1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel x25m 80gb SSD. Performance issues with new firmware

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Lazzer408, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Has anyone updated their x25m to the new 02M3 firmware? When I first installed 2 of these in RAID-0, I scored just over 500MB/s in CrystalDiskMark. Now, after the firmware update and the new Intel Rapid Storage v9.6.0.1014 software/driver, my score dropped to 48MB/s! :banghead:

    Anyone noticed this with their SSDs? If it stays this way I'm going back to my spinners that got 90mb/s.

    EDIT - Well windows is still showing a 7.9 so who knows what happened to CDM. o_O
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  2. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    OMFG -facepalm- I'm an idiot. It was testing a USB drive. -.-

    Here's my results with the updated firmware and drivers. The new firmware showed a definite improvement of >100MB/s

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • ss4.JPG
      ss4.JPG
      File size:
      48.5 KB
      Views:
      861
  3. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    US
    Shame you did not have the SSD test before. I might do this update not sure thinking about it lol.

    Just have a few questions when you updated them were they in raid and did you need to backup 1st ?.

    and 9.6 are the old not being updated any more as they had a name change with the software

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...dID=19632&lang=eng&wapkw=(intel rapid storage)
    Lazzer408 says thanks.
  4. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeh sorry. I wasn't doing a review or anything so it didn't dawn on me. Thinking about what? Flashing the firmware? It comes as an iso. Burn it and boot it. Yes you have to backup. I used Acronis True Image and copied to a spare spinner, then took the drives out of raid (in the raid bios), then set the raid controller to sata mode (main bios). The drives were not detected by the firmware utility when the controller was set in raid mode even though the drives were not part of an array.

    Thanks for the heads up on the driver version. I'll grab it now.
    AsRock says thanks.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    US
    Thanks, Thinking about updating or not.. But yeah thats the rout i'll go to just clone the drives.

    So maybe tomorrow morning when it wont interfere with my gaming time :p.
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    The flash was easy. Just hit Y to a couple Qs.

    What drives do you have? Same ones?
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    US
    Yeah same ones and yeah i know the flash is easy as i had to do it when i 1st got mine.
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,844 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    US
    Still planing to do this my DVD drive messed up :|. Just got a new external TEAC so will be trying it soon.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page