1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Pentium E2000 Family

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Intel has cancelled Pentium E1000(Conroe-L) previously planned as single-core processors with 1MB L2 cache and 800MHz FSB. Instead, a new dual core Pentium E2000 family is introduced, enlarging the popularity of dual core processors. According to the latest roadmap from Intel, Pentium E2000 is based on native L2 stepping 2MB Conroe core, where 1MB of the L2 cached is disabled. The E2000 family will be available in Q307 including E2140 (1.6GHz/1MB L2/800MHz FSB) and E2160 (1.8GHz/1MB L2/800MHz FSB). All processors will support Enhanced Intel SpeedStep (EIST), Intel 64 (I64) and Execute Disable Bit (XD Bit) just like Core 2 Duo. However, Intel Virtualization (VT), ViiV and vPRO will be excluded. Intel expects Pentium E2000 will share 18% of the total shipment when launched.

    [​IMG]

    Source: HKEPC
     
  2. Oo_Skyline_oO New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    90 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    OC
    Price????

    I say the price will be 95/125 anyone agree??
     
  3. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I thought they were going to drop the Pentium name altogether? Must be wrong...
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,463 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,401
    It is a Celeron, just call it that and be done with it Intel.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Lol for some odd reason I bet it would perform even close to one.
     
  6. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I don't intend to buy budget CPUs. The way I see it is once I have a CPU I have it for 2-3 years, so I might as well get a reasonable one. They're good for businesses buying lots of PCs or someone not wanting a PC for gaming, but for gamers they don't tend to be a favourable option, not saying that no gamers use them.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    it may take the celerons spot on the line up but in know way is it a celeron it has a 1mb l2 cache and a 800mhz fsb celeron 128/256k cache and 533mhz fsb see a diff
     
  8. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Yeah intel supposedly said before that they are through with and tired of using the name pentium.
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,330 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Odd decision by Intel... to disable 1MB of cache, since 1MB cache uses more transistors and silicon real-estate than the CPU itself!

    Unless they are using DEFECTIVE cache CPUs, then I think from a POWER PERSPECTIVE (AMPS), and a performance perspective (Benchmarks of typical XP/Vista "use"), it would make sense to:

    1./ Target ultraportable, low power device
    2./ Keep the cache at 2MB
    3./ DOWNCLOCK the Mhz and FSB of the CPU, thereby reducing power and making it compatible with cheaper and more power efficient 667 memory.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,463 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,401
    The difference between the Celeron and the full blown model has always been a lowering of the cache and lowering the FSB one notch.

    Pentium 4=533MHz FSB 512K cache
    Celeron based off those processors=400MHz FSB 128K cache

    Pentium 4=800MHz FSB 1MB cache
    Celeron based off those processors=533MHz FSB 256KB cache

    Pentium 4=800MHz FSB 2MB cache
    Celeron based off those procesors=533MHz FSB 512K cache

    Core 2 Duos=1066MHz FSB 2MB/4MB cache
    Celeron based off those processors=800MHz FSB 1MB cache

    See the similarities? A Celeron doesn't alwasy have to have 128/256k cache and a 533MHz FSB. As the high end products advance the low end products will also advance. You can't expect the Celerons to always keep the same specs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,981 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Yup, those are the new Celerons I think :)
     
  12. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Blah these things wont be crap like Celerons. So I believe they are heavily modded core 2 duos. I bet these things end up owning the x2 3800.
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,463 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,401
    The Celerons were just modded Pentium 4s, which were also at one time the best of the best, that doesn't make the celerons based of them any less "crappy" to some people.

    Though the Celeron Ds were actually very capable processors, especially for the price, and especially if you are into processors that can do 1GHz overclocks on stock cooling and stock voltages...

    In fact I had a Celeron D 336 in a machine that I overclocked to 3.8GHz and put a 7900GT in(temporary machine while my main gaming machine was being repaired, see sig). It had no problem playing every game I wanted on max settings, and scored a 4310 in 3DMark06(my main machine scores a 5720 with a single 7900GT). People really do underestimate what these processors are capable of. Not bad for a $55 processor, I don't think there are a lot of people that expect to play games on max settings using a $55 processor. And I am not talking about the standard FPS that depends on the GPU almost entirely. I am talking Company of Hereos, a very CPU bound game(and the frame rate showed the performance hit from the Celeron, but it only really cut the framerate in half. It still stayed over 20FPS almost constantly, which is completely playable for that game).

    On the other hand you have the Celeron M, which showed that clock for clock they performed the same as the A64s, and used less power...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    its true hey what do you think a celeron d 341 can do on an ecs p4m800 mobo with a pentium d 930 cooler(it is for my sister)
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,463 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,401
    Probably about the same or even higher, the board I used to get to 3.8GHz with the 336 was just the ASUS P5RD2-VM. The only overclocking feature it has is adjusting the FSB.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Demon_82

    Demon_82

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually when the Pentium E1000 series was announced, the ones changed now for the Pentium E2000 (differency: just 1000 more in the serial number and the second core enabled), also a Celeron D400 series was announced, with even worst specs... it's still on the roadmap?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page