1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel X38 Supports SLI ?

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    During his keynote today at IDF, Intel’s Pat Gelsinger showed off a machine based on the company’s Skulltrail enthusiast gaming platform. Skulltrail is a dual-socket platform based on the X38 chipset that supports Intel’s upcoming 45nm Quad-Core processors, FB-DIMM memory and offers PCI Express 2.0 support and true dual-x16 PEG slots (or four x8 PCI Express x16 slots). What was interesting about the machine on display was that it used a pair of GeForce graphics cards running in SLI mode, but on an Intel chipset. According to Intel, this is a special version of Intel X38 paired with NVIDIA's nForce MCP to enable SLI support. There's no word on official SLI support with future Intel chipsets, though.

    [​IMG]

    Ed. by W1zzard: You can't pair X38 with any NVIDIA MCP because both are the same: a Northbridge with memory controller. It would be possible to put an NVIDIA southbridge on the board but this wouldn't enable SLI because that many PCI-E lanes are not routed through the SB. Since technically SLI works on ANY chipset, NVIDIA could enable SLI on X38 only if an NVIDIA SB is present.

    Source: HotHardware
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 19, 2007
  2. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Oh my god.
    Are we looking at an X38 + 680i hybrid?
     
  3. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    935 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    So, tell me one thing, why in gods name would Intel do this?
    They'd be insane to take anything from Nvidia and put it with their chipsets.
    First of all, Nvidia is using HyperTransport, Intel is not, so their chipsets aren't compatible.
    Secondly, what would be the point for Intel to add what would in their eyes be a lesser chipset to one of their motherboards?
    And since we know that SLI and CrossFire is done via drivers, why would Intel have to add hardware?
    There have been several software hacks for SLI to work, although badly, on the 915 chipset.
    The first SLI platform was actually an Intel dual CPU server board, so if it could be done then, why can't it be done now?
    This sounds like a load of crap to me and there's absolutley no reason for it to be this way and whoever wrote the initial story doesn't know shit about chipsets or how they work.
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    also imagine the amount of money nvidia lost if they enabled sli on non-nv boards .. who would buy an nvidia board if they could get one with intel chipset?
     
  5. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    How do you figure?
    There is no difference between nVidia giving their 680i chipsets to ASUS to create the P5N32-E SLi and Striker Extreme, then nVidia giving it to Intel to use WITH it's own chipsets.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,218 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    I would, I personally don't really like Intel's chipsets all that much. My 650i and 680i are both far superior to my P965 board, my P965 board is actually very crappy.

    Though I know there are people that prefer Intel chipsets, so I see you point.

    However, I would imagine the profit loss would be made up by the number of extra graphics cards nVidia sells. Imagine all the people with Intel chipsets that would have two nVidia cards if they could.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Ok, hold on just a second here.
    It is my understanding that it is infact the SouthBridge (also known as the MCP or Media and Communications Processor) that handles the remainder of the PCIe lanes. Without it, there would be no SLi. Aren't most of the PCIe lanes routed through the SouthBridge?
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    well you got a crappy board with a good chipset ... its like good cologne on ur skin after 2 weeks without bathing ..
     
  9. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    :roll: Lipstick on a pig
     
  10. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    with the Intel high end 3d cards to be released within a few years it wouldn't surprise me to see Nvidia allowing full SLI capability on Intel, Intel could license SLI for its own high end Graphics cards in a the future or further marginalise Nvidia's SLI technology by creating their own which could be detrimental to their business.
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,218 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    The P5B is regarded by many as a very good, but low-end, P965 board. My P5B-Deluxe wasn't much better, it could only get my E4300 up to 3GHz regardless of settings, the board just wouldn't got past 333 FSB. I sold the P5B-Deluxe and put the E4300 in a P5N-E and got it to 3.2GHz.:nutkick:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Most PCI-E lanes are routed through the northbridge not southbridge. For the longest time northbridge chips only had a certian amount available so to add 16x sli you needed the southbridge to do so.
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,413 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,714
    Location:
    Florida
    dual socket quad core running sli?.....wouldnt mind taking that rig for a test drive
     
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    strange,my p5b-deluxe easily does 560fsb.my 6750 is at 450fsb now,i've never known a board with such a high fsb capability.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,218 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    Not mine, which is why I got rid of it. Oddly, my P5B does 370 just fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    Overclocking is never a sure bet. Your P5B and his P5B and my P5B in theory should perform the same, but in reality perform very differently...in overclocking. That is also assuming everything else, but the board was identical (cpu, memory, cooling).
     
  17. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i guess i was just lucky with mine,funny,my old 6300 does 560fsb too :)
     
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Maybe with all the hooplah surrounding ATI and their World Records on Intel Chipsets, Nvidia thought it might do well to lease some of its tech to intel and make even more money?
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    nvidia chipset = northbridge (expensive) + southbridge (cheap)

    if they sell just the southbridge nvidia makes little money and intel makes the rest
     
    Darkrealms says thanks.
  20. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Dell has i5000 workstations with Quadros in SLI.
     
  21. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA

    I'm hearing Xfire a lot more than SLI lately. Maybe Nvidia is too. If they make SLI that much more common it'll be just like Intel dropping prices and kicking AMD while their down. ATI has really made no advancements that have "WOW'd" the end users. I think its Nvidias way of kicking ATI while their down in this whole thing. Besides a lot of people still think Intel chipset = work and Nvidia = gaming performance. Both will still sell fine.

    {edit}W1zzard thanked for clearifying original posting{/edit}
     
  22. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    That's interesting spin on things. People are saying NV would lose money, but perhaps they would gain money because of increased revenue from gfx cards because Intel chipsets would support SLI.
     
  23. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,224 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    That is what I am thinking.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,218 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    Finally, someone else that sees it my way.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    intel did recently acquire rights to use the sli technology we could be looking at an xfire & sli chipset, or if its sli, we can just use modded drivers to run xfire, just like how we used modded drivers to use sli on the p35 :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page