1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Yorkfield Processors Next Week?

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,488 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    642
    The hell with that native quad core crap. Its just a marketing gimmick. Like SLi RAM. If you really want to look at it that way, which quad core is better? AMD's "native" quad core, or Intel's "double" dual core? Looks like Intel has been the winner. And dont say that Im a "fanboy" either. Because I buy w/e is best at the time of my purchase. My last 5 builds have been AMD.

    No matter how you look at it, so long as it is in one processor, it IS a quad core.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    He was responding to a question, and you post this flame bait post. This is a warning.
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    With an unlocked multi, I'm not too worried about a high fsb. I have 1200Mhz ram, so I'll put it on a higher strap. At 400fsb, I can run my ram at 1200MHz on the dot. I'll just set it to 400fsb, give or take a few Mhz, and play with the multi.
     
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I am very Jelous! Tax return or not, I still could not justify that kind of outlay for a "light" hobby but well done to you, makes me need to go SLI even more now as I am not gonna get anywhere near your single card score with the Palit's!

    What replacements you getting?......8800GT's again or better and did you have to send the fried ones back cause you can appreciate that from the UK thats a costly business!
     
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The Q9450 will be good, I think at even 3.6gig (which probably equates in performance terms to a Q6600 @ 3.7gig), if you are happy with that it should run well and fairly cool and would be a decent investment from say a low to mid ranged duellie although you may be actually better off saving some cash and just going Q9300, you should get a fairly cool and cheap 3.4gig out of that.
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No word yet. He only made me send back the 2 that I fried, so I'm guessing more 88GTs.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Thanks, I still have the 2 out of 3 working but I have decided I am going SLi so I will run the 2 cards initially without voltmodding them at say 770 core, then maybe voltmod them after.
     
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Completely agree here. At the current asking price for the 9550, it's really not worth upgrading if you've already got yourself a Q6600 or a Xeon x3220, and anything else is really no more than a lateral move.
     
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    i'm getting me a Q9550 :toast:
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    There is gonna be a new stepping QX9650 aswell with an improved FSB
     
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I bought one aswell, and intend to play with it a bunch then sell it got it at near a 40 percent discount. The when the Qx9650 is gone I will get my e8500 at a greatly discounted price.
     
  12. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    So now i am very confused what to buy E9450 or Q6600 or even an X3220 (Xeon version of Q6600)duacore? :banghead: .The E9450 was faster at the same clock ,than the Q6600.And what is would be the limiting factor for me becuse i have no experience of intel systems (overcklocking theese new cpus).All intels i had was ages a go. :eek:
     
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Wait and see I'm betting the Q9450 will do atleast 3.8ghz 24/7 making it a better buy than a Q6600 if not the price of both Q6600 and X3220 will drop and you can still buy one of them. I would wait tell next week and see just how much better intel made the FSB of the Q9450. Then decide what to get. The Best deal on a Quad right now is a X3210, X3220 and Q6600 but in a week it may not be. Also some sites have E8500 dual cores they will do 4.5ghz 24/7 on air, and cost 280.00 shipped those are also very good deals for the fastest Dual Core Cpu ever made.
     
    X800 says thanks.
  14. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Barking mad :eek:
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Thats so good I am considering buying all 3! nice little profit to be made there, easily sell them for £100 profit per chip over here.
     
  18. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm going back to a 478 hyperthreading cpu I'm sick of all this speed.
    I want the coolness of hyperthreading.:cool:
     
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    well to tell the truth I don't intend to keep it anyway, I'm just gonna use it to make my E8500 cheaper. My X3210 went in about 3 hours for 240.00 so I was able to get my money back on it. It was a rare, rare quad all 4 cores read almost identical temps. I haven't ever seen that before, plus it is a little beast did 1.5 ghz oced over the stock clock.
     
  20. iLLz

    iLLz

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Deptford, NJ
    One thing overlooked...

    One thing overlooked is that the newer chips will have the SSE4 instruction set. So if you currently don't have a Q6600 the Q9450 and other Yorkfield processors make the most sense. Some video encoding software is starting to take advantage of these instructions and the benchmarks show 40% + drops in encoding time.

    So this could benefit anyone who uses a digital camcorder or who simply encode dvds. This is one intriguing aspect of the chip I look forward to most.

    - iLLz
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,635 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,483
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yeah, I cant quite manage that accuracy on all 4 cores but still not too bad, just look at the temps at 1.4V at 3.4gig, it's only at that voltage because I was playing around at 3.6gig, she will normally do 3.4 on 1.325V .....with room ambients of 19C.............
     

    Attached Files:

  22. MikeJeng

    MikeJeng New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    United States - CA
    Are these supposed to be G0?



    Somebody told me they were "C1"
     
  23. wolf2009 Guest

    that is only if u use divx codec . The codec of the future is H.264 which offers better quality divx at the same bitrate . And it doesn't need sse4 cause its source code(of the x264 encoder) is so well optimized .
     
  24. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I seriously doubt that. Not because of the chip, but because you are very lucky to find a mobo that will run a quad at 475 fsb 24/7 stable. It's not even about the model of mobo, it's about the individual mobo. Most mobos will only do 400-420fsb stable with a quad. With good ones doing 440-450, and the ungodly ones doing more than that. It's all about the luck of the draw. If it were me, I'd rather take my chances on the higher multi of the Q6600, unless I already confirmed my board is stable with a quad at the fsb needed for those kinda clocks on a Q9450.

    Yeah, but that's OEM. Ask around, with my track record, it was worth it for me to spend the extra $200 for the warranty. lol.

    No, that's not true, if anything, H.264 needs the SSE4 optimization more. Not because it's inefficient, but because it's such an intensive codec. Divx/xvid encoding is much faster, due to it's less intensive nature.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page