1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by cadaveca, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Love RoG boards, as a test bench user I use almost all of the onboard switches.

    Can't wait to see your review on the MVIE Dave, do you happen to have the MVIFormula?
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No Formula, no Impact. Hope to receive both.


    UP and running:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    No OS yet, but still got time for minor ram clocks:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  4. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    I think I am going to buy the Asrock OC formula and play around with it. I love my MSI but I always wanted to buy the Asrock, too bad it never came out release day.
    Hey Dave did you do the memory testing as of yet, with different memory speeds and how Haswell performs with different speeds.
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :roll::roll:



    :shadedshu

    Just got OS installed, got to do drivers and board software, as well as testing apps, not going to be done any time soon. Lots of work benchmarking ahead for me.
     
  6. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Did you get ahold of the Asrock OC Formula?
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not as of yet, but I expect to, is in my schedule.:rockout: I have Fatal1ty Professional and Z87E-ITX so far.
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    What a waste of a mb no ln2 Dave :(
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Start paying for it, and I'll gladly do it. :laugh: Until then, it'll clock memory just fine on air. :p


    You are right though. Very interested to see if the Hero and Gene compare to the Maximus for mem clocking, actually. If one of the other two are just as good, I may switch.
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I was just busting your balls lol

    I might get some juice for Friday waiting to see how the week goes first

    And I still can't get mine to clock past 3000 was spoiled with the preset the asrock and rog mg have lol

    And plus mine is just a 2400kit but max I gotten was 3065 on ivy but haven't tried on the new bios

    Does it have a ln2 switch or mode on the mpower max ?
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've been over 3000, easy, that was with stock settings and voltage. Gotta play with subtimings and tWCL, maybe, haven't fired the Hero up yet. I don't use memory profiles, they never seem to work for me. Had the same on the GRYPHON, no profiles, 125 bclk with 2933 multi and more with upping the bus is no problem there.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,137 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,327
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Until I see your reviews on the Hero and the X-OC, I will not get anything Haswell.
     
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I'm lazy :p

    But played with superpi 32m today and uncore

    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca and HammerON say thanks.
  14. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Europa
    I found something when i Oc'ed ring bus L3 cache last night, temps would jump to crazy 82-88C in Aida64 stress test @ 44x and at auto ring voltage. Auto set to 1.28v (a lot), for example @ 42x set to 1.18v and got max 72C. I've now backed down to 42x and manually set to 1.15v.

    I think this is the only thing that makes these cpus so hot., to high cpu ring L3 cache multi & voltage, especially its voltage.



    I even managed to lower my cpuv a bit, now im at 1.14v for 4.4ghz and L3 ring at 42x 1.15v.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  15. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Europa
    Ok I experimented with OC a bit on L308B202

    Ring bus L3 multi at 42x and 1.15v
    4.4Ghz ~1.140v
    4.5Ghz ~1.165v
    4.6Ghz ~1.210v
    4.7Ghz ~1.260v (my limit ~80C on avg in Aida64stress)


    Anything more and I need better cooling, ie. push - pull fans at H90, atm only push fan at lower rpm.

    4.4Ghz Cinebench11.5: 9.69
    4.5Ghz Cinebench11.5: 9.89
    4.6Ghz Cinebench11.5: 10.06

    I forgot to test 4.7ghz :eek:,



    I think i'll settle with max 4.5ghz for now, its summer here and crazy hot with ambient 31C.
     
  16. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    225 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    @TheHunter:
    I've also noticed the same thing... and we are both running on a Z-87 Deluxe... CPU cache voltages can get bumped up quite a lot when running higher multi/uncore/dram speeds... I think I've seen up to ~1.4v being applied under some settings. I also prefer now to set it manually but I find it interesting to sometimes check and see what auto "rules" will default to for a particular overclock.

    @cadaveca:
    Do you know what the difference is between CPU Analog and Digital I/O? I wonder what the relationship is between the two settings? I guess these Haswell voltages correspond to Sandy/Ivy's old unified VccIO voltage? VTT?
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Arrived this morning:

    [​IMG]

    Yeah, is VTT broken down to individual parts. Before was PLL/core and VTT/VCCSA, now is VCCin/vCore/vCache(Ring) and VCCSA/DIO/AIO
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  18. Womper

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I ran Aida64 at the same settings PolRoger used a couple pages back. It's probably the best comparison I can get between my cooler and an AIO cooler, although he's running faster memory (which presumably increases temps some). I'm probably looking at a 10-15C improvement if I switch from my hsf to the h220.

    43_1151v.jpg

    44_1219v.jpg
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,137 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,327
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d :d
     
  20. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    is that my board....nice
     
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm interested to see what you think about the Extreme6 (I have the vanilla one of course). Just be warned, keep your speakers turned off unless you want to be surprised by space sounds (makes so much sense) at 100% volume unless other board makers are tacking on sounds in their UEFI as well. You're probably also going to hate how the UEFI lacks a lot of monitoring features and I find that v1.40 freezes up about half the times I go in to change my overclock. Other than that, it's an alright board IMO. :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,557 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,669
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    There's a 1.64.3 out there also to lazy to Google it haha

    Ready to go home and go to sleep 2hrs to go :(
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,137 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,327
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page