1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internet connection problems

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by blue.dot, Apr 18, 2012.

  1. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    Hello, I need your help again guys :(

    So I'm not sure how long this problem occurs, but more than a month maybe?
    The problem is, that my internet connection hungs up at some point, I get yellow triangle in connection icon in taskbar, and after few seconds Windows repairs it and I can continue again. Now, this wouldn't be so bad if it occurred only sometimes or rarely, but I get this every day at least 10 times. And what's worse, everytime when I play BF3 or WoW, which leads to giant lags, but in BF3 mostly kicks with error "connection lost or timed out" and in WoW in kills by enemies :/...

    At first I thought it something driver related, so I downloaded latest Realtek Ethernet drivers.. Nope, didn't fix nothing.
    Secondly, I checked my router. But everything seems fine and internet runs just fine on other two PCs which I have in the house.

    So I figured it might be Windows it-self, and I needed to reisntall it too as it was starting to struggle a bit. I was wrong! :mad: Now not only the problem persist, but Windows can no longer fix it on his own and I have to restart PC.

    I had a thread some time ago asking for help with choosing my new VGA, because my old one suddenly died (RIP HD4670). When I look at it now, I see I didn't say possible reason why that happened.
    I was going to bed, PC was shut down, but I forgot to turn off the repro. It's an old Teac and have that rattle sound when they are on. But I was too lazy to stand up and turn them off normally, and I turned off whole extension cord where everything is plugged in. The next day my sister wanted to start the PC, but I forgot to tell her that I turned the cord off. She then figured out, turned it on, started the PC, but there was this long beep - and by looking to the manual, and also by LEDs on the MB, it showed that VGA is not being detected. Bam, dead.

    And so, now I'm thinking, if this could also damage the Ethernet chip on my mainboard? Or could it be that it hangs up because of the heat? The heat levels raised up after new VGA and the air flow isn't the best in my case. But everything runs fine, no restart, etc. I'm thinking of RMA, as even the clean install of Windows didn't helped either.

    Also to mention, it doesn't break up only in games, but also when I'm just browsing the web in 2D...

    Please, help, and sorry for grammar, be gentle
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,386 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    If you're connected to a router you can start by checking if you can connect to that. It could be an ISP problem.

    Also, what conenction do you have?
  3. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    But I don't have problems on other two PCs, router is good. And I have FTTH 100/100 Mbit with great ping and no packet loss
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Could be bad network drivers or a bad Nic. I would try different drivers first, and if that doesn't work, grab a network card and install it in your rig and see how that goes.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    This is insane... I looked up in event viewer, maybe there will be something.. And yes it is. And even the time sits.
    I got couple of warnings from DNS Client Events, and in more info there is that "Translation of name (site) wasn't completed in needed time. None of the configured DNS servers responded."
    WTF? Is this problem with my ISP?
    I changed my DNS to Google now (8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4) in both router and PC, but I still get this errors :(
    And internet works normally on other computers connected in same network.
  6. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    You said reformat didnt help, and it works on other 2 computers, bad cable perhaps?? did you try to switch wires/cables?
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The problem is between the router and the PC that doesn't work.... so its either Cables, Drivers, Network Card or a bad setting somewhere.
  8. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    I just connected directly without router. Again, same happened, so it's not in router.
    Now as you said its really bad cable or something with onboard network chip.

    /Btw, what it is more likely if I could say that its getting worse and worse? It get this more and more every day, and it wasn't so bad few days back
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,613 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    Oregon
    Or a Trojan
  10. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    ^^^^ This. x1000

    The very first thing to do when suspecting a faulty NIC / driver.

    (I always have a couple of unused NICs laying around. Just for that. :laugh:
    Comes in handy way more often then than I would like it (if You know what I mean...) :( )
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page