1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Making TRIM on RAID Possible?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,256 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The TRIM command feature has become an industry standard for internal garbage collection on SSDs. Unlike with magnetic storage devices such as hard drives, in NAND flash storage devices, new data can't simply be overwritten on existing deleted data (like overwriting on cassette tapes), instead NAND flash cells are first put through erase cycles, and then fresh data is written on them. This leads to degradation of performance in SSDs, as all deleted data will be put through erase cycles. The TRIM command allows the drive to tag freshly deleted data for disposal, and then erase flash memory occupied by that data when idling, and dynamically allocating erased cells for fresh data. This dramatically reduces write performance degradation of SSDs. Unfortunately, issuing TRIM commands to SSDs that are part of a RAID volume is so far not possible, because the RAID volume acts as a sort of an abstraction layer between the OS and physical disks. Some low-level data about member disks can still be read by diagnostic tools, but that's about it.

    If the Release Notes document of Intel Rapid Storage Technology (RST) driver 11.5.0.1109 Alpha (read here) is to be believed, Intel plans to bring TRIM support to RAID 0 volumes with a future version of RST. Snooping through the document, one can find the following line:
    Source: StorageReview
    Mussels, f22a4bandit, Bundy and 3 others say thanks.
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,304 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,545
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Interesting... Thanks BTA.:)
    This, if done, may open up other possibilities.
    Waiting to see results from this.
  3. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    wow great find!
  4. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    259 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    Yay, so no longer a question of IF but of WHEN.
  5. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    This is the good news, thanks.
  6. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    501 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    awesome news
  7. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
    About time....
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Now if they would only allow the use of port multipliers.
  9. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Can't you just use a defrag app for trim, though?
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,469 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,209
    Only if you want to kill or shorten the lifespan significantly of your SSD
  11. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I mean using the app to enable trim. But I just looked it up and it does not work when on a raid controller. Looks like everyone dropped the ball when they developed TRIM. It's not like raids are anything new.
  12. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    No, it's nothing new. But that is not the problem.

    The problem lies in the way RAID works: it is transparent to the OS. For the OS the RAID array is just an I/O address space. Data gets sent or requested to and from those addresses. The RAID controller then splits, mirrors, calculates parity info, or whatever is needed to move the data from and to the individual disks. But the OS is not directly connected to this process, it does not "see" the disks directly, only the array. This way the OS is not even aware, that TRIM capable devices are present. And there has been no easy and reliable way to pass the TRIM command over the RAID controller.

    Though it seems that Intel has come up with a way to do just that.:respect:
  13. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,314 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Hmmm...sounds interesting, and correct me if I am wrong, BUT RST ony works on Intel chips and drives.....

    You can still use the manual way with tools like as-cleaner...but of course native support for all would be better.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,469 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,209
    Wrong. You dont need an intel drive to use RST, you do however require a Z68 Chipset. Any SSD will do. your performance gain is based on how good the SSD is
    VulkanBros says thanks.
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,256 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Semi-wrong. RST supports any recent Intel ICH#R southbridge or PCH.
    tigger says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page