1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    sorry false alarm,
    It was because of intel RST Dynamic storage accelerator, I've set it to manual and high performance gear, I didnt expect it to affect cpu this way and turn off c-states..
    Its ok at auto, default balanced keeps it @ C3, power saver @ C7s, high performance @ C0.


    Anyway c-states work as they should with bios 1802, all ok. :)
    Last edited: May 18, 2014
  2. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    New bios is out for most Z87 mobos.



    Z87-DELUXE BIOS 2003
    Enhance compatibility for new Anniversary Edition and Devil's Canyon CPU.
    Note: Must apply the attached BIOS updater tool first before using the new Intel 4th Gen Core processors.



    Guess that earlier bios update tool wasnt 100% compatible,
  3. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    Idk is it this new bios or new gpu, but now I have a lot cooler cpu @ same settings. Before I was able to hit those temps only @ winter in cold room 12-15C :D, atm ~ 20-22C

    with new 2003 bios @ 4.7ghz 1.274v, ram 2400mhz, cpu & ram current 120%. It hit max temp in 1st part of the bench, before 3rd.
    RE5 - variable 4.7ghz new gpu.png


    old bios, same cpu settings 4.7ghz, ram 2400mhz & old gpu, didnt really matter custom 570 or stock cooler 580gtx.

    re5 4.7ghz vriable.jpg

    RE5 variable, 4.7ghz 1.284v, 4.2ghz 1.135v, 2400mhz, 120% auto, vccsa 0.050, digital IO 0.005.jpg

    edit: found 570
    RE5 - oc 4.7ghz 1.280v, vccsa 0.005, io analog 0.005, 2200mhz, llc6, 120%, optimized.jpg

    & cpu microcode got updated, I had 12h, now 19h
    microcode.png
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
    MxPhenom 216 and Kursah say thanks.
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    @TheHunter

    MAXIMUS VI HERO BIOS 1504
    Enhance compatibility for new Anniversary Edition and Devil's Canyon CPU.
    Note: Must apply the attached BIOS updater tool first before using the new Intel 4th Gen Core processors.

    What does the bold part mean? What BIOS Updater tool?

    I usually put the BIOS file on a usb drive and go into the BIOS and flash from there.
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    The BIOS updater tool is an In-OS flashing utility. That's all. I don't know why it's all of a sudden required, but it works well...still makes me more nervous than flashing using a USB drive and EZ Flash II. I just flashed mine...going to run some tests and see where the temps end up. I'm not noticing any major differences yet...but we'll see after the next hour.

    :toast:
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    Subd for Dave's haswell v 2 of guide.

    Going to try the cach multi on my 4790 when I get back. And wow what a pile of settings in the bios with the z97.. @cadaveca like you said 4.3ghz would be a breeze, yup it is and all under 1.19v ;)
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    Question on pci-e lanes on MHvii and hasswell.
    I encountered a bit of a problem when I put this new rig together the other day. I installed my 2 290's on the mobo and also an essence stx sound card. Things got all weird and slow. When I pulled the sound card out of the bottom black pci-e slot things were normal. Can I use the small x1 PCI slot for my sound card and will it affect the GPUs sense there running x8 x8 so that's 16 lanes. How are the x1 PCI slots wired?
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Did you disable onboard sound?
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    Yes I sure did.
  10. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    87 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Still accepting member result entries?

    emissary42 | 4670K | 1.050 V | 4900(49x100 MHz) | 1.280 V | 45x | 1.100 V | DDR3-2667 CL10 | Thermalright Archon SB-E | MSI Z87I Gaming AC (Memory @ Stock, more or less^^)

    [​IMG]
    cadaveca says thanks.
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I was losing hope with OC stability with these last two most recent BIOS updates. Then I tried something I hadn't since I first started OC-ing my setup a year ago. I did +0.001 for Adaptive and +.011 for additional voltage. This gives me 1.46v under load. Which so far is stable (so far...).

    The kicker? I was running between +.005-+.010 on Adaptive for 1.151-1.156 and it was NOT stable. Both OCCT's Linpack solo and PSU test would crash/lockup/fail within 15-20 minutes. Temps were higher.

    Running this lower voltage seems to be very good so far....OCCT PSU test is a very good load...especially with my GTX 770 pumping hot air into my case....between that and my CPU none reach more than the hi-70's at this point. I'm pretty stoked about it. I'll be super excited if I am running lower voltage than ever for the same OC!
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Try pushing cache and CPU at the same voltage values, and running 1:1, if temps are OK. That might allow for slightly less voltage overall on vCPU.
    Kursah says thanks.
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    My CPU input voltage is already at 1.70v (reads 1.71.

    I have my cache running auto which runs about 1.16v iirc...and 8x min. and 40x max multi. I'll try it at 43 and see what happens. :toast:
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    push 1.76 on vINPUT. As TheHunter posted, cache multi over 42 doesn't seem to have much effect performance-wise, but pushing the voltage a bit higher might help CPU. My CPU can run 1:1 no problem, has since I got it. But I got a chip back last year that does 40 only, so don't be surprised if it doesn't work. :p
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
    Kursah says thanks.
  15. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'll push vIN to 1.76 IF it'll get me to 1:1...I'm not too worried since it's been so commonly posted (even in your guide iirc) that going over 39X really has no major benefits that would be noticeable...it would sure be cool if I could run 1:1! If I can't attain that, back down to 1.70 I go since it runs stable there.

    I don't expect much from it, I have tried before...and I remember 40 being the highest I could go on older BIOSes...I am just stoked that it's stable with less voltage. That makes me super enthused. I may run more tests before I make any more changes though. Do my 6-hour OCCT PSU test...that really seems to weed out the good from bad OC's forme.
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Here's what I'm running currently:


    bios_01.jpg

    bios_02.jpg

    bios_03.jpg

    bios_04.jpg

    bios_05.jpg

    bios_06.jpg

    bios_07.jpg

    aida.jpg
    fullinfusion, 15th Warlock and Kursah say thanks.
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Nice. Well I'm sticking to 4.3 as that's the best OC I can attain with a minimal increase from stock voltage...well I think actually stock voltage now.

    You have a sweet chip for sure Dave! I prefer to run a good mix of power saving and OC...I don't need my voltage full on all the time...and Adaptive works great for my needs...but looking at your screens makes me want to see how far I can push!
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I don't run that rig too much, since the board has not been in my possession long. The CPU is retail, and has Tuning Plan already, so if it pops...well...it pops. With gaming being the only use for that rig, power-savings overall isn't much of a concern.:pimp:
  19. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,703 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Hey guys, any of you thinking of getting some Devil's Canyon action?

    I wonder how they will OC compared to regular Haswell parts...
  20. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,689 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I already used my protection plan use...so I'm SOL if this one pops. I game a lot, but it's used for school and other minor tasks that lower voltage/consumption makes sense.

    I don't plan to replace this chip for a while...unless there's an amazing reason to do so. This has been a very good experience thus far, and I built this a year ago planning on it getting me through college and maybe then some without much more than maybe a GPU upgrade.

    I am curious to see how Devil's Canyon performs.
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,942
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I will for sure have chips. Better do better than what I got already, let me tell you. :p
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  22. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,703 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    At $339, 4970K is kinda tempting, my 4770K tops at 4.7, so I was thinking Devil's Canyon should definitely clock north of 5GHz

    Both my 2600K and 3930K can hit 5GHz so it was really disapointing to see Haswell top at a lower clock as even at 4.7GHz it already is faster than my previous processors in most tasks due to the higher IPC.

    Dave, I know you're going to test your chips on Z97 boards, but would you please include benchmarks on old Z87 boards now that most manufacturers are releasing Haswell refresh BIOS updates?

    If 4790K runs at no more than 5% performance disadvantage on Z87 compared to Z97 I might consider just getting it, if not, then I'll wait for Broadwell...
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    I think you won't see any difference Z87 mobo or Z97 mobo.
    Imo the only time Z97 takes the lead is when you have a program/benchmark that benefits from those new sataExpress /m2 Disks and its speeds.
    Something like Asus RealBench..


    Its update tool for IMEI firmware update, I used it anyway just in case if it updated anything newer compared to back in February, but its the same. Only cpu microcode got updated. :)



    @Kursah

    So how did you set it in the end?

    I played with offset voltage + additional turbo voltage and dunno.. I know I was at 4.7ghz @ 1.255v once, but idk anymore..
    Yeah Cache 4.1 or 4.2 Ghz already seems to be the best ratio..

    Although I got beaten in Asus Realbench v2 (hwbot) by someone with both cpu & Cache 4.6ghz, me 4.7 & 4.2ghz, he got ~ 230points more. I noticed this RealBench also like fast SSD, mine is more on average.


    Im now at main offset auto and total adaptive 1.1275v, atm testing cpu Cache multi again 4.4ghz and for that I need ~ 1.170v.. I gained very little, mostly 1-2fps here and there and few points in 3dmark physics, 100 points or so.. Cinebench15 extra ~2points. :)


    My no1 score atm with new gpu and all ^^, OC 1212mhz ram 3245mhz by most

    Vantage
    3dmakr vantage best.png

    2011
    3dmark 11 1200mhz 3400mhz.png

    Firestrike
    3dmark firestrike oc 1200mhz boost.png

    RE6
    RE6_2014_06_04_03_06_40_602.jpg



    Cinebench15
    Cinebench 15 4.7,4.4ghz OC.png

    964cb is best so far @ 4.7Ghz & 2400mhz ram.. I got that on next reboot again with a little tighter ram..
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,484 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    617
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Trying ti get my i7-4770 above 4.2GHz is proving to be a pain in the ass
  25. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    You will have some trouble with non K model. I think 4.2Ghz is pretty much max.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page