1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Launches Core 2 Duo E8700

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Intel has launched a new flagship dual-core processor under its Core 2 Duo series: the E8700. As the number suggests, the new chip will have its FSB multiplier value increased by 0.5x. Based on the Wolfdale core, the new model has already made it to Intel's ARK information system on its official webpage (found here).

    The new chip comes with a clock-speed of 3.50 GHz, with an FSB of 1,333 MHz. The FSB multiplier value on this chip is 10.5, which gives it a 167 MHz increment over the E8600. Despite the high clock speed, it continues to hold a rated TDP of 65W. It features 6 MB of L2 cache and supports all features listed for the Core 2 Duo E8000 series processors. Intel claims that the chip will be available from its end for at least the next two years. It is yet to be listed by popular computer hardware stores, so we could know its availability and pricing. In most likelihood, it could displace the E8600 from its price-point, looking at the way Intel has been dealing with its lineup lately.
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Where's the extreme dualies? I think an extreme edition X8800 would OC amazingly well.
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    Intel 65W = Real 95W :wtf:
  4. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It seems intel are adding a higher model to the E8000 range every few months. I suppose if they keep saving up those high bin parts , then a X8800 could be a real possibility
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    5GHz 24/7 would be nice
  6. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    may get one, or a 8600 if it lowers the price! wanna get at least 4,5gigz 24/7!
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    if this brings prices of 8400's down ill consider snapping one up for some 4Ghz+ goodness :D
  8. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, price drop for E8400 is way overdue. It's intact gone UP (at least here in Finland). Last summer it was way cheaper, now it's almost the same as on launch.. Well very nice for those who bought on long ago or cheap.
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    for the cost of an 8400 - 8600 you can go i7 here in the UK :ohwell:
  10. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    Phenom = 140w tdp.
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    whats that for?
  12. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton

    Yes, so true. I bought my E8400 this summer it was much cheaper than now, well euro went up too in value (for non euro using countries it's an issue) so that might have contributed as well.

    I'm realy thinking of selling it now for exactly what I bought it for. If I manage to sell it it would be the perfect transition to a i7, not losing a cent.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i might have to get one of these.

    5ghz on air is very possible.
  14. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Since the E8600 is around $270 I bet it will cost ~$275. Thats $45 more than I paid for a Core i7 920.
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Meh, QX6700 is doing just fine.:), Its my graphics im worried about.(once i get job, going for dat XFX GTX 260 BE:))
  16. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    Possible yes but doesnt it degrade the CPU having above say 4,5Ghz?

    I know that voltage is the main issue with degradation, but if it's such a good oc'er why dont they release it 4Ghz stock? (with a high multiplier of course)

    Edit: I run my 8400 at 3.6Ghz because i consider it a safe oc so far... but neither of us is a CPU engineer to know how the high frequency affects it's every little nook and cranny,... must keep in mind that CPU's are extremely complex and the more variables there are... domino effect comes to mind.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'll have it running under COLD so no problems for me.

    it should do 5ghz ~ 1.45v
  18. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    939 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Woohooo!

    I smell another mhz war coming up. :) It was waay overdue for a 3.5 Ghz chip to appear...
  19. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Time to save up and buy this one when it comes out. gonna push it as high it can go on air
  20. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    will it be worth an upgrade from my 8500 paied 100$?
  21. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    thats exactly my thoughts. Though Intel doesnt really need to up the Mhz, this e8700 is a marketing stunt, i mean this chip will cost as much as a Core i7 920 or more. Its AMD who needs to up the Mhz since their current acrhitecture (Deneb) is barely on par with Core2 45nm. Its funny how things turned around though. AMD used to have a superior arch and achieved results at a lower clock speed than Intel. I find this very ironic.

    But what i do want to know is what stepping will this chip be using, E0? Or Intel is gonna come up with another one that overclocks even better?
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Not really, a OCed E8500 is bascially the same as the E8600 OR E8700, same cache and what not.
  23. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    I dont have a problem with the E8600 @ 4.5Ghz 24/7 (aircooled). Its been past the 4.5Ghz mark but then it starts to give me issues in some games.

    I think there is a CPU engineer somewhere amongst us, and even thou its not me, i do know that im not going to back it off 4.5Ghz. If the CPU dies, it died in battle :)
    If i still had my Q6600, i would stick with it untill the next phase of CPU's, and upgrade something else like a graphics card of some decent ram.

    Street Fighter IV @ 3000+ fps ftw. . .
  24. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    Speaking from experience, the higher end chips dont overclock as well(i.e. QX9650 overclocks better then QX9770) I've taken my E8500 up to 4.5ghz stable but I run a quad. I'd get a E8400 or E8500 and splurge on cooling and mobo, and a PSU and 4.5ghz 24/7 is possible with a few hours of tweaking.
  25. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    yeah, that true, but my 8500 is quite stupid, and its C0. E0s overclock much much better. I'm waiting for some serious watercooling for a bit more overclock. Now i'm @3700. the problem is that all temp sensors are stuck :shadedshu, and i really dont wanna kill my chip due to high temps.
    is it possible to put a temp sensor under the socket like it was with the glorious socket A (if i remember correctly)?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page