1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 4GB RAM enough for today's PC games.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by helloWorld, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    I like to play games maxed out at 1080p and I was wondering if 4GB RAM was enough and how future proof is it?
  2. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    It is enough. As long as you don't run many background processes while you game, you won't run into any problems :). And unless you're going for a laptop, it won't be a problem to add a coupla gigs in the future, so no worries there.

    Edit: IIRC there were some games that ran smoother with extra RAM. It wasn't much of an improvement but it still is. Well, to be safe get 6GB or even 8GB of RAM. Sticks are cheap these days, so why not ?
    helloWorld says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I've always been a firm beleiver of faster ram over capacity unless you do a ton of multitasking and photoshoping.

    4GB is enough but more always helps.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  4. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    The thing is, and call me stupid all you want, I have an 8 GB kit, but two of the sticks are broken, and I don't know if I want to deal with the hassle of returning it when 4 of the 8 GB works.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    From my experience 4GB are enough even @ 2560x1440.

    However, if you're sure they're broken I'd rma the kit. You paid for 8GB, why settle for less?
    helloWorld says thanks.
  6. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah. I will order another 8 GB pair from a different manufacturer and try those when I get it. If they work, then I will RMA the broken set.
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I agree with BP. If they have a lifetime warranty get them replaced.
    Win7 x64 will happily use it even if you don't need it. :D
    digibucc and helloWorld say thanks.
  8. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    748 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Manipal
    4GB better be, considering the "best graphics ever" games on PS3 come with 1080p 30/60fps and it has 256MB ram(system)
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,942 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    4gb is enough for now but I run with 12gb of ram and I can tell the difference. Plus ddr3 ram is so cheap nowadays that why not go with at least 8gb.
  10. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,937
    IIRC, part of it depends on how much ram you have on your GPU's. Your system will copy the GPU ram to memory, so if you have 4GB of GPU ram, you might run low on system resourses or start swapping ram out to the swapfile.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    Only in games based on DirectX versions prior to 10. DX10, 10.1 & 11 don't.
    robn says thanks.
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,025 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    I used to have a laptop that maxed out at 2Gb ram for 5 years. then my desktops all used 4Gb ram but i recently jumped to 8Gb not long ago.

    TBH. going from 4Gb to 8Gb, i cant really tell the difference unless im heavily multitasking. and im talking about Running a Spyware & Virus scan, listening to music, zipping up files and installing software off a mounted image all at the same time with a little video encoding on the side.

    Most of the time my RAM usage sits around 2-2.2Gb while just surfin the net and listening to music with VLC player
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    4GB is enough for now, but as of this year, I have begun to prefer 8GB in my machines. Take advantage of the oversupply of DDR3 that is occurring at this time, because it usually only happens once every few years. 8GB kits that used to cost ~$80+ literally 3 months ago are $40-50. Get as much as you want, you won't be sorry. Just beware that Win7 Home Premium x64 is limited to addressing 16GB of total RAM, including GPU (because Microsoft decided that home users don't need that much RAM I guess).
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    649 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Agree w/ Jstn.

    A couple companies announced they're getting out of the DRAM business so as of the beginning of the year, prices should start going up and not coming back this low for quite a long time.

    Load up while you can. I'm goin 16GB!
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    4GB is enough with some room to spare.


    In my case i can use an extra 2GB for all the other apps i leave running while gaming, so its not enough for my apps AND the games at the same time - but either one is just fine.
  16. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    8GB helped my laptop a lot and I will never go back to 4GB.
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,845 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    4GB is enough, but at today's prices, it is much more worth it to buy 8GB, especially when it is on sale
  18. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,839 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    i thought that was funny ;)
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,937
    Hell, just looked at my 3x4GB kit and saw it's down to $80 shipped. I might have to get another for fun ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    646 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    I would upgrade now

    I just doubled my memory on my 2nd I7 PC to 12gb. The 6 gb was only $40. My memory usage listening to music and surfing the web is about 3 gb right now in Vista 64 bit Ultimate. I would be interested if somebody could test out memory usage in a variety of games in this buyers market. Why even take the chance of having a bottleneck?
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,995 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    since i had 6gb with my X58 rig, 4 just seems to small now. 8gb is definitely worth it or even more ram prices are so low now
  22. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    992 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    4Gb is enough, but the gains in responsiveness with 8GB are quite high imho. Especially when you use a couple of different programs regulary and dont totally shut down your pc, but instead let it stay on standby.

    With 8GB in my laptop, I notice theres almost never 'free space'(task manager shows there is lots of RAM 'available' but practically never alot of it is 'free'). Most of the 8GB is always being used as prefetch buffer which in turn decreases loading time for the various programs I use.

    Especially when you dont have an SSD or very fast hard drive, more ram usually means quicker loading of random things that are getting prefetched.

    So yeah, 4GB ram is enough, but more is better!
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,990 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,093
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I would say no. More and more games are benefiting (as in not crashing) from large address aware and the best way to get the most out of large address aware is to have >4 GiB of RAM. That way, any given 32-bit application has access to the maximum amount of RAM without being recompiled. I think 6 GiB is ideal. Operating systems these days consume ~1 GiB, a single game can consume up to 4 GiB, and that leaves ~1 GiB for background tasks. I wouldn't recommend a "gaming" computer with less than 6 GiB of RAM.

    As the next generation of consoles come out, it is very, very likely PC games are going to have to trend towards 64-bit.
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,420 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    4GB is more than enough if you arent multitasking when playing games.
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I think most games use 2gb of ram and then the OS uses at least 1gb so 4gb is still usable. With the price of ram these days it makes sense to get a 8gb kit, 1600mhz kits with low voltage are common but spend a little more and get tighter or faster ram.

    Ive got 8gb of ram and its fine id say it was worth the £65 i paid but that ram is now worth about £40.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page