1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Internet problem

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Aleksander, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Hi!
    I am having a weird problem lately regarding internet.
    I get a download speed 10Mbps when i test the speed on speedtest.net, but mine is 3Mbps!
    Unfortunately, i can download only 30kbps...
    Any virus here?
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,426 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,113
    What do you mean exactly? Do you pay for 3 Mbps, get 10Mbps when testing (through like Speedtest I assume) but only download with 30Kbps?

    If that is what it's like, how is normal browsing? Are the 30Kbps limit everywhere or just certain servers?
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    The limit is 30kbs everywhere even browsing
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,426 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,113
    But not when testing the connection with speedtest?
  5. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    yes. With speedtest it shows 10Mbps

    Edit: rerun the test on speedtest.net and it showed 60kbps
    I pay for 3Mbps and have downloaded with that speed for months since today! :(

    Re-edit:rerun again the speedtest.net got 9.8Mbps?!!!
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
    Frick says thanks.
  6. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    No. I dont have any limit or TV.
    On the first site it shows 0.3Mbps
    2nd 0.42Mbps
  8. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    do a complete scan of your pc with an anti virus, it would help.
    I recommend you trying free edition of malwarebytes.
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Very weird. Now everything works perfect.
    I think the only possible thing is someone is using my internet o_O
    And looks like he turned off the internet connection... :p
  10. Rhyseh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    More than likely it was as issue in the ISP side of things. Also if it is a home ADSL connection you may be suffering from Exchange congestion.
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    do you have a wireless router? if so put a password on it... also check for torrent apps running.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page