1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

internet access though a cell phone-

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Zebeon, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    It this possible:
    Say I had a verizon phone with unlimited internet access
    and got one of these
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16875997433

    It looks to me like it uses your cell phone (via usb) for internet and you can get online with wired or wireless signal?

    Anyone ever used or seen one of these.
    I have talked to Verizon, but in order to do this you have to "tether" your phone to your pc and have a special plan.

    wondering if this would work, I haven't really found much info on it yet.....
    Don't want to buy one and then :nutkick: not work.

    Thanks
  2. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    What's your desire for this? Do you not have wired broadband service?
  3. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    The "unlimited" internet is for you phone only.... To use it as a modem you will have to buy a separate plan on top of the one you have. I think it's 5 GB 60$ a month ROFL :shadedshu
  4. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    Yes, technically, it would probably work with your normal phone data plan but if the carrier sees a large amount of data use they could whack you.

    You would also want to make sure your phone is capable of tethering.
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    this will not work with verizon as they do not utilize a GSM network
    angelkiller says thanks.
  6. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    If you will notice the last customer review:

    Tech Level Tech Level: high - Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
    This user purchased this item from Newegg

    Pros: It works like a charm. From box to working took less than 15 minutes. No memorable problems, which means there was nothing frustrating or tough to figure out. I've got it using a USB tethered Moto Q running Modem-Link. It appears to be giving me better throughput than the Q tethered directly, though that might be observer error... it also might not be, due to the USB extension cables I have to use with the Q tethered directly.
    Cons: It ain't cheap! Even on sale with a $50 rebate, it ain't cheap.
    As others have pointed out, it will not fetch your slippers or paper. It's just as well, I have a St Bernard for that. It also will not cook breakfast. Guess I've got to find something else to do that ;-}
    Other Thoughts: Knowing what I know now, I would've paid full price for this.

    I live in a rural area and cannot get DLS or Cable. Satellite is useless for gaming so that's out of the question too. Using my Motorola Q (on Verizon) I am able to get a decent 3G signal in one area of my house. It's not an ideal location for my computer and USB cables will only go so far (and don't charge the Q when they're extended). This box is the ideal solution. I'm able to play WOW on 2 systems using this box and the 3G. Granted, you'll not throw a LAN party on 3G, but you're not on dial-up either!

    This is my 1st CradlePoint product. It won't be my last.

    He says he is using Verizon.

    But anyways, Just looking into a cheaper way to have internet at home and on the go.
    the local ISP is crap here, but will prob have to use them i guess...

    Don't really use it to much, DL a few updates and check TPU!!!
  7. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    GSM is better for this box but it looks like it will work via USB for CDMA

    But again, make sure your phone will work with tethering via USB.
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,479 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,014
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    i think its called tethering? i had my LG shine on the AT&T network using the internet on my PC using a data cable. i would get 140 ping in COD4 servers
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Dang, so it is pretty slow isn't it......

    It was worth a look, guess I will be getting local DSL after all... LOL

    Thanks everyone for the input!
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,479 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,014
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yes its pretty slow. maybe like ISDN or the lowest DSL connection you can get.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page