1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel to Slash Desktop CPU Prices by up to 20 Percent, Add New Models

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Taiwanese industry observer Digitimes compiled a comprehensive list of price-cuts sourced from motherboard manufacturers. The list presents some interesting data apart from a few revelations. New CPU models will be added, existing models might be displaced from their price-points, resulting in price-cuts amounting to as high at 20 percent the existing price.
    • New CPUs will be added to Intel's lineup, notably the Core i7 975 (3.33 GHz, $999), Core i7 950 (3.06 GHz, $562), Core 2 Quad models Q8400 (2.66 GHz, $183), Q8400S (2.66 GHz, $245), Core 2 Duo E7600 (2.93 GHz, $133), Pentium E6300 ($84) and Celeron E1600 ($53)
    • Several existing models will face price-cuts ranging between 10 and 20 percent. The biggest price-cut is that of Core 2 Quad Q9300 (19.92%)
    • From the absence of price changes for Core i7 models 940 and 965 XE, and their existing price-points getting new models, we can infer that they will be replaced by models 950 and 975 XE
    The changes will be implemented between April to July, 2009. All prices are in USD, prices per unit in 1000-unit quantities.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DigiTimes
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  2. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Good that quads are coming down in price. Now if they'd only go up in multi too :p

    That E6300 pentium seems strange, is it just old Core 2 Duo E6300 in 45nm?
  3. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Great. Only interested in the 975, everything else sounds like old stuff >.>'

    Let's see... i7 975 or PII 955... All depends on my budget next month, but definitely one of those two xD
  4. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    YAY!! more money to spend on other components!!
  5. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    I still can't get over how much intel charges for unlocked multi when amd sells them for next to nothing.
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    have to play to really play
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,808 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    Well the processors on AMD's side that have unlocked multipliers still don't overclock as well as their counterparts on Intel's side that don't have unlocked multipliers.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    umm no they don't? the XE intel's wont do high clocks like the AMD unlocked chips will. now this was true with the QX9650 vs a phenom 9850 but not against a phenom II 940BE
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    E6300? dual core?

    WTF?
  10. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    what does the "S" mean after the processor name?
  11. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I believe that's the newer more efficient models.
  12. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, 65W, opposed to 95W.
  13. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    I have a proposal to this motherboard manufacturers and INTEL ...

    Take my MB and CPU back for recycling , and i will give you 100EU , and i will get the latest and powerful MB+ CPU compo .... if not forget about me . :)
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,808 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    So you are telling me that the Phenom II BE chips are matching the i7's 920's and Q9650's overclocking?:laugh:

    The Phenom II's stuggle to get to 4GHz on good air cooling, unlocked multiplier or not. Something the locked Q9650 and i7 920 have no issue doing.

    Yeah, I was doing the same. I'm guessing it is 45nm@1066x7 2mb
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I don't get why they would use the same name... Maybe its a typo...
  16. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    It looks to me like the phenom II are overclocking pretty well http://valid.canardpc.com/records.php
    I don't see any i7 in the 6ghz range.
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    That post is useless... I don't see any AMD's in the 8ghz either.

    Besides its not records that count, its what the person that is building the system with an idea of what the average chip is capable of.

    Take a Q6600 as a PERFECT example, plenty have broken 4ghz, although a LOT of them people can't get to break 3ghz even.
  18. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    You know, I'm really starting to see i7 users in the same light as Mac users. Maybe they should get together and form a club.
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Not hardly, its simple... I7 is dominating period... AMD fanboys don't like it. :laugh:
    The Phenom II is a grand chip to see finally from AMD, but it still doesn't compete top tier.

    If you are on an AMD AM2+, YES by all means grab a Phenom II, but if you are in 775 and your board is a P35/45, x38/48, they clock the C2Q's like a dream, grab a Q9k and you will be right up on top of the game.

    If you are looking for totally new, well then you have some options, C2Q, Phenom II, or I7 if you want to go all out.
  20. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    You know, it's easy for a Porche to dominate over a VW GTI, but that doesn't the damn Porche owner has to be so smug about it.

    I know my GTI isn't as fast as a Porche, but if the Porche owner keeps getting in my face about it, I think I have a right to get a bit ticked off and sock him one. Get my drift?

    To use a car analogy. :laugh:
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    yes i am saying that the cheaper cpu is doing 4ghz as well


    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=213248

    looks to be at least a little common once you move past the un-updated 1st page. weeks 0852/0851 seem to be pretty capable of clocking to 4ghz my ancient 0825 did 4.22ghz on air and water benchmarked @4.14ghz so no idea what your talking about.

    and the Q9650 scales better with voltage than the phenom II do they scale better with cold which is how i got mine to 4.9ghz (only -40C) which happens to be about were the Q9650 tops out on LN2 (-196C). that is something i look at with a good pot i can easily get the phenom II up to 5.5ghz on DICE alone were a Q9650 wont do that. funnily enough that 600mhz or so clock difference is enough to give the phenom II a lead in every benchmark but good ole supre pi.
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well, funny way to put it but you are right, it would be nice if so many people didn't bite in the face about it.

    But at the same rate, a lot of guys with the VW here are yelling and screaming about haha it's so elite, you can't beat it, the Porsche is a waste of money...

    In reality here, put the numbers down, and let the person doing the decision making ponder on the if it's worth it, or what they prefer etc.
  23. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    The quads are still expensive:shadedshu
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,435
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Very true that, there are some star PII's out there overclocking wise, thing is, with for example the Q9650, you dont even need to be a "hardcore" overclocker to get some serious results on just plain ol air cooling, like almost 4.9gig for example but it's fairly commonplace to get 4.5 - 4.8gig on air, yes I agree, in the extreme the 940BE may overclock higher, in the mainstream though I doubt very much if it could hold it's ground as well.

    http://www.ripping.org/database.php?cpuid=851
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,808 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    You make that whole argument, and your own chip can only do 4.14GHz benchmark stable on water.:laugh:

    Please, in extreme conditions and cooling, the Phenom II BE might hang with the Core 2 Quads. But everyone but the hardware overclockers and modders will see better overclocking results from an unlocked Phenom II.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page