1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,863 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Great read Dave!

    I do have a question where I wonder if you could elaborate a bit more on disabling the i-GPU BEFORE installing the OS. I was wondering what difference it may or may not make? I haven't disabled my i-GPU...let alone see any settings (though I haven't really looked either) to disable it offhand yet I have not installed drivers nor see it detected in device manager. You say a temp reduction of up to 30C...that' s HUGE! I may have to play with this aspect...I'm assuming with my dedicated GPU maybe the i-GPU is automatically disabled? Which is what I'm kind of hoping for in all honesty. I suppose I need to do my part and dig into it on my end. I will note that my Windows 8 experience has been great so far! Not really missing 7 all that bad. Sure I have my habits, but the more I get used to Win8 the more I like it, how fast and smooth it runs...I haven't ran into any bugs...nor do I mess with the Windows Apps or App Store yet.

    But back to why I wanted to post here...I am still fine tuning my OC...got some time last night to play Wargame AA for about an hour. After hours and hours of stability testing through the weeks prior to actually playing lol.

    I found that I am currently stable at 4.5Ghz @ 1.241v. To be gaming stable I had to increase VRIN to 1.80v from 1.75v. Maximum temps while gaming? 70C. I can live with that! And with fall coming and cool weather, seeing 70c is going to become a less frequent occurence.

    I also have the cpu cache at 8x-40x, using Auto (reading 1.16v) will manually set. Not sure I care to push past 40x.

    Memory manually set, not using XMP. 2133 @ 11-11-11-28 cl1 @ 1.58v (reads 1.60v)

    This system is running great! I am sooo happy I RMA'd my cpu! :toast:
     
    Womper and HammerON say thanks.
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,527 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,627
    Yeah - RMAing your first CPU was a good call:toast:
     
    Kursah says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. sno.lcn

    sno.lcn

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    670 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    My latest 4770k batch

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca and HammerON say thanks.
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,527 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,627
    LN?
    Nice clock:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. sno.lcn

    sno.lcn

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    670 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Yep :)
     
  6. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    Ok I found the cause for low ram bandwidth on my mobo :pimp:

    Its DRAM Clk Period that makes a big difference; Im at 9 atm and at 9 it looks like its default 2133mhz (few major adv. timings), 1-2 even tighter

    2133mhz speed & timings
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    2400mhz CL10-12-11-32-2T
    [​IMG]

    I think i will need to fine tune some more, 2 times it auto shut down (used 7), 1 time it froze in x264 benchmark (at 8and little looser timing).


    old 2400mhz score at auto Dram clk period
    [​IMG]
    &
    timings
    http://abload.de/image.php?img=2133mhzcl9xts1k.png


    EDIT: 9 wasnt stable, pc shutdown again.. I will try even looser main timings, well its DRAM period @ 10 that makes this slow read/copy speed -_-
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
    cadaveca and PolRoger say thanks.
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    I assume CL? Did you raise the voltage any when trying lower(tighter) timings?
     
  8. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    DRAM clk period at 9, last time I left all timings at auto except main and this DRAM clk period.


    Im at 2200mhz (~ 33.5gb/s read) atm same timings like by 2133 and DRAM clk 9..No random shutdowns yet..


    I will try 2400mhz @ CL10 -12-12-31 or CL11-11-11-31 if i have any luck.. I've been ok at 2666mhz CL11-13-13-31 (same 1.65v) but yeah @ DRAM clk period - auto (which is probably 10 or 11) and slow speeds.
     
  9. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141

    I've always wondered what was causing poor bandwidth on the Z-87 Deluxe at higher dram speeds... Which is why I settled on 2133C8 for my daily overclock. Hopefully I can test again and get some better results with 2400/2666 etc. :)
     
    TheHunter says thanks.
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have a sneaking suspicion that there are other timings changing as well. You should try using MemTweakIt when doing memory tweaking, as it'll hold far more timing information than what AIDA64 offers, and I recommend paying attention to the changes on the right column of timings in MemTweakIt as you make other changes.

    If the iGPU is enabled when you install the OS, the driver gets installed as well. This will have the GPU active, although not used. Then should you install some software that supports using the iGPU for encoding or such, it can get used by that software. Both Windows7 and Windows8 seem to install drivers for the iGPU automatically. Once the drivers are there, it can be hard to get them removed, and still have a booting OS. Not all boards are going to result in the iGPU being enabled/active, and I noticed a few boards behave a bit differently here with the iGPU once a few BIOS updates came out, too. Crazyeyesreaper was using the GPU itself, and no add-in card, and was expecting the same sort of clocks, so that needed to be addressed as well. I was more covering all of the basics I could think of in the "guide".

    Quite a few "enthusiast"-grade boards automatically turn off the iGPU, but not all do. I think ti's very worthwhile to make sure that things are working "as expected" when it comes to the iGPU, for sure.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
    Kursah and TheHunter say thanks.
  11. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    @PolRoger

    Yes its definitely DRAM clk period, @ 10 it kills the performance by read/copy. DRAM clk @ 9 looks ideal for 2400/2600/2666

    but yeah its giving me some hard time, maybe i need to adjust cpu offset IO voltages etc that what Asus "recommends" if OC'ing ram?



    I settled @ 2200mhz for now, DRAM clk period - 8 and same timings like by 2133mhz CL9-10-10-27-1T
    [​IMG]


    @Cadaveca

    I noticed
    tWR is now 16; in one older screen it was at 27 @ 2133mhz

    tRFC @ DRAM 8 its 160, @ DRAM 9 171, @ DRAM clk 10 its 177

    tFAW @ DRAM 8 30 or @ DRAM 9 32; default @ 2133mhz is 32

    tREF period @ DRAM 9 its the same like by default 2133mhz


    other stuff stayed around the same, like tIOL and tRTL


    I will try Memtweak one time to see what's up, thanks :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    DRAM CLK Period = DRAM WRITE CAS LATENCY

    WRITE CAS LATENCY (tWCL) support is all about the memory, combined with the clock used, 99% of the time. Try higher vDIMM. Back with Z77 or Z68 I wrote about twcl in the Samsung LP/LV memory review.

    That's what Earthdog was on about, anyway, it's tWCL, and yeah, try higher voltage on memory.
     
    TheHunter and EarthDog say thanks.
  13. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    Ah right and thanks I didnt know whats the proper name for it, yeah that makes a lot of sense, reminds me of my old x48 memory perf. level, 450mhz fsb and perf.lvl 7 was a tough one :D


    Now I see default 2133mhz uses tWLC 8 and yet it has higher tRFC and tREF, hmm I guess its Crucial own thing.. The funny thing is ram is fine at default 1.65v and 2666mhz CL11-13-13-33-2T and auto tWLC, but yeah low speeds..
    Digi+ ram 110% and phase - optimized.


    What if I used higher main settings and stayed at 1.65v? For example CL11-13-13-32-2T and maybe raise 2-3 timings like tRFC , tFAW and tWR? Because I didint try those yet, only main timings CL10-12-12-32 or CL11-11-11-31.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  14. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I always thought that there was room for improvement with the Z-87 Deluxe's default auto settings for 2400 and higher memory speeds. It seems that this board's 2133 speed settings with DRAM Clock Period left on "Auto" always offered the best performance of the three AIDA bandwidth numbers.

    Here are two examples at 2400 9-11-11-28-2T... Everything else on auto except DRAM Clock Period which is set at either 9 or 10. This setting will affect (change/tighten) other secondary/tertiary settings and improve the AIDA bandwidth benchmark.
     

    Attached Files:

    TheHunter says thanks.
  15. SimpleTECH

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    91 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    I'm having the hardest time getting my Samsung Green LV to 2400MHz. I can boot with single-channel but cannot get both of them to work at the same time. I tried increasing vDIMM to 1.70v, changing the command rate to 2T, increasing System Agent voltage to 0.250v offset.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    I see you have this tWLC at 8, try 9 and raise main timings to lets say CL11-12-12-31-2T if it makes any difference.
     
  17. SimpleTECH

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    91 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Nope, no difference. :(

    I really want to get my hands on an ASUS board. I remember being able to hit 2400MHz with my old Z77 Deluxe. But atlas, I sold it. :shadedshu
     
  18. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    Then maybe you need to fine tune ram/cpu offset IO specific voltages..


    Well I didnt have much luck with 2400mhz either, its not stable even at CL11-13-13-32-2T.. Im scarred to go over 1.65v because mobo sometimes overvolts to 1.668v.


    But I played with cpu OC some more,

    4.8ghz boots @1.28v, fails to boot in windows until 1.31v

    I tried 5ghz and it boots @1.30v until halfway in windows8, I guess ~ 1.35v should do the trick, but I wasnt comfortable to run at that voltage


    4.7Ghz atm @1.285v in bios, I think this is the max voltage for 24/7
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Cinebench11.5 scored 10.37, best so far was 10.34, maybe 2200mhz ram helped :)
     
  19. SimpleTECH

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    91 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Turns out it was the boards. Got a Maximus VI Hero and can do 2400MHz with these sticks. Granted I'm using a different CPU but my other one should do the same.

    [​IMG]

    EDIT:

    Was able to do 2666MHz! :cool:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  20. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    Now try again 2400 or 2666mhz but this time use DRAM clk Period at 9, i see you used Auto (tWLC 10) which makes those slow read/copy speeds..

    At 9 it will tighten few advanced timings and it could get unstable. My 2133mhz acted the same as yours, but yeah at 9 it needs some extra fine tuning.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  21. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    I tried higher cache multi again and I noticed I need min 1.16v for x44.

    I had at 1.158v but it hard reset in BF3, when I raised to 1.163v it was stable again, end result was higher L3 cache speeds, gained ~ 4gb/s vs cache at x42.

    In max max load it goes as high as 1.187v @ adaptive.
    cache 44x.jpg


    Idk about other benchmarks though, tested only Aida64 memory benchmark..
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
  22. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa


    Yes I've been testing this atm and it looks very good.

    I have like so in bios 1.28v
    core1 48x
    core2 48x
    core3 47x (uses ~ 1.26v)
    core4 46x (uses ~ 1.235v, like at fixed 4.6ghz OC)

    If i want 4.7Ghz I need min 1.283v

    [​IMG]

    But it was a bit unstable, I had to lower cache multi 42x in the end, had at 44x at first. Im might go lower with cpu v a bit but I think it needs min 1.275v, not sure maybe it was just cache causing all the problems, because few times it booted in windows normally, few times it would bsod by logon or just randomly reset.
     
    Womper says thanks.
  23. emash New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello!

    Please read my post, a fresh voice from new a new soul in realm of overclocking.

    First of all i'd like to greet people of this forum, hello people. On september sixteenth i got my new setup, basically a ga-z87m-d3h motherboard with K-i5, with 1600mhz ram. After some time playing with it i was pretty impressed with perfomance and silence of my new system in a gorgeous n200 case. Since i bought a kinda bigger cooler with an oem cpu for saving and overall completenes of the system, i am now able to overclock the cpu a bit. BTW i have a top-down cooler master pwm 92mm fan, with kinda bigger heat spreaders than the ones on the stock one, with a fan which can go up to 4200rpm. I was not disappointed with it's perfomance though, temperatures remain well below 50c on 4,2 Ghz.

    This is my first ever overclock expirience in which i was able to achieve a 4,2 mark through modifying TB multipliers, and leaving vcore at auto setting. I read a lot about hardware i am now having time with so i decided to leave voltages alone (i mean new voltage managment introduced on haswell platform). Testing using different software from cpu-z to aida64 to prime95 shows that system is very stable and perfoming good, giving me up to 15k on geekbench. Voltage never goes higher than 1,15-16 mark on most exhausting tests, which i consider totally safe. One detail, i do not use prime95 for general testing since it does override whatever vcore numer you set.

    Now to the purpose of this post. I was not able to go past 4,2Ghz, can't get my system to boot. Why? i could put vcore up, but it does not provide the desirable effect, it gets higher in the os even if was manually set to below average setting i expirience with auto.
    Since my cpu is capable of running at 4,2 with voltages not much higher than stock ones, and below the golden 1.2 (or 1.212) marks i do think my system is capable of running at 4,4Ghz. What do i do wrong, and why i experience such a wall, mentioned by someone on some page before, which i saw when first got here from google about 20 minutes ago.

    Thank you. and i'm planning for a hackintosh, but it is a different story)
     
  24. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
  25. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Anyone know CPU z well?
    I sometimes start up after a normal shutdown and get weirdness in bios... Sets speed to 4400 but CPU fluctuates like a bad day on Wall Street, even going over 10000 momentarily, is it actually reading CPU speed ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page