1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel V8 revealed

Discussion in 'News' started by D_o_S, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Intel plans to shut down AMD's party even before it starts - the 4x4 platform from AMD is no where to be seen at this moment, yet Intel's V8 can already be had. The V8 is basically a server platform - a server E-ATX dual socket motherboard equipped with two of Intel's quad-core CPUs. Hardspell has some pictures of such a setup:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The system above has 4GB of FB-DIMM memory and uses two 3.0 GHz quad-core CPUs. Only the motherboard costs $658, and is based on Intel's 5000X chipset.

    Source: HardSpell
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The board doesn't seem very desktopish. Tyan and Supermicro offer way better and cheaper desktop (workstation) solutions. Dell even sells 5000x systems with SLI support. (using Quadros)
  3. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Useless for Gamers....Good for servers.
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    There are many more uses for a computer than gaming and serving.
  5. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Video Editing, Autocad , 3D Animation etc etc are things that concern few people and i aint one of them at least not anymore so i speak for myself :)
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Read the article, it names a price. This isn't for Joe Average in the first place. And thinking Video editing, Autocad, 3D animation etc concern few people is quite ignorant. Those markets aren't exactly small, specially nowadays.
  7. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Well the companies that do use such machines know about these kind of stuff before us....They usually have agrrements with either intel or amd......
    And in comparison with how many people here are gamers i think we have a very small number of people who use these things thats what i meant.
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Companies that use these machines don't build anything themselves. They buy at Dell.com and know little about the hardware itself.
    Still, even though many people on this site play games it is quite clear that this isn't aimed at gamers, therefor it isn't really relevant that it's useless (which is a bad choice of words, I'd say overkill instead) for games.

    As for the amount of people that use these things here, close to none :) I do, I know we have a few other people with Xeon DP's, I haven't seen any Opteron 2xx/8xx users around though.

    Anyway, I'm still not impressed by this board. I'll wait for the next generation chipsets.
  9. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Well a buddy of mine works at the Number 1 Greek advertising company and they get all their 3D Animation . Autocad Computers directly from Intel so i guess they must have some kind of agreement.
    Either way IF it had 4 Quad Core CPU slots , cost about 300$ and 8 Ram Slots along with 4 Pciex16 then i would be impressed :)
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    No way youd get it for that price Hellas :roll:

    However, AMDs FX7X processors are sold and around. I just dont like the expense of the motherboard and the procs and the memory (I think it uses ECC memory) is the downturn to me. Ill await their quadcore chips and be more than happy with that. I mean, who needs Quadro SLI anyways, thats just overkill and utility rates going up...
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Quadro SLI only is available in some Dell workstations. There is no official SLi support and as you can see this board only has a single PEG slot. As for the ECC thing, it uses FB-DIMM which feature ECC. They are not normal DDR2 ECC modules.
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Isn't this basically the same platform the dual-quad MacPro is built on?
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yes, and the MacPro's are basically the same as the rest of the i5000 platforms. So yes, it's just another i5000 board and I fail to see how it's special.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, that's pretty much the reason I asked. I thought this was already out. The only difference I see is marketing.

    I think they should've made V8 a true desktop product. You know, DDR2, SLI/Crossfire, and desktop cpus.

    I'm not impressed.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page