1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel HD4000 vs Mobility Radeon HD3650

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by hoax32, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Title says it all! :)
    I decided to get a nice cheap budget gaming laptop for traveling since I'm on the road
    (and in the air :laugh: ) a lot.
    I had to choose between the following systems:

    Unit 1: ThinkPad SL [$470]
    -----------------------
    CPU: i5 2.2GHz 3MB Dual Core
    GPU: Intel HD4000
    RAM: 4GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1333MHz
    HDD: 320GB 5400RPM SATA



    Unit 2: ThinkPad T500 [$400]
    -------------------------
    CPU: Core 2 Duo T9900 3.06GHz 6MB Dual Core
    GPU: ATI Mobility Radeon HD3650 GDDR3 256MB 128bit BUS
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600Mhz
    HDD: 128GB SanDisk SSD


    The Intel is one of the most powerful integrated chips out there and the HD3650 is a dedicated GDDR3 Chip that can be OC-ed easy [%20 with ease] without much Temp impact.
    The intel is more modern but the ATI sounds good too.
    Well the seller of the T500 made me a deal - $300!
    Couldn't resist!
    I choose the T500.

    Was that a good decision?
    I have a Core 2 Duo Extreme Edition that I might put into the T500.
    Whats the hd3650 capable of?

    How does the HD4000 compare to the HD3650?
    TY! :toast:
  2. Nauzhror New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I can't imagine either one gaming well, at all.

    My laptops video card scores ~13,000 on 3DMark06, paid ~$650 for the laptop two years ago, and looking to replace it now as it will only play new games on medium-ish settings.

    HD3650M scores 3,600ish by comparison on 3DMark06.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,331 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    HD3650 is better than HD4000 but neither should be purchased if the intent is to play video games. Get something with a dedicated VRAM.
    Aquinus and hoax32 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I played GTA 4 on a Quadro NVS 140m overlcoked with 2K in 3D mark 06 :laugh:
    As long as its better than that I can live! :D
    Just wanted to know how those 2 chips compare.

    Games I wanna play on it: Resident Evil 5, GTA 4, World of Tanks, BF3 [i ran BF3 800x600 all low ~35FPS on a Quadro NVS 140m which is about 1/2 as powerfull as a HD3650 - hope I can get reasonable frame rate at 1024x768 with the HD3650.


    EDIT:
    -------------------------------------------
    The HD3650 in the T500 has 256MB GDDR3
  5. Fizban

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    272 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Shelby Township, MI
    BF3 is quite demanding, no clue how you got that to play on the 140M, my 5870M won't max BF3, and it has 1 GB GDDR5. Doubt the 3650 will play it well, even on low settings.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  6. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    i will OC it by %15
    hope that will make a difference
  7. Pinscher

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    if you want a cheap gaming laptop, buy an APU(AMD's way of saying CPU with build in GPU) based A8 or A10.

    Their build in graphics core will preform significantly better then intell 4000 graphics as the gpu is based on RADEON graphics technologies

    You can even get an APU equipt laptop with discreet graphics and crossfire it with your APU for an additional 30% +- performance boost.

    AMD APU wins for budget gaming

    Edit: A8 and A10 are quad cores.... NICE
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2013
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    I would have to agree with Pinscher ^ here on this one.

    The new APU's are cheap and have good graphics.

    That been said i honestly have no idea how well even my current 1.7GHz APU would compare to those 2 laptops you have shown us, any ideas? even id like to know :)
  9. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Get laptop with AMD APU it would be cheap and fast.
  10. Pinscher

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Do you mean this apu?
    A6-3430MX
    HD 6520G
    2.4/1.7 ghz?

    It's hard to say since I've never payed attention to APU's that are not at the top of the heep, but I'd guess around hd 4000 graphics capabilities.
    well for a quick reference over at videocardbenchmark.net...the 6520g scores 489
    and HD 4000 scores 478



    okay, so to sum up this budget gamer, the AMD A10-4600 with HD 7660D (that is integrated graphics on the CPU) is a good way to go. you can also find laptops coupled with a deseret 6670 graphics for a crossfire set up.

    These combined would score you 1160 points in G3D mark which is approx 1/5 the power of modern high end graphics like GTX680 which costs like 400 bucks ;)

    The A10-4600 with integrated 7660D graphics scores 829 FYI...

    And A10 equipt laptop will cost you like 600 bucks though, not 400-500
    That's why i suggested an A8, last years top end APU
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,483 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I concur with everyone saying APU, got an A8 for my dad and runs a dream for him.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,955 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,925
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    What makes you say this? I have a HD 3650 in my Dell Studio 1735. It's not bad but I think claiming that it's faster than the HD4000 (which I also have in my Mac,) is a bit of a stretch and I've found them to be about on par, except the HD 4000 consumes less power. Also more often than not, if you're getting a laptop with an HD 3650 in it, you're getting a laptop with a C2D in it, not an i5 or i7 which is another good reason to not get that laptop.

    If you're not gaming go with the newer laptop, otherwise don't get a laptop and go with an APU instead. Mobile gaming can get expensive.

    I will say though that the HD 3650 Mobility chip overclocks like a bat outta hell. I usually can gain at least 25% from it back when I used it a lot. The wife uses it now (she loves the 1920x1200 display on a 17" screen) for mostly HD video.
  13. Pinscher

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    the hd4000 is 2x the GPU as 3650 and it will always be coupled with a bitter CPU. there is a lot to be said about that..
    search here.
    http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu_list.php

    So say we all
  14. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    The 3650M is a 5+ year old part. I had a laptop with one of those and really it was only good for casual gaming. It ran games like starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 but on medium low settings at 1280X800. It won't do at all for any even remotely demanding game.
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    :laugh: Naaa not that good, mine is the low low end for netbooks, the E2-1800. i can play Dota 2 on it and TF2 and KF and Torchlight 2 on medium settings :)
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,511 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    id get the best a10 apu laptop that fits your budget.
  17. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Thanks for all the replys.
    I got my hands on a Dell E6430 with an i5 and a HD4000(one of the faster chips)
    It gave me 4209 3D Mark 06 points vs 5029 on my %33 OCed HD3650.

    I have also upgraded my HD3650 laptop CPU to a T9900.
    I'm also a owner of a G585 with a E2-1800 and a HD7340.
    The E2-1800 CPU is a major bottleneck in that one.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,511 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    none of the things you are mentioningare in anyway suited for any kind of gaming.

    so yes. expect bottle necks in gaming.
  19. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I don't know about that. :)
    I run GTA 4 1024x768 high texture 35-60FPS and World of Tanks @ 1680x1050 Max Texture and Effects 30-70FPS.

    Also Left 4 Dead 2 and Call of Duty: MW 1680x1050 all MAX (including AA) 40+ FPS

    Im gonna say this again - There are people out there who don't need all the eye candy.
    I'm just trying to get the most out of this great (but old) GPU because I believe that graphics detail level is not everything - I do want to enjoy nice graphics but I want to enjoy the game itself even more. I love running modern games on older hardware. Infact gaming on this thinkpad is more enjoyable than on my gaming rig. It's the feeling of satisfaction. :D
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2013
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    I would have to agree the E2-1800 CPU is a bottleneck, but does OK. But when it comes to netbooks its basically the best one you can get for graphics wise as its meant to take on the Atoms and destroys them. :D
    hoax32 says thanks.
  21. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    DEFENETLY!
    I made a post about it a while back.
    Ran Resident Evil 5 maxed out 20+ FPS
    Melvis says thanks.
  22. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Link me? :D
  23. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    yes yes i am lol :p

    Edit: I forgot to say with my Lenovo x131e what also makes the system seem so slow is the amount of CRAP ware that is installed. At idle its using like 80-90 processors which is way over IMHO.

    Once I format it and get rid of all that crap and install a SSD the little beast will speed up quite a lot I think? :)
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  25. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Great video by the way, im surprised the system ran that game at those settings, impressive.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page