1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Raid, can you add a drive to a live Raid5?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by niko084, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Anyone know?

    A friend is considering setting up a raid 5 with 3 drives and possibly adding another one later.
    Doesn't want to go through the mess of backing it up and restoring it all later if possible.

    ICH9R on this board, has anyone done this, I can't find any info on if the controller / driver supports it or not.
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nope.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,863 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Don't use onboard for RAID 5.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Why not? (I'm curious)
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    There are a few different reasons, but in his case it doesn't too much matter, he just wants a little redundancy without spending too much money but doesn't want to lose the drive space of mirroring.

    I didn't figure the onboard intel supported that but figured I would ask.
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    From the Intel web site ...
    So on ICH9R ... no.
    niko084 says thanks.
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I spend about an hour on Intels site trying to find exactly that and couldn't.

    Thanks for the heads up... Hm ICH10DO huh....

    *Wish he would just buy a controller and get it over with*

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page