1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel q6600 or e8400? =\

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by warup89, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    Im in the market for a new CPU, and i was really looking forward to get the Q6600, then i saw that the new e8400 came out and ppl were even selling their current q6600 to get e8400. I wondered if i should just get the 8400, but i started to think and aksed myself "isnt the q6600 more future proof?", because right now i know only some applications uses the the 4 cores and that in the future the support will get better. Also is the performance of the e8400 noticeable higher than the q6600?
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Almost a year ago, people said that the Q6600 was future proof. However, to date there are still few games that use 4 cores. Also, there are better CPU(s) out at a cheaper price point. With 2 core CPUs being as fast/faster then a q6600 (such as the E8400/E8500) it really makes no sense to get a lower clocked 4-core cpu vs. higher clocked 2-core cpu/ Heck, the E8400 is cheaper. Also, I was told that windows preforms more sluggish with a q6600 then with a E6850. Take a look at the E6850 vs Q6600 and tell me what you see. If a E6850 can do that, then you can expect a little boost using less power with a E8400 at a lower price point.
     
  3. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    id go for the 8400 more cache and less cost and more initial speed+ good OCability = WIN!

    :toast:
     
  4. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    +1

    PS: intel_igent, your avatar crack me up every time.
     
  5. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    ive got a q6600 and its a great cpu untill a mobo bios flash killed it (yes a bios flash) so im going to replace it with a e8400, the only thing you need to consider when choosing between a e8400 and a q6600 is, are the apps you are using designed to use a quad effeciently, if not get the e8400
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    e8400 for sure. The Q6600 isnt even native quad afaik
     
  7. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Doesn't even matter if it isn't "native quad". The Q6600 proved to be one of the best quads out there, still faster than the phenom counterpart. However, that aside, I think you should definitely get an E8400.
     
  8. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    unless your going to be doing something like rendering, go for the e8400
     
  9. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Agreed, Overclocked @4.2~4.4Ghz those Two cores come awefully close to the Quadcore!

    Also Overclocking with the DC's is far easier and alot less hassle
     
  10. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    if you really wanted to go quad, get the e8400, then once intels new lineup of quads go down in price, sell the e8400, dont get me wrong the q6600 is a great chip, its just most game and apps cant utilize all the cores, and right now the e8400 will be much better for current gen games and apps, not to mention you can oc the hell out of those/with proper cooling of course.
     
  11. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    e8400. i only have the Q6600 cause i got one for free (new). if i was going to guy a new cpu i would get a faster duel-core.
     
  12. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    True but im not really looking for "current", im opting for 1-3 yrs without upgrading, I saw that a new Intel Lineup of quads is coming out next month which it was gonna be the time i was gonna purchase the CPU since im still saving. So im gonna only try to spend less than 300$ on the cpu.
     
  13. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    then the e8400 is your choice, because the new quads are going to be "pricey" the e8400 should be fine for a while especially if you oc

    "pricey"= your left nut
     
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    get the E8400
     
  15. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yea, if your looking to get a cpu to last you for a few years, a little patience goes a long way. There will always be newer and greater things on the horizon, the with the 45nm quads coming right around the corner, I would say waiting to get one of those would surely be the best choice.
     
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I thought one was going to be about the price of the q6600 now, w/ a slightly higher clock, and of course 45nm
     
  17. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    the only prob is that he only wants to spend less than $300
     
  18. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    really one is around the price of the q6600???????? i may have to pick one up for meself if your right :D
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    my advice would be to base it on the FSB your system can OC to.

    Q6600 is 266 stock
    8400 is 333 stock

    If your board/ram caps out around 400, then a Q6600 is fine - 3.6GHz quad is nothing to sneer at.

    If your FSB is high enough to let you pass 3.6GHz (hopefully into the 4GHz range) then go the E8400.

    If you want a future proofed stock system - grab the Q6600. Look how useless single cores are for todays gaming.

    If you want a quiet/silent rig, the E8400 will run colder, and therefore be fine with quieter fans.
     
  20. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I certainly may be mistaken, but I could have sworn I saw a link for preorder on this forum that was $270 or so.
     
  21. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    do you have the link, because all the prices i've seen will either cost me my first born child or my left nut
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I dunno... those e8400's can go 4.2 ghz... but the G0 quads can go to 3.7 - 3.8... its a very tough choice... i went quad just because the future quads have low multi's and are a bit pricey. I compared my q6600 @ 3.66GHz 3dmark 06 CPU score (which is multithreaded) to a guy who is running an e8400 at 4.0, and they were almost identical like 5200ish vs 5340... i think you would get a better performance with the wolfdale.... but quad is sexy.

    Mussels is right tho... my radiator was about to melt its fans after playing some TF2, those things run extra hot.
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    i checked the specs, both have a 9x multi.

    As i said, this really depends on the mobo.

    400x9 = both at 3.6GHz. while the E8400 may run cooler, its also got half as many cores.

    Thats about as high as most Q6600's go on air, and its rare to breach 4GHz - if your system can do 450FSB, that gives you 4050MHz - a tad over 4GHz.
    If you can break 450MHz (this will require 900MHz or better out of your ram, fyi) then the dual core suddenly becomes better, since you get far more MHz to make up for the missing cores.
     
  24. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    But mussels it would be easier to reach 3.6ghz with the E8400 since its already @ 333mhz simply a 67 mhz increase, while the Q6600 is 1066mhz so that would be 244 increase which is quite a jump...

    Depending on the board as said above some Overclock Quads better then Others and most can do a decent DC OC
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,483 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    the FSB jump is irrelevant as its based on the motherboard and ram - NOT the cpu. also Q6600 can do 333x9 at stock volts. i've tested 5 personally, they all did it just fine.

    Any board that can take a 45nm should OC a quad just fine, as well - P35 or X38 chipsets being the best.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page