1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internal Forum Hosting

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by Sneef, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Hey guys,

    I'm looking for a way to host a fully functioning forum, but without the domain name. The forum is going to be used internally and is not to been seen by members of the public.

    I can get the forum code no problem but when i come to host it, thats where im getting stuck (This is for business use). I thought of using a VPS To host, but our computers cant run VPS, Ive thought of himatchi and using one of the spare pc's as a host, but still the bandwidth that we receive is poor.

    I'd much appreciate it if you could help me out :)

    Thanks in advance
    Sneef
     
  2. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    159 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    VPS is overkill for a forum hosting. +To run it off the local machine you'll have to sweat a bit to make it run like it's supposed to. Also your server has to be on all the time.
    If you don't expect to have more than 20 simultaneous users - you'll be better off with some free web-hosting and good forum engine.
    For the first part of your project i would suggest 000webhost.com. It's free, no ads, and you get enough space for pretty much any small-to-medium size project.
    They also provide ftp access, two mysql databases, backups and tons of other stuff. The only downfall - if your site is inactive for over 30 days - it's pretty much gone. Speedwise I like it even better than my current paid VPS hosting.
    The second part - installing forum engine - is even easier. I believe there is an automatic installation script for PHPBB on this hosting, but i would suggest to download the fresher one form the official site.
     
    Sneef says thanks.
  3. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Yeah i knew a VPS Would be overkill, but the only reason i suggested it is because they have future plans for things that would require a VPS :p

    But thanks man, ill propose the idea of 000webhost tomorrow, it seems like a viable option, the only part being that its public, and ideally they wanted it private.

    -Sneef
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Download Xampp and then install the forum software. This has a HTML server that you can use on a static internal IP. It would be like this http://192.168.1.100/index.php
     
    Sneef says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,956 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,795
    Location:
    IA, USA
    All you have to do is install ASPX or PHP on the server and run IIS or Apache. To keep it private, simply don't forward the ports in the router. People will connect to it via the servers' IP address (e.g. http://192.168.0.128). That URL works for me by the way. I'm using ASPX + IIS + Server 2003.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    See the thing is the business isnt open 24/7 and the power is turned off at 5 oclock everyday, and to keep rebooting the server would just be painful after a while, and there isnt a spare pc for it to run on, unless its not that intensive and i could run it off my workstation?
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Look I got bored and wanted to show you how easy it was. Keep checking this post for screenshots as I post them

    http://205.144.219.6/forum/

    ^^ TEST forums ^^

    Install this and only add Apache and MySQL

    http://www.apachefriends.org/index.html

    upload_2014-1-29_13-53-26.png

    Then install navicat lite
    http://r2.computerbild.de/exec/r2r.pl?m=w-cobi;u=http://d.computerbild.de/downloads/967333/navicat100_lite_en.exe?__cbodl__=1391022347_2b7fc0d084d269811cd00f4c5006bb71&_chksum_=bdf450acef6733dd23191de86d73d05e;ct=1;thc=1;b=967333;c=1298757;tit=Navicat Lite 10.0.3;url=http://www.computerbild.de/download/Navicat-Lite-1298757.html;sep=|;tce=|;tid=574;tn=Datenbanken;tp=95|366;tc=95|366|574;tpn=Software Kategorie|Programmieren;cs=1

    Once you have restarted your server/pc start up xammp and start the apache and MySQL

    using navicat login to your databases and create a new one called forums like I did here but mine is called test

    upload_2014-1-29_13-58-58.png

    Then create a new user and give it host 127.0.0.1

    Once you are done with that download the forum software in this case I used phpBB since it was free.

    Now extract the files into c:\xammp\htdocs\whatever folder here
    in my case I made a folder called forum

    upload_2014-1-29_14-1-57.png

    Now inside your new folder should look like this

    upload_2014-1-29_14-2-33.png

    Now on go to you web browser and type http://127.0.0.1/forums/install/index.php since that is were my forum software install page is located (YOURS MAYBE DIFFERENT)

    This will give you your first look at the install process. Mine has already been done but here is an example. Now all you have to do is follow the instructions (less than 2 minutes EASY) and give it the info of your database you just create and then create a admin user and then you are done!!


    upload_2014-1-29_14-6-41.png

    Now this should be your end product when you goto http://127.0.0.1/forum

    upload_2014-1-29_14-7-32.png
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Wow seriously thanks man! Im going to tell them to look at this tomorrow to prove them its that easy !!! Thank you :)!!
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    easy peasy bro. Hard part is building out the forum the way you like. To get to the main admin panel you just goto http://127.0.0.1/forum/adm/index.php

    This is what it looks like

    upload_2014-1-29_14-13-0.png
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    671 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    You should get this sticked now Brandon.

    Title: [HOWTO] Setting up a locally-hosted web server and forum
     
    stinger608, brandonwh64 and Sneef say thanks.
  11. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    yeah he should, ive litreally just done it and it took me like 10 minutes xD!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,956 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,795
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If you're only talking like 10 users, it doesn't require hardly any resources so yeah, it could run on your workstation.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Hey man im having some issues now :( when im trying to install it, it keeps saying that it cannot connect to the database which im presuming is navicat. is it possible that i can use phpMyAdmin for the database?
     
  15. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    159 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    The only problem is speed. I had a setup like this a few years back (LAMP+vftpd+ssh), but you've got to have a decent upload bandwidth in order to run even something simple.
    Right now, thanks to cheap Ukrainian fiber optics I can broadcast at 30MB/s on internal network and ~1.5-2MB/s worldwide, but with my experience in US, unless you have Google - you don't get much more than 50KB/s upspeed even with some 40MBps account form comcast or centurylink.
    If England has something better to offer, you should run with a server. You can even construct a RaspberryPI server with battery backup :)
     
  16. Sneef

    Sneef New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    haha 30mbps? :p Wow your lucky!!! at work were with BT and at the best of times we get 15 down, 0.1 up... talk about remote locations!
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,840 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,617
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Stickied Brandon's "How to" guide, great work thanks.
     
  19. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    159 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Good to have a neighbor who runs an ISP company:toast:
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,737 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL yea I work for a ISP and I have my test forums ran off a OC3
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,956 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,795
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Your database would be MySQL if I'm not mistaken. Yeah, phpMyAdmin is a MySQL web admin so that would work perfectly if you need to examine the database(s).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    159 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Another cool forum engine is SimpleMachines 2. It is written in PHP too, but in my opinion looks and feels a lot more modern than PHPBB.
    I just don't know if it is as reliable.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,017 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    678

    000webhost will NOT run VB or IPB. I tried that. mem limits and such are set to low and you can't override them.

    IPB requires 128MB RAM minimum in the server to run at all times. I do not recommend running forum software on your main windows install. Security and memory management and CPU scheduling issues.

    I've seen IPB MAX OUT servers with 64GB RAM when I worked there in support.

    I recommend a VPS and to use really good CPU scheduling in IPB and let me know how your needs are and I can provide assistance with setting it up and optimizing the CPU scheduler as well.

    I would also be happy to provide hosting, as i got a dedicated server of my own and I can give you space on it as well. I got 4TB BW and 4GB RAM on it as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page