1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Nehalem to Allow Overclocking

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Credible information coming from TG Daily suggest that rumors about Intel preventing users from overclocking their next generation Nehalem platform are false. Instead, Intel is going to promote overclocking with Nehalem. Of course, there will be some challanges related to the integrated DDR3 memory controller used in the Bloomfield processors part of the new platform, but this won't stop Intel from making Nehalem overclockable.
    Only time will tell, and this time will come as soon as the first Bloomfield 8 core (16 threads) processors and motherboards for them start to surface in Q4'08. Intel is also rumored to be preparing to replace their Skulltrail gaming platform with a new one that will be based on the Nehalem platform.

    Source: TG Daily
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hopefully Skulltrail2 wont use server ram. That was stupid on Intel's part.
     
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well whats in it for me?, I dont OC.
     
  4. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    A faster chip than the core 2s. Why don't you oc?:confused:
     
  5. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Well, you should. =P

    I was actually scared of fryin my CPU, but modern CPUs will just shut off (usually) if they get too hot or near the frying point, so I gave it a try and I will never run a CPU at stock speeds again. =)
     
  6. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Some people just don't like to OC.
     
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, if you don't need to you don't need to. Lord knows it helps quite a bit in benchies. Many chips are fast enough at stock they don't really need to be ocd, but it still gets performance gains. And your e4400 CD_Dude could gain quite a bit w/ some oc.
     
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I find no need in getting the best performance out of the chips. I would rather just upgrade it.
     
  9. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Ha, I told myself I wouldn't OC my 9550. That lasted about a week.
     
  10. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, whatever floats your boat I guess. :ohwell:. But yeah these will be much quicker at stock clocks than the core 2s, so you got that to look forward to. :)
     
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I get that alot, people always wonder why i keep my CPU at stock. But i just what to play my games at a decent frame rate and just enjoy it. I dont benchmark ether.
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's much cheaper to overclock than it is to upgrade. lol. Ocing is as cheap as it gets. Can't beat free.
     
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    What chipset does the Nehalems use?
     
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Some new ones. The x58 will be in there, 850 and 880i maybe from nvidia. Its a new socket and architecture though so completely different chipsets.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Completely new. Even new sockets. The mobos aren't out yet.

    EDIT: Farlex beat me to it. lol.
     
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I hope they are decently price. I will try to get a good chipset for it. But since i dont have any cash i may not get it till around college time or a little bit before hand. Geez, PC hardware moves fast.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Thing is, if you really don't want to ever OC, just buy the cheapest board that has the features you need. There's absolutely no need for you to buy a top end mobo, as they're geared towards OCers, and likely a waste of money for you.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    There was a report the other day from Intel saying their supporting OCing but voids the warranty. I would assume it was carrying over to this as well.
     
  19. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I hope this nehalem platform overclocks like crazy, though from what i've read in another thread it won't be a big leap from Core 2 in terms of general peformance. i only wish AMD will have something competitive as well.
     
  20. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Supposed to be between 20-50% faster on a clock for clock basis.... i would say thats a pretty impressive increase. I figure i'll wait until the 32nm chips come out and see how those go.
     
  21. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    if you dont like to overclock, or arent bothered asbout overclocking, then you dont have to worry about what architecture or mobo, just buy one that works.... or get a dell ;)

    to be honest the parts availible today, almost everything is overclockable.... almost everything is high performance and can be operated above it rated speed....

    I would say that not overclocking is a good thing if you dont have the know how... or the money if something goes wrong... but to be honest its easy to get into, and if youre not dumb you should be fine and gain massive rewards from mid range equipment.
     
  22. SpookyWillow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    378 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    i dont get this, there was a news item just the other day saying how intel was working with mobo makers to figure out the so called fsb wall to help the overclockers get more.

    the next day i see posts everywhere saying intel is stopping overclocking on all but the most expensive chips and now its back to to intel helping again.

    :confused:

    edit; here it is http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=62039
     
  23. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Its been announced before... The new CPUs/chipsets wont have an FSB wall anymore! Woot cakes for all! :).

    Intel stated the obvious though... warranty gone if you OC. Wasn't that always the case? Intel can check if the CPU has been OC'ed atm, so...
     
  24. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    yeah, if if ur not gonna acctualy push the system just get a dell/gateway/hp, why buy high end stuff if ur not gonna use it for its intended perpous :)
     
  25. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i heard that it would a 25% increase, pretty good no doubt, but was hoping to see more than that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page