1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Also, my board doesn't have a main input voltage option. Its either only Initial or Eventual. Eventual seems to be helping more.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, HERO is a bit limited in the voltage OC options department
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    How much did you say that memory kit was that you said you found, that was the same as mine?
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Also, I don't really see how that's limitting. If a motherboard just has one option for Input voltage I feel like that would be limitting. Where as mine has 2. One for system POST and the other for once the OS loads.

    I am really tempted to try for 4.6, but I don't really want to go much higher then 1.34v.
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, but you don't understand what you're doing other than changing something that lets you OC more, so you don't understand my comment. I was referring to offering OFFSETs rather than fully manual options, not the input voltage. :p

    Compare that BIOS to the GENE, IMPACT, FORMULA or EXTREME, and you'd understand better.
     
  6. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I guess I should join the club.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    Using your phase cooler?
     
  8. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    That was on Ln2. I may try the phase this weekend.
     
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,525 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,626
    Nice Metal :toast:
    Long time no see:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    Right, additional base voltage definitely did the trick. Although I used a bit different settings in the end.

    cpu offset voltage +0.020v
    turbo aditional 1.249v
    total adaptive 1.269v, or real 1.268v in windows.

    This makes max max core voltage 1.280v on all 4 cores, not bad.
    @ 1.278- 1.284v it makes core voltage 1.294v


    I was also able to lower cpu current back to 120%.

    cpuid 4.7ghz 1.269v.png

    Fritz 4.7ghz @ 1.269v.png

    lp2-fixed 4.7ghz@1.269v 120%.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
    cadaveca says thanks.
  11. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Overseas
    I think I got a junk chip, or my mobo sucks. It takes 1.3v for me to get 4.4Ghz stable on my 4770k...
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That is how my chip is. Then for 4.5 I have it at 1.34v.

    I want to try for 4.6, but I don't want to go higher then 1.35v, as I think Haswell degrades faster after 1.35v.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014
  13. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Still pretty good volts though. Temps would be better id assume as well.
     
  15. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Overseas
    Good for them, I suppose. Now, if only they'd done this in the first place.

    Watched a Tech Tips vid on 4770k OC'ing and he mentioned that populating all the dims can effect OC ability. I'd rather have my RAM than gain another 100mhz or so.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Didn't have any impact at all for me, really, running 4x4 GB @ 2666 MHz.
     
  17. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    965 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Location:
    Europa
    nah I have 4x4 gb kit and works flawless :), I even Oc'ed them from 2133 to 2400mhz, all this @ 4.7ghz and cache 4.2ghz.
    But for that I had to a little higher ram current % and higher vccsa offset voltage.


    edit: like Dave said

    yes 7C cooler on avg, that 4.7ghz @ 1.36v (H110) acts as mine now at 1.27v or even 4.6ghz @ 1.232v (H90 custom pp).

    Although this H90 cooler can't handle anything more then 1.3v+, goes ~80C+ in something like x264fhd or Cinebench15 or Fritzchessmark really quick.


    Worst case scenario now @ LP2 - fixed cpu test (jobthread=8), after its a bit warmer inside the case, still ok imo :)
    well this LP2 heats up like Cinebench15. Never seen it this high in games, usually max 62-65C, avg 45-55C.
    LP3.jpg

    nvm that weird 103mhz reading, guess its a pcie glitch
    Im using fixed 6Ohm dbl for 100mhz strap which makes fixed 100.029mhz pcie clock.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
  18. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Overseas
    Hmm, suppose that just further points to a shit 4770, lol. Stick with my 4.4 @ 1.295v. =[

    Guess I'll try eeking a couple hundred Mhz out of the ring frequency now.
     
  19. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Picked this up yesterday at my local Micro Center... P1040056.JPG i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz 3.PNG
     
    Jetster, TheHunter, HammerON and 2 others say thanks.
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,135
    I picked up a 4770K yesterday and notice core temp stops reading when I put the cpu under full load like Cinibench.

    Whats a good temp reader to use with these chips?

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca and TheHunter say thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I use AIDA64, myself. IT does lose reporting under some loads, but when this happens, most often all tools have paused.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  22. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I use RealTemp, CoreTemp , AIDA64 and sometimes HWmonitor.

    I haven't noticed CoreTemp doing that for me...

    I'm currently "crunching" Rosetta@home with CoreTemp 1.0 RC6 and it seems to be working and reading 100% load temps?
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  23. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,589 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    4.2Ghz @ 1.225v @ 51c 100% load
    I changed the paste between the die and heatspreader to coollaboratory liquid pro and I am using prolimatech pk-3 between the heatspreader and cold plate(h100) I must say I am satisfied

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I'd love to just run my chip naked with my EK block and their Ivy/Haswell naked mounting kit.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    DO IT. OR get the Z97 MSI board that comes with the bracket...

    although I suppose you'll still need the mount kit, eh? And will have to remove the socket bracket.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page