing- how are we reporting voltages? Are we talking about the manual voltage setting in the BIOS? Or the peak load voltage reported by CPU-Z or another tool?

    Currently I'm running at 4.7GHz core (core offset +0.160v, Prime95 peak CPU-Z voltage = 1.392v), 4.5GHz cache (cache voltage "Auto"), 2133 DDR @ 1.5v CL9, Asus Z87-Plus. Definitely "Game Stable," but impossible to bench Prime95 due to heat throttling.
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    for stock, so CPU "core" and "cache" voltage In this screenshot? That's after a CMOS clear. That's "STOCK".

    [​IMG]

    for reporting OC , Superpi32m RUNNNING while taking the screenshot will give good info. P95 isn't that great, I now use wPrime for power testing, even(since I had figured this out myself prior to the launch). P95 causes a different VID to be enabled that other workloads, and then doesn't give the value we're looking for. Likewise idle in OS and idle in BIOS are different VIDs, so that's why we look for idle in BIOS specifically.


    I'm pretty sure by compiling these specific numbers an obvious trend will emerge. What batches have good chips, and what stores have what batches, that's the real info too, but just because one cpu in a batch does well, doesn't mean that all of them will....or will it...? Hopefully we might answer that question.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,933 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I take it that's the Gryphon ^

    Once I get to my company will update just a couple results wish I could get a lot more info from people.
     
  17. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,987 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    That sounds like a good idea! Any suggestions for a program to use to test temps?

    Holy crap! That's one heluva OC! Did you use LN2? Crazy voltage too! :rockout:
     
  18. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,933 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Could try prime95 on high.

    He used single stage phase.
     
  19. Womper

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I flashed up to Z87-PLUS 1007 BIOS, which should load stock settings. Everything is on AUTO, DDR at 1333MHz. Unfortunately, neither the 0801 or 1007 BIOS shows my cache voltage. It's also not showing in the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility.

    Batch#: L312B318
    CPU Core Voltage: 1.008v
    Cache voltage: Unavailable
    System Agent Voltage 0.840v
    CPU Input Voltage 1.792v
    DRAM voltage 1.507v

    Booted up, ran Super PI mod 1.5 XS. CPU-Z's reported core voltage and core speed fluctuates a lot, but I caught it at peak turbo and voltage.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
    cadaveca says thanks.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    AI SUITE III might supply you with the missing information. FOR OC voltage, again, I'm concerned with Spi32m voltage, not P95, since that makes a higher-than-normal VID be used. Hence your 1.4 V load.

    Also, that CPU-Z version shows cache voltage on some boards, not sure what it's doing on yours. Try AI SUITE III or AIDA64 for better voltage measurement readings.
     
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,303 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Ohio
    More like this please. Screenshots that show the clockspeed, voltage, and temps at idle and under stress. Please mention what cooler you were using at the time as well.

    (not directed straight to you PolRanger but everyone who posts results)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    My only issue is that there are far too many voltages possible to tweak that can affect temps that make just that info alone useless. VCCIN could be 1.8V, or 2.0V, or 2.4V...or higher, and that's gonna affect temps in a big way. That's why I'm suggesting check voltages at these specific intervals and completely ignoring temps. Oddballs that have issues clocking due to something silly in in BIOS creating heat should be obvious this way. take a look at JJ's YouTube video about ASUS Z87 BIOSes, and everything that the ROG boards offer to get an idea of why I feel this way.

    CPU or Cache V with clocks does not tell the full story, and that's all anyone is really looking at.
     
  23. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Is VCCIN a big contributor to die temperatures? Logically, I thought it would be since voltage regulation involves heat dissipation, and I figured the higher the input voltage the harder the voltage regulation system would have to work, but when I tried 1.5v and 2.1v I noticed that the wattage of my chip decreased from 105w (1.5v VCCIN under load) to ~75w (2.1v VCCIN under load). I'm not sure if HWiNFO64 was reading something incorrectly, but it left me rather perplexed. I know that PWM based voltage regulation is a lot different than the linear voltage regulation I have studied in my current computer engineering courses, but still. Sorry if this is explained in the video you mentioned, as I haven't had time to watch any videos about the subject.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,552 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,960
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Dude, yeah, you'd think it would be one of the larger factors, for sure, but since I don't really have any inside line with Intel to ask these questions and wasn't part of the launch media, I couldn't tell you what's really the story. As you can see by the diagram I posted way up above, there's apparently only VCCIN and DRAM-in for power supplied to the CPU, but looking at these ROG boards, there's a whole huge whack of things to set, and a lot of other boards don't have these options.

    That's why I made this thread in the first place. I need to know more, and if I do, so does everyone else. So let's see what we can find out.;)

    I think I got the CPU multi binning part down. Roughly going as I expected(I've talked to a couple of PC builders and what they got for chips, too). But we still have iGPU, VCCSA/AIO/DIO, VCCIN, and others to figure out yet. None of those videos talk about any of THAT, really. What I did hear was a bunch of "We'll do that for you". :p As if that's good enough for me. :roll:

    plus this whole "set 1.2V, try 4.6 GHz" seems..well...like something I told W1zz to do before the launch with his chip, before any of this "info" was out. Really. That's exactly what I told W1zz to do. I had tested three chips. ASUS et al apparantly tested hundreds of chip, and they cannot contribute more than I did with just three chips? WTF....

    Those overclock guides contain ZERO info, IMHO. Anyone here could have figured that out. I did...:roll:
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  25. Womper

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Prime95 pushes the load voltage up to 1.44v. But here's Spi32m, and again, it bounced around on the voltage and frequency just like at stock. It's not hitting throttling by a long shot, am I missing something?

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page