1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel q6600 go temp help please

Discussion in 'RealTemp' started by Sxx, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Hello guys and ladies.
    This is my first ever pc { sad i know } i got it for my 16th birthday,

    i was running the stock cooler that came with my q6600, then my dad bought me a akasa AK 955 HEAt sink and fan...

    my friend in school gave me this program because before i was having trouble freezing then when i got my new cooler it was great now, but when he saw my temps he said my chip is to hot. I am scared to play games on it for more than 30minutes. I have not overclocked my chip and plan not to.. he said my tjmax i should set at 110 ???...............

    please help me please :respect::respect::respect::respect::respect:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Temps look fine.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  3. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    :respect::respect:

    so i am safe to play games then. ????

    do i have to set mt tjmax to 110 to be safe please

    thank you benjamin
     
  4. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    TJmax is the hottest your cpu will get before it starts to throttle itself or is damaged. You can't set your TJmax it's a set value. My max temperature for a q6600 is 80degree's even though the TJMax is 110 degrees.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Those temps are fine. The q6600 can run up to 71.6 degrees celcius, so roughly 72 degrees. Even then i've ran mine plenty above that, in the 80's when i was seeing how far i could overclock. TJmax value really isn't that important, its just used by an application to tell you how far you are from reaching your limits, but the q6600's should be 100 according to the author of the application "Realtemp".
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  6. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    [​IMG]

    thank you all for your replys.

    i never knew anything it was just my friend telling my dad my pc is getting to hot and i shouldn`t use it... i am only allowed to keep it on for 30minutes then he makes me turn it off,

    Thank you benjamin
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Nah it's definately fine at those temps.
     
    Sxx and neoreif say thanks.
  8. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    thank you all when my dad gets in i will make him read all your replys and maybe he will let me use it more thank you soo much my friend is a idiot now ^.^
    i also noticed why does sometime each number on the cores are different??

    what is a good cooler not expensive one remember i only do a paper round and get £15 a week..
     
  9. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    your friend is probly going by the old rule of thumb, "keep your CPU under 60 degree". which there's nothing wrong with that but there's no reason to turn off your computer when your around that area lol. most enthusiasts quit using that rule once Intel started releasing specific details for their CPU's. I personally "like to keep a CPU under 60 degrees" but if it goes over its no reason to panic.

    Click this and show your dad if he argue's with you about it. its the official Intel Specification's for your q6600 and its limits.
     
    Sxx and neoreif say thanks.
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    save up and try get something like a thermalright Ultra 120 extreme. I had that for my Q6600 and it was amazing.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Jesus Dr. Pepper, lol don't break his bank, he's only on stock remember. Xigmatek s1283 is fine for my q6600@ 3.4ghz, 1.39v. and its a good bit cheaper than a TRUE, though not quite as good, but most def good enough for stock clocks. Plus it'll be good enough incase he decides to overclock in the future, but won't break the bank for nothing if he doesn't.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I guess since he isn't oc'ing then that might have been a bit extreme. I remember I got mine for £25 though not sure how much they cost now.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  13. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    get a coolermaster 212 plus, should be cheap.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  14. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Xigmatek's Dark Knight S1283

    my dad purchased it for me online i have to pay him off £6 a week ^.^

    we bought it new for £22 and £2 postage..

    and thank you all for all your help i now can play as much as i want to now ^.^

    i`m really excited about getting this cooler now

    my motherboard is asus p5q deluxe hope it fits it well and we have a antec 900 case.. will out power supply tagan 1000w be enough still we have 2x 4870x2, 8gig corsair ddr2 ram, 128gb ssd hdd
     
  15. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Hello Guys

    we bought this thermal paste this morning is it ok to use with our black knight hdt1283

    Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Paste Non Silver formula 4g
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,678 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    MX-2 is a good paste! you shouldn't have any issues
     
    Sxx and neoreif say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Yup! MX-2 is a good thermal paste to apply! Would keep your temps low with that Xigmatek cooler! Just remember to seat the cooler properly and spread the paste evenly and your good to go!:toast:

    BTW, hang around the forum and I guarantee you that you'd learn more than Temps, paste and coolers! Welcome to TPU too!:)
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  18. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Thank you all ever so much, i will stay around.. might not post alot because i don`t know really anything about computers liek you guys... i am good with bmx`s though :nutkick::nutkick::nutkick:

    thank you once again benjamin
     
  19. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    [​IMG]

    Here is my results with that xigmatek 1283v black knight,

    Me and my dad had lots of fun installing this it was funny.. he got a black eye now the xigmatek fell of the desk while he was unplugging the pc and hit him in the face :banghead::banghead::banghead:

    well installed now are these temps alot better now

    benjamin
     
  20. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    Looking good ...now run a bench test like 3Dmark vantage and see what your temps are under load.:toast:
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    dude i have a Q6600 @ 3000MHZ with akasa AK-965 Heatsink im getting around 48 degrees using MX-2 paste and have using OCCT for 40mins never goes above 48C. try dropping your voltage, as my brothers Q6600 with the same setup had a CPU voltage of 1.18V which allowed it to run at 40C full load, with less voltage less heat is produced, at the cost of stability as you are not interested in overclocking this should not matter,just a case of lowering it to 1.2V or 1.22V to lower your temps more, your temps werent really worrying to begin with.
     
    Sxx says thanks.
  22. Sxx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    [​IMG]

    temps while running 3dmark vantage



    [​IMG]

    temps running prime95 small fft.

    plus i have overclocked my cpu now it is 3.0mhzs i read it on here how to do it :rockout:

    Thank you all ever so much and my dad calum said thank you also

    for taking the time to help me thank you
     
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Nice temps. welcome to TPU. If you stick around you will be dreaming of a i7 980x@4+ghz and Watercooling along with watercooled 5970's :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sxx says thanks.
  25. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    no problem, this is what TPU's all about. Learning, teaching, and helping others with technology :toast:. And as POSpc said, stick around, there's tons to learn here and we're a very friendly community as you've noticed :)
     
    Sxx says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page