1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Releases Core 2 Duo E7400

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,539 (10.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,054
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel made an addition to its desktop processor lineup, by making Core 2 Duo E7400 official. The E7000 series dual-core processors mark the company's attempt to offer the benefits of the 45nm Penryn architecture with great value. Intel on its part, has respected the US $133 mark, with the new chip displacing the older E7300 chip to $113.

    The Core 2 Duo E7400 is based on the 45nm Wolfdale-3M core. It features a clock speed of 2.80 GHz, and FSB speed of 1066 MHz. What it also means, is that it comes with a relatively high 10.5x FSB multiplier value. The processor features 3 MB of L2 cache.
     
  2. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    <3 high multi's
     
  3. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    so 3 different E7xxx chips from 2.53ghz - 2.8ghz ,wat a waste of time and money lol
    all that effort for a total increase of just under 300mhz from the slowest to the fastest.

    im sure they will do it again with an "E7500" @ 3ghz :)
     
  4. BrankoJ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Europe, Serbia
    I already have 7200 (2.5Ghz) OC at 3.34 27/7 ... it works great with a very low voltage (1.22)
     
  5. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    How well does a E7x00 45nm Penryn compare to a E8x00 anyway? That high multiplier sounds like fun...
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,539 (10.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,054
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Aye, E7500 (11x 266) = 2.93 GHz.
     
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well in those apps/games where 3M vs. 6m cache doesn't matter it's the same clock for clock. Games it's a few frames and E8000s run cooler and OC a bit better.

    I'd still get E7200 for cheaper price or E7300 if those aren't around anymore. 1x or 0.5x multi difference is nothing. These crap out after 4GHz with air anyways so FSB isn't too high.

    Agree, they should have released E7200, then E7400 and then E7600 (3059mhz) and be done with it. But they made half multies, so now they have to use them.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,796 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    It could be worse, they could do what AMD does and release multiple processor with exactly the same specs...:shadedshu

    At least Intel is changing the clock speeds.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,539 (10.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,054
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The last time Intel did that, was with the E0 stepping for some Wolfdale chips, which is quite recent.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,796 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    That is just a revision change, not a completely different processor release. The E0 chips simply relaced the older chips in the market.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think if intel wants to get noobs to buy stuff they should release 8x400 chips. 1600FSB OOH AHH :p
     
  12. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Hmm, looks nice. I may have to pick up one up to play with.
     
  13. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    Anybody wanna buy an e7200? :laugh:

    edit: newegg doesn't have 'em yet :(

    but I did just notice the e5200 with a 12.5x multi (200 x 12.5 = 2500), but only 2mb cache. Anybody know how this compares to the e7x00 series in overclocking?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2008
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,555 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,841
    Location:
    Florida
    how much for the e7200?
     
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115052&Tpk=e7200 I LOLED AT the price its higher then E7400.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,796 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    The E5200 has been out for a while. I haven't personally had experience with it(though I really want to), but I've heard 4.0GHz+ is possible with the right air cooling.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    pm me with an offer, I'm not 100% sure whether I want to sell or not at the moment though :ohwell:
    umm, what are you talking about? the 7400 is supposed to be $133. And newegg hasn't even listed it yet, so the 7200 and 7300 prices aren't what they should be.
    hrm, I wonder if it would be worth it to "downgrade" to one of those . . . Any idea what voltage would be necessary for 4+?
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,796 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,737
    I've heard 1.4v or more is required for 4GHz+.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Pentium 4s are still around :p


    higher multis are nice, offer some more BUS OCing room if you can bring the multi down . . . but after a certain point, high stock multis get a little ridiculous (x23, anyone?)
     
  20. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    meh, that's about the same as my chip right now :ohwell:
    lol I still have a pentium d 805 with a 20x multi
     
  21. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Will this mean it will bump the prices down of the others: E7200 (I'm thinking of getting)
     
  22. kyle2020 Guest

    looks like ill be picking an E7200 or a E8400 when prices drop to play with, people hitting 4.5Ghz + on 1.35V sounds very tempting to me :laugh:

    Such high multi's just make these chips cry out to be overclocked.
     
  23. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wish mine did 4.5ghz on 1.35v :cry:

    I need to at least 1.45v to get 4.0ghz :banghead:
     
  24. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Me too.
     
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    @kyle and wasley: you better make sure you get a good stepping/revision if you want 4.5 @1.35v cuz myself and a few others I've noticed need more voltage than that just to hit 4.0ghz :ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page