1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    No the reviewers claimed it wouldn't even post at 4.9GHZ much less 5. and Fullinfusion not only posted, but booted into windows and ran a benchmark successfully. Reviewers don't have chips long enough for 24/7 clock testing. If they were only able to hit 4.7 it might mean the 24/7 clocks of the chip were it's turbo speed and nothing more.

    seeing 24/7 400MHZ higher than turbo flies in the face of what they were claiming.

    At any rate I'm typing this from my i7 4790k rig right now. Ran a bench got 10580 in 3dmark 11. While that is 2000pts higher than my i7 950 and gtx 480 sli rig at stock, it's 1000pts lower than the max score. That will not do at all! Must get clocking.


    Batch number is L336D109
    anyone have a chip from that batch?
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    I like the ability to clock the shit outa this 4790K chip and have a good night of benching, plus the ability to run stock clocks at low volts :cool:

    My board just runs full turbo mode sense the last Asus bios update and that's fine with me.

    I'm working on 4.5GHz @1.12v under full stress. I can boot into windows @ 1.10v but it don't last to long.

    [​IMG]

    @yogurt_21 what clocks and voltages are you having luck with?
     
    yogurt_21 and Kursah say thanks.
  3. Holythief

    Holythief

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So while stress testing my OC (4.5ghz at 1.23v) both intel xtreme utility and AIDA 64 (im only keeping this open for monitoring) reprot that my clocks dropped however AIDA indicates no thermal throttling at all.

    Intel xtreme utility shows in the last hour it dropped ever so slightly from 4.5ghz to 4.47ghz

    [​IMG]

    Whereas AIDA shows multiple drops to base 3.4ghz

    [​IMG]

    Any one have any idea why ? Could it be just a visual anomaly ?
     
  4. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    737 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Overseas
    Typical fluctuations with CPU load? I've never seen any GPU or CPU stay 100% static.

    More curiously, is the base frequency of the Ring Cache 3.8Ghz now? Isn't the 4770k 3.9Ghz stock?
     
  5. Holythief

    Holythief

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah I see.

    Also I have a 4670k not a 4770k. Which may explain the ring bus speed.
     
  6. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    737 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Overseas
    Oh, I didn't notice. Thought you were working on a 4790k.
     
  7. Holythief

    Holythief

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, so after a 24 hour test, my 4670k is stable at 4.5 ghz at 1.24v.

    Now that's using fixed volts, i want to ask is there a way to run the cpu so that its not fixed at 1.24 and can drop alongside clocks when im idling or the pc is asleep ?

    If so can someone give me some info/instructions on how to do so because i really have no clue.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    @fullinfusion So your Z87 board does support Devils Canyon it seems?
     
  9. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    737 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Overseas
    You leave SpeedStep and all the other power saving features on.
     
  10. Holythief

    Holythief

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When i went to OC, i did not touch any of those settings, so shouldn't they be on by default ?

    Literally, all i did to achieve this OC, is set cores to sync across all cores at a 45 multiplier, and change voltage from adaptive to 1.24.

    All other settings remain stock/default.

    My cpu can still down clock while idling, however the voltage remains at a fixed 1.24v.
     
  11. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    737 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Overseas
    Ah. I can change my voltages while still leaving it on adaptive. There should be a setting in there, but I have an MSI board.
     
  12. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    981 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Europa
    use adaptive voltage @ 1.24v, but now dont stress test it anymore or it will have 0.08v overvoltage by avx2.

    131205023412.jpg

    also you can enable C-states and dynamic storage accelerator (Tiny Lake @ MSI mobo) so RST controls its C-states according to windows power plan.
    INTEL sotrage acelerator cstates.jpg

    Power saver uses C7
    Balanced uses C3
    High Performance C0


    Its takes some time at windows start before rst service loads it and changes properly, usually until windows loads Action Center.

    You can also manually force high performance gear regardless of windows power plan, then it will be at C0 all the time. But do use balanced so it drops its cpu VID to idle 0.72v while its in idle. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
    fullinfusion and Holythief say thanks.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    You betcha, this board loves the DC chip. My last post of 4.5ghz passed all night of stress with only 1.128v and 47-48c for Temp's.. I lucked out big time on this chip like big time and I must thank the big guy up north for it ;)

    Next test when I get home is testing 4.6-4.7 for lowest volts. I know 4.8 and 4.9ghz uses the stock bios volts of 1.25v so that test is done.
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I read that the first batch of chips weren't that great, but ones now have been quite a bit better. I want one.
     
  15. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    thus far is 4.6 with 1.14v. though that's the only tweaking I've done to the cpu this far. been too busy trying to get the gpu to surpass the 480 sli.

    Every bench I run shows the cpu to be faster than the gpu... not used to that at all.
     
  16. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    So my first ever Intel build (was an AMD for a long time)

    Finished her today and got her running on 4.6Ghz at v1.274 (which I hear isn't bad)

    - Asus Sabertooth Z97 mk1
    - Intel 4790k OC to 4.6ghz at 1.27v
    - Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 8.8.8.24 at 1.65
    - Corsair H100i in push/pull with 4xSP120 performance
    - Corsair 750D
    - Sapphire 7970 Vapor X 1100/1500
    - Samsung 840 pro 256Gb SSD
    - 2x 2Tb WD caviar blacks
    - XFX 850 pro black edition

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    A little problem I ran into today which had me pulling out my hair that I just want to share.

    It all started with me doing a secure erase on my ssd to prep it for a clean OS install.
    Everything went fine and was installing the drivers, when I went to install the gpu driver the system just froze :wtf:

    I just hit the reset button on the case and when she went to boot up I got SMART error in the bios splash screen and it wouldn't boot.
    Im like WTF is going on o_O

    Meanwhile the wife was in the room on our treadmill doing her workout and I had a plugged in small usb powered fan that I had going before the OS install
    It helps her to stay cool :rockout:

    Well I was plagued with more SMART disk drive problems. It was telling me my WD storage was fucked too! WTH!!!

    Bios was slow as hell and laggy, Now im really wondering wth is going on.

    It turns out that little bastard fan was causing all the problems!!

    Not to self and others, don't use usb powered fans lol
     
    cadaveca and Hellfire say thanks.
  18. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    565 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Yeah I came across this before years back, I had a Logitech USB webcamera, got a new PC build and the PC wouldn't boot if the webcam was plugged in. eventually I had to get a USB box with an on off switch.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  19. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    981 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Europa
    So I was looking at Asus OC guides again and stumbled upon few interesting settings, well I kinda knew them from before but never really payed attention to it,. Now that its summer I decided to take another look, I would like 4.7ghz to be as cold as possible :)


    http://rog.asus.com/254052013/maxim...ngs-for-overclocking-maximus-vi-motherboards/

    Here it mentions everything including PLL terminal voltage (still best at auto), power saving stuff, etc.


    I found this interesting for higher OC ie 4.6 - 4.7ghz+ and set it like mentioned in the article

    Power-In Regular
    Power-Out Fast
    Power decay - enabled so its now more power friendly in idle with both above manual.
    I tried VR efficiency management at - balanced but it throttled raw cpu power (similar throttling like PLL terminal @1.20v), at auto looks the best and switches between balanced and higher perf. when needed.

    [​IMG]
    [Imgur](http://i.imgur.com/Q5RTj84.jpg)


    So everything above made internal iVR a little cooler and affected cpu core °C, kinda like PLL terminal voltage (1.050v - 1.10v), but I decided to keep PLL termination @ auto it wasnt so stable in end, got few random mid-load bsod 0x124.. So anyway I ran 3dmark11 physics before up to core0 72C, now with both IN/OUT regular/fast and that Power decay -on its 66-68 °C with still a very good score for win8.1 (~12540) @ 4.7ghz 1.275v., LLC7 instead of auto (LLC8?)..

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    **LLC6 makes 75% which is "optimal" when using adaptive voltage, at least thats what I've read once.
    Screens taken with LLC6, <<testing this again.


    manual ram cause im not in xmp anymore, used auto xmp for almost all and disabled memory training
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    which got me this, mostly I was ~ 35.8gb/s, now nice 36gb/s :)
    [​IMG]




    Also this looks interesting, I always had this on by default

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?33488-Maximus-VI-Series-UEFI-Guide-for-Overclocking


    Anybody tested this Antisurge - disabled?
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    AntiSurge disables OCP readings by Super I/O that can cause immediate shutdown. Can be extremely useful to disable when pushing near the limit, but I wouldn't recommend for 24/7 to disable unless all you use your system for is benching.

    So, you push a clock, high clock, and system reboots...try increase current limits, and disable Anti Surge.

    Adjusting all the power settings you mention, as suggested by the info you linked, is for benching, not 24-7 use, IMHO. Like yeah, it can allow you to push higher clocks a bit more reliably, but you are overriding CPU/Platform behaviors that are there to make sure stuff doesn't blow up. I think you can find a few more things that will help you, too.
     
    fullinfusion and TheHunter say thanks.
  21. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    981 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Europa
    Thanks will keep it alone as it is enabled.

    Yeah I had such power off at first when I got this cpu and with various OC's, but usually higher vccin or higher cpu current % or higher LLC or higher cpuv fixed it.



    That power IN - regular and power OUT - fast, can use more power over time, but this power decay appears to eliminate any extra consumption while keeping it a little cooler..
    Will see if its worse in a few days or when I play some more stressful games, Cinebench15 appeared to be a little cooler too (2-3C) and with same CB score.


    EDIT: I already found out PLL termination is not good for tweaking like I thought at first, best still @ auto ^^

    Also need at least LLC7 with above settings & SVID 1.75V @ 4.7ghz 1.275v..



    What got my attention was mostly these parts

    "This option can be set to Regular for better O.C. margin just in case if the CPU load fluctuates too fast" <<< had this once either hard freeze or quick power off/restart,

    "receive the higher voltage with a relatively shorter delay, which essentially helps to improve the O.C."
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014
  22. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    981 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Europa
    But if there is 30-33C outside @ 7pm and sun shining inside the room with shades down, its not so cool

    now it idles 31-36C vs 24-28C yesterday night :D
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    This DC chip sure shines :D

    I wish I had some Faaaast memory to test out the memory controller on this chip.

    [​IMG]
     
    TheHunter says thanks.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I give you $500. :D

    [​IMG]

    Ive never actually used CineBench before. Downloading it right now, and going to try it out on my 4.5GHZ overclock.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Homo :laugh:,,, SOLD!!!

    Yeah its a fun rendering program... If shit isn't stable;e then you'll know soon enough.

    just ran X264 encode...

    @MxPhenom 216 post some Cinibench for a comparison please :rockout:
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page