1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Readies Atom N470 Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,238 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel is set to announce an addition to its new single-core Atom series, with the Atom N470. The new chip falls in the same lineup as the Atom N450 (single-core), and targets netbooks. It features a single core with HyperThreading, on-die single-channel memory controller that supports DDR2-667 MHz memory, on-die graphics, and is built on the 45 nm manufacturing process. The processor core 512 KB of L2 cache. Compared to the N450 which operates at 1.66 GHz, the N470 runs at 1.83 GHz. It features Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 3150 for basic display functionality at resolutions of up to 1366 x 768 pixels. The new chip is expected to be launched on March 1. One of the first netbooks that use it is Lenovo's IdeaPad S10-3t.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Intel
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    bleh, i wish they supported a higher resolution. This will work in netbooks, but it cant be ported to nettop use with that GPU.
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    I am waiting for AMD's answer to the Atom processor, hopefully they will be able to pair a HD4200 or better alongside a more powerful processor to crush the feeble Atom.
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Congo :)
  5. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Do we have any TDP numbers for this new CPU?
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    no, but the N450 is 5.5W
  7. xenos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Amen.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    agreed. Lets say, a single core 2GHz CPU with single channel 667Mhz DDR2 ram support, paired with a lower wattage version of the HD4200
  9. xenos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The CPU sounds good, if they could eek out a dual core it would be sweet. I don't see why they couldn't include DDR3 as it uses slightly less power and would do better if being used as shared memory for the on chip / die graphics.

    I have had problems with several Asus 785G MATX boards recently, the onboard HD4200 graphics on 2 of 6 have been flakey another was DoA, I think I got a bad batch :-( No problems with the replacements though :) Gigabyte next time.. I think they test more thoroughly.

    Otherwise AMD FTW :rockout:
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    i've had no issues with my giga boards, based on 780/785G. only had 4 total, however.

    true on the DDR3, if it uses less power, go for it (SODIMM ofc)
  11. xenos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    That's good definitely Gigabyte next time then!
  12. runnin17

    runnin17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I'm still not too sold on the Atom. My mom recently let me know she was looking for a new laptop. So I looked around and found her a nice HP (AMD based) that had plenty of power for her and would let her do whatever she wanted (plus the price was $350, it was the clearance HP at best buy). I call her to tell her about it and she already ordered a crappy Dell Netbook, the inspiron 10 I believe. She tells me the specs and I immediately cringed when I heard the word "atom". The worst part is that she spent $500 on the whole package! Maybe I am just jaded on the whole netbook idea, but $500 for a crippled laptop is just a bit much for me. Oh well, if she doesn't like it she can return it.

    I agree with the AMD thing. Hopefully they will get into the netbook market soon, but I think they are still really trying to play catch up to intel right now.
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Meh still under powered, i get the X2 Neo even if it uses 10Watts more power.
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I don't get it, why only 1366 x 768 when i can output video with my GMA950 to 1920x1080 full HD LCD ?
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    because its built into the CPU. they cut it back to make it cheaper, now they dont even need a northbridge on the atom systems - letting them make them cheaper, cooler, and physically smaller.

    no nettop comes with such a 'high' resolution anyway, so it kinda makes sense... it just makes them useless for desktop transitions, as i stated.
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I know that, but this also makes them completelly useless for external conectivity. I mean what goood is cheaper, cooler and all if you can't output 1920x1080 !? It doesn't have too be a 1920x1080 H264 video, sometimes, just having desktop on such LCD TV or even just DivX movies using native resolution just enough to make a difference.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    oh i agree with you. I'm just making sure i state that i do get it has a purpose, so long as the system doesnt bother with any video out ports.
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,463 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,207
    I still think atom processors in general need a bit of a buff/revision - Ive heard lots of reviewers say their a little sluggish - even the dual core versions.

    but that low TDP = win
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,002 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    i've been using a friends 1.6Ghgz (with HT) nettop on XP, and it performs fine for that task. i can even watch 720p HD content with no problems (and no H264 hardware acceleration)

    I think part of the reason people find them sluggish, is often the really slow HDD's (or really slow writing SSD's) paired with the units.
  20. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    What about the neo and neo x2?
  21. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page