1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is 3x 2GB DDR2 RAM possible on Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H..???

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by saib1, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. saib1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey friendz.. i had jus bought a new CPU this 20th of october whose specifications are as follows-

    1. AMD Phenom 2 x2 550 3.10 GHZ Processor
    2. Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H MOtherboard
    3. Kingston 2x 2 GB 800MHz DDR2 RAM
    4. MSI Radeon HD 4890 OC Edition @880/999 Mhz
    5. 500 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
    6. Coolermaster Extreme Power Plus 650 Watts Power Supply
    7. Coolermaster Elite 334 Cabinet

    ok.. the thing is that my motherboard supports 16 GB of RAM & having 4 DDR2 RAM Slots... & currently i am running 2x 2GB total 4 GB of RAM & i jus wanna add more on it.. so my question is can i add one more 2 GB same "Kingston" built RAM in this motherboard..??
    or in other words- is 3 x 2GB RAM is possible to stick with this motherboard...??
    reply soon & thanx in advance...!!
     
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    yes it will take it, but I think you will loose dual-channel capability which is a 5 - 8 % performance hit.

    Some motherboards won't like going with 3 sticks. I would suggest add 2 x 2gb sticks or 2 x 1gb sticks of same brand and speed.
     
  3. saib1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hmm.. 5% to 8% wud make a big difference according to you.. & also total 6 GB of RAM vll b more powerful than a 4 GB machinery.. wat u say??? & wat cms in dat "dual channel capability" column..??
     
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I didn't say 5 - 8 % will make a difference but was just letting you know.

    Yeah 6 > 4, if you already got the extra 2gb stick, no harm in trying it out, but if you are going to buy then go with what I suggested.
     
  5. saib1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    naaa.. i have'nt bought it though but ill get it by 2morrow or day after that. & also i don't have that 2x 1GB option instead of that whole 2 GB stick... coz RAM rates are going over the top here in India.. so thats why only 1x 2GB option is left for me... so basically 3x 2GB is possible on my motherboard as its having 16 GB of RAM support as well as 4 RAM slot..??
     
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,395 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,996
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    What OS are you using?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Actually I am from India too, whats the price of a 2GB stick over there? My brother's PC needs a 2GB stick as the 1GB stick is going bad (he has 2gb + 1gb sticks).

    Check this site.

    http://www.deltapage.com/
     
  8. saib1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hm.. same rates are here at delhi side as mentioned in that website.. 2 GB= 1950-2000/-
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page