1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

internet audio isnt working

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xstayxtruex, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. xstayxtruex

    xstayxtruex

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hard data works on the desktop through software but streaming audio or flash audio through internet browsers doesnt seem to play.

    im working on this problem on someone else's computer. i've updated their realtek audio controllers through windows update, i've uninstalled and reinstalled adobe flash, i've tried both IE and FF3 and i still dont see any resolve.

    if there's anything that can be done or if anyone else has had this problem in the past, suggestions are welcomed.

    this computer is a compaq with vista home premuim, 1G ram, intel chipsets, and realtek audio controllers.
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    this happened to me before, and all i did was turn off my computer, then turned it back on again haha. but it seems like you've already done that.
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    If you're using Vista, it could be turned down seperatley from all the other sounds. Click on the volume icon in the notification area, click mixer and check if they're all turned all the way up.

    [​IMG]
  4. xstayxtruex

    xstayxtruex

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    while im watching or running streaming audio im not even getting a signal to lower or raise the volume on the mixer.

    so i cant determine if its a driver problem and/or a browser problem.
  5. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Sounds like an audio problem. What if you tried to reinstall firefox?
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    u tried system restore?
  7. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    If you install flash with FireFox open it can do that. Try downloading Flash (if you deleted it) and reinstalling it without FireFox open. You should be hearing sound. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page