1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internet disconnects frequently with Steam Games

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Dazzeerr, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Dazzeerr

    Dazzeerr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oxford
    Hey guys, i've had this problem a while now and it's bugged me enough for me to seak help

    Sometimes when I connect to any of my steam games (left 4 dead, team fortress 2, counter-strike 1.6 or source) it disconnects soon after entering the server or before it's even loaded.

    Sometimes this disconnects the internet completely and I have to right-click repair it to renew the IP address and stuff, then it usually works. Once i'm in a game and it doesn't disconnect soon after loading however, i can stay in there for as long as I want and switch servers. It only seems to happen when i'm loading up a server for the first time in the day or whatever.

    My internet is wireless, BT Home Hub 8mb
    I've got a Netgear WN121T adapter, which is suited to gaming. My signal is always Excellent or Very Good.

    I've tried Port Forwarding, not sure I did it 100% right but that didn't help anyway. I've also tried putting commands into the launch options under properties on the games and that hasn't worked either.

    Anyone know how to fix this? :X Thanks
     
  2. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Do you have the newest drivers
     
  3. Dazzeerr

    Dazzeerr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oxford
    for the adapter yes
     
  4. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    I would reset everything thing back to factory default and see if it still disconnects you
     
  5. thraxed Guest

    Seems its a pretty common problem from what I've read.. Setting your computer to be DMZ seems the only way to get it work with steam games.
     
  6. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Yeah I guess you could try that, also do you have any firewalls running?
     
  7. Dazzeerr

    Dazzeerr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oxford
    How do you set it to DMZ? I haven't a clue what it is :p

    I've got no firewalls on, just Antivirus and Spybot.
     
  8. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Try running Fusion, with the advanced profile, I had the same issue with CS:S. It seemed to have solved some conflict that was occurring, by disabling alot of background programs.

    You can also try setting the game to high priority with task manager.
     
  9. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    log into your router at like 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.x.1

    X = a number assigned in your ip so if it was 192.168.2.11

    2 = X / 192.168.2.1
     
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I have this problem too and I believe it is a steam issue.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page