1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Interesting Thread on ATI Drivers

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by eidairaman1, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2008
    MKmods, oli_ramsay and newconroer say thanks.
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    I get random BSODs sometimes while gaming, it's happening a lot with GTA4 and left 4 dead and it's soooo annoying! I'll uninstall CCC as the thread says and see if that helps at all.

    Thanks for teh heads up though!
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    that doesnt help really at all as its what is goin on in windows itself, if you want full tweaking of the card i suggest getting ATI Tray tools in combination with the Classic CP.
     
    oli_ramsay says thanks.
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    hmm, looks like a couple of windows updates are needed, but they're for Xp only. Well I'm stumped.
     
  5. I beginning to suspect that Microsoft hates ATI for some reason,because this is not the frist time windows got issues with ATI cards.
     
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Just out of interest, is there any Radeon users here on TPU that get frequent BSOD's while gaming?
     
  7. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    It wasn't BSOD's, but VPU Recover would keep kicking in; even in 2D mode.
    What fixed it was updating Adobe Reader. Go figure.:confused:
     
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,137 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
    I get them but only booting XP restarting and then booting Vista ( Visa Versa ). Thats noting to do with ATI though as it does it with the 7900 too.

    Only other time i had issue with ATI cards was due to using Rivatuner.
     
  9. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I have the BSOD disabled but I do get hard crashes when the cards are overclocked using HDMI as either secondary or primary display.

    No HDMI = no crashing for me.
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    Turn off VPU Recovery, that service is what i think is ATIs Achilles Heel, it usually makes the card less stable to have it on than to have it off.
     
    Jaffakeik says thanks.
  11. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,608 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i got restart only in gta4 with BSOD.didnt seen in other games yet.
     
  12. leonard_222003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    241 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I got a problem with the overclock from CCC , can't use it cause i get a white screen in my case :) , solution is to use riva tuner.
    My card not being referance one doesn't work with many overclocking softwares like ati tray tools i get crashes just like CCC.
    Others problems i didn't encounter , no game crahes but i use clean windows XP with sp3.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    Id Refrain from Installing SP3 Period
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    Could be .net Related, Also awhile back i was having problem of apps crashing, it pointed to a strange file which i believe was being shared between these apps, and the file was .net related, these problems occurred while i had Service Pack 3 in, well low and behold i went back to XP with SP2, Mind i have MCE 2005. All in all after reverting back as of fresh install, i noticed after SP2 is installed for MCE 2005 there are certain critical files/other software that is needed for the Proper Function of MCE 2005 which do appear but don't appear after SP3 is installed from fresh (no WUPs yet), so a possibility that SP3 prevents those critical files from being installed thus causes problems, so i refrain from installin SP3 again because i think its a ploy from MS to get you to move to Vista when Vista is broken still.
     
  15. I had BSOD's on xp loading screen.
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,491 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,770
    hmm

    Ever Look on the box or the Manual of the Sapphire X1950 Pro before you Started running it? Because it specifically states a 450 watt or higher PSU that can maintain high Amps aswell, your PSU is shy of that and FSP isnt that good of a manufacturer, so i suggest trying a known Good Powersupply with Greater Rating of 450-500 watts and see if that makes a difference, also Drivers do load during the XP load screen.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page