1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel SkullTrail + SLI = YES

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Now that Intel Skulltrail is due to be out in the beginning of February, we can confirm this will be the first Intel motherboard to fully support NVIDIA's SLI multi-GPU Technology. Below is a proof picture of the SLI bridge included with the motherboard's bundle.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: XtremeSystems
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Aah the Skulltrail cometh.

    Now to the next step: Is it going to be 32-lane SLI or 16 lanes split to x8, x8 because isn't the nForce 200 16-lane?
     
  3. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes, but there're two nForce 2000 MCPs on the board. ;)
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Damn I wonder how these Asian tech-sites lay their hands on prototypes/pre-release stuff before we do.

    Look at the length of the SLI interconnect. Doesn't it look like it spans all the way from the first to the last PCI-E slot? Suggestive of the NV cards to be installed on these two specific slots for SLI? The last PCI-E slot would choke the male molex if a NV card is installed there...?
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You could put a 90` connector on there,so it would fit i think.
     
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    They make the stuff! :laugh: They probably just take them home from the factory -- I know I would.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Wasn't SLI support already a fact?
     
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I believe so, skulltrail is known to support both SLI and Crossfire.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,230 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,271
    It is a flexible interconnect, like the ones ASUS uses, so I doubt they would force you to use the last slot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Also to add to those questions, is CrossfireX a go on the platform? Meaning, for example 2 HD3870's + let's say HD2600XT.
     
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    They will force you to use two specific slots. Not all lanes are on the same chip, meaning interconnects between the chips will bottleneck the system severely if cards would be connected to different ones.
     
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Possible but it's cheaper to make a plastic/flexible interconnect bridge than a hard one that's basically a tiny PCB. Anyway we're dealing with the most expensive board on the planet, what's cheap anyway:laugh:

    If using the 3rd/2nd slot was possible I don't think they would've give that long an interconnect bridge. Anyway....I'm just shooting blind arrows, could be wrong.
     
  13. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    How much will this cost?

    Will anybody give it to me for a birthday present guys?
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With 2000 units in all for the initial batch release and a expexted >$500 price tag one has to be 1000ml of LSD down to gift you that.
     
  15. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Cool looking board...Although my eyeballs keep drifting towards molex that is sitting nut to butt with that bottom pci-e slot..:twitch:..surely there's a better place for that damn connector!:wtf:
     
  16. Lu(ky

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I thought I read somewhere that it will only take the new socket 771 QX9775 @ $1499.00 each x 2 = $3K :eek: I could be wrong :confused:

    Link
     

    Attached Files:

  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea Skulltrail is S771
     
  18. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    to do a full fledged skulltrail will cost you at least $7500.
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That is driver dependent, not platform dependent and by driver I'm referring to those from ATI, not Intel. The board just does the job of running four/three video cards, giving them power and signal, it's upto the drivers from ATI to do the rest.
     
  20. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    No...Intel made there chip on skulltrail to be able to do both sli and CF. Based on your logic, i should be able to do SLI on any intel chip (975, p35, x38, etc...), but as we know, you cant.
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Nope I was answering his question as to if he could use dissimilar cards. My answer: You can use dissimilar cards in Crossfire on ANY board that supports Crossfire X provided the drivers from ATI allow that. You can't blame Skulltrail if it doesn't
     
  22. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    two HD3850s in the middle and two 8800GTs in CF and SLi... and two PSUs to power it inside a P190. Thats what I expect... at the least.
     
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,967 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    let's see how this E-ATX board fits into a P180 in the first place. :p
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Now that I notice that thing is freaking massive, will it fit in a Mid-Tower?
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So if ATi decides to do CrossfireX on a 975X chipset.... I could do like an HD3850 with like ummm .... 3870X2? Cause that would be pretty damn sweet!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page