1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

internet connection interference with torrent clients

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Chewy, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Anyone know why when Im running a torrent client it messes up my internet connection? this happens on both my system and on my dads.. it stops both systems from being able to browse/connect to msn.

    With utorrent it happens right away with BitLord it takes away my net after a while.
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You may have to throttle your upload speed. Torrenting knocks my connection out, unless I throttle it.
     
  3. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I got my upload and dl speed on 0 (unlimited)... is that what you meant?
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but don't set upload to unlimited, it can choke out your connection. What's your internet connection's upload speed?
     
  5. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    not to sure but its cable, 10mb(?) connection. so I think its about 1000mb/s upload and 7k download.
     
  6. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    you want to set it about 50kbps upload and maybe 300kbps download for max's. for me i keep it at 20kbps and 100kbps.
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, if you have 1Mb up, then 50kB is a good limit. I have 384k up, so I limit my torrent upload to 25kB, and that leaves me with plenty of bandwidth for me and my brother to still surf on 2 different machines. I raise it to 33kB up when we're sleeping.
     
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    What i dont get with torrents -

    I only set my upload to 50% of the max upload when im using net (me and two brothers), so i set it at 8kb/s.

    I set my downloads to unlimited. The part i find weird is that even if the torrent is going at like (example) 20kb/s down (max is 1.2Mb/s which i get off fast aussie servers) and 2kb/s up, my net still laggs really badly.

    No matter what speed its going, even if its 1kb/s up and 1kb/s down, it just slows the net way down...
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Could be a result of too many open connections too, Pinchy. Limit the number of connections each torrent can make. With that kind of upload, I'd say limit each one to around 40 connections, and don't run more than 3 at a time. That should help a little.
     
  10. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wow that was a fast response! (within a minute :p!)

    That's probably the problem...when i dl something ill see how it goes :D
     
  11. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    It worked, still sometimes get a cannot display page error (just did) I will post what my #'s are at the bottom of this post.

    I figured since my dl's only go at like 40kb/s anyway I could just leave it unlimited and still have bandwidth for browsing..

    [​IMG]

    Lowered the max number of connections to 100 still lagging a bit at times guess maybe I need to reset my modem.

    Thanks:rockout:
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page