1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Irql_not_less_or_equal

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by binsky3333, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    whenever i start up vista and log in, after about 30seconds i get the blue screen of death IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. I have no clue what this means so i looked it up on the internet. A message board said test your memory, so i tested it with memtest86 to 15hours and no errors. Now i have no clue what it could be.
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Driver, hardware, anything. Does the screen list any filename?
  3. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Generally a memory problem... either oc'ed to high or possible a bad stick .. try wih one at a time .. but yes running memtest would be something you'll want to do
  4. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    no
  5. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Memory prob.Check memory.
  6. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Checked memory still the same prob, tested 1 stick at a time in different slots.
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Make a photo of the screen, there is a stop code which you can find on the MS site. It'll tell you what the error means.
  8. sandyman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Drivers!

    I had this problem for months, my memory was buggered but after i got it replaced i still got the BSoD, i found out it was my ati graphics. So i uninstalled COMPLETELY anything to with ati and then installed latest drivers off the ati website. I'v had no problems since!

    Sandyman

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page