1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K and i7-3770K Comparison

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by FireKillerGR, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. Krneki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you want to have a high end gaming ring you change video cards every year, but you don't do the same for the CPU. So when you buy one you want to be sure you get the most power for your money. So this is why it's important to review a CPU on lower resolution or triple SLI setups, so you have a clear idea about the CPU power you are going to buy.
     
  2. chinmi

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Indonesia
    change vga every year ?? wow... that's kinda expensive, lol... but you got a point there, especially if the new type of vga type has a new directx support...

    my old i5 750 from 2009, and my old 6990 from 2011 thankfully still adequate to play all the current games at their max settings (except crysis series, lol)
     
  3. winniethepujols New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've been looking a lot into i5 and i7's lately, and I'd like to point out of the following: as I write this, NewEgg sells the i5 for $219. Microcenter has had the i7 on sale for 2+ months now at $229. At $10, it's a no-brainer.

    The catch is that Microcenter.com will not ship the processor -- the deal requires you to pick it up in a store, and they only have a limited number of locations.

    Hopefully this helps someone that is on the fence and has a Microcenter near them!

    EDIT: wait, I guess they have the i5 on sale for $169 too! I guess this is still helpful info, but what I said above is not necessarily valid anymore.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,999 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Nice review and thanks...

    I would like see Arma 3 tested..
     
    Proph3t and FireKillerGR say thanks.
  5. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I got my I5 at Microcenter for $189 and the reason I didn't get the I7 was because Microcenter had $50 off any compatible mobo with a 3570 or a 3225...(its $40 off now)
    I was able to get my MSI z77A G45 and the I5 3570 for $250 after tax....they do not have the same deal for I7....Those of that live close to a Microcenter look at the prices at places like Newegg and are like pfffft....Why so much?

    The upgrade I did only cost me $550 total because of Microcenter...Newegg prices for the same stuff was $780...My SSD's cost $90 each at Microcenter...they are $105 at newegg

    Yeah the list goes on and on...I feel blessed to live close to a Microcenter...
     
  6. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,251 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    This one was from Tom's Hardware, they used Skyrim and F1, for CPU testing:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    966 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Europa
    - X3 Terran Conflict (for single threaded perf.)
    - Resident Evil5 fixed benchmark
    - Resident Evil6 benchmark
    - LostPlanet2 fixed benchmark (2-4xaa)
    - Final Fantasy XIV benchmark
    - 3dmark06 cpu test
    - Crysis1 benchmark (mostly single threaded perf., 2-4xaa)
    - GTA4 benchmark (medium/high shadows so its not gpu bottlenecked)

    :toast:
     
    FireKillerGR says thanks.
  8. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    How is adding 2-4x AA would help in any way?
    IIrc, I found Lostplanet2 to be quite GPU bound, at least that was the case with the early versions I tried.

    Anyway, many recommended online games here like 64 slot Bf3 servers. I don't think those could be usable in performance tests, but if they would do, online Planetside2 and Natural selection2 would also fit into that category.
     
  9. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    966 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Europa
    I mean use only max 2-4xaa (preferably no aa) or there would be to much of a gpu bottleneck @1080p. LP2 fixed benchmark (test2) is cpu bound.
     
    Ikaruga says thanks.
  10. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Damn, I have the 3570k Malay, and yes, it runs hot, and no, it doesn't want to go past 4.5 GHz.
     
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,999 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    I think ya right, be better with Arma 3 how ever that's if they sorted out the random FPS you can get. Results can be crazy from Arma 2.

    BUT as a CPU test well it demands a lot of it but it's a shame they still don't use the threads :(..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page