1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Pentium E6700 Clocked at 3.43 GHz Surfaces

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel has yet another high-value dual-core processor in the making, this one probably specific to the Chinese market again (following Pentium E6500K). While the new Pentium Dual Core E6700 does not come with an unlocked bus multiplier, it does come with its bus multiplier two notches higher, at 13.0x. With its bus speed of 266 MHz, it manages a stock clock speed of 3.46 GHz. Based on the 45 nm Wolfdale-2M core, the chip has an L2 cache of 2 MB and FSB of 1066 MHz. Coolaler used an engineering sample achieve an overclocking feat of 5.93 GHz (456.4 MHz x 13 @ 2.016 V) on a fairly mainstream Gigabyte GA-EP45 UD3L motherboard with 4.00 GB DDR2 memory (validation here). There is no information on its availability or pricing. Details on the various tests performed on the chip can be viewed at the Coolaler thread linked below.

    [​IMG]

    Sources: INPAI, Coolaler
     
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i see you covered for my comment this time.

    :laugh:
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Uh what?

    Let me guess: Will it be available in the US? Maybe, because it's not a "K" variant, and at 3.43 GHz, could be around in 2010 when Intel is also planning 3.3+ GHz Celeron parts.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    that right there keeps me from complaining that it wont be available to usa ppls

    looks to be a very nice chip though.
     
  5. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,654 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    2 MB cache makes these fail. It's not even worth messing with.
    Plus the V lol. These really are intel's bottom barrel parts. I would throw these in the trash if that V is correct.
     
  6. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    That is a resonable voltage for 6 GHz... I don't see what you are complaining about.
     
    aCid888* says thanks.
  7. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I was thinking the same... :toast:
     
  8. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,654 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    B/c I wouldn't be able to keep it cool haha
     
  9. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Just make a WC loop and quit complaining. Don't expect extreme if you don't have the cooling for it. :laugh:

    I am not trying to offend by the way. ;)
     
  10. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    LCing is never going to get you those clocks. Your are going to need good phase/ dice/ ln2 to get anywhere near those clocks.
     
  11. indybird

    indybird New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Wait just a second I could never get my old E6700 to 6Ghz....;):laugh::roll:

    -Indybird
     
  12. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    nah he was complasining about it possibly only being available in china which means us americans=screwed
     
  13. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    957 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Ya, only in China? OMG intel is racists?
     
  14. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    more names from the core 2 duo E6000 series of cpus. bound to confuse people. :D
     
  15. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Not screwed. Its not like its high end. Its a "value" chip anyway. It only has two cores and its on LGA775. That makes it about "value" IMO.

    Screwed would be Europeans if Intel pulled out of the EU due to the stupid EU sucking Intel dry to pay their own salaries. It would hurt Intel too but it would show them they can't fuck with just anybody. :laugh:
     
    Nick89 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page